Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following platforms host several databases for various subject areas. It is possible to search across several databases within each of these platforms.
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers.
EBSCOHost is a single, easy-to-use platform to access subscribed content from various publishers, covering numerous subjects. Databases accessible on this platform include: Business Source Premier, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Communication & mass media complete, Avery index to architectural periodicals, Regional Business News, Music Index Online, GreenFILE, and Urban Studies Abstracts.
The database aggregates scientific, technical, humanties, social science and medical journals. It covers PsycArticles, Econlit, Food science and technology abstracts, Geobase, Iconda, International pharmaceutical abstracts, The Philosopher's index, PsycInfo, Social work abstracts, NASW clinical register, Index to foreign legal periodicals, International Political science abstracts and RILM abstracts of music literature
The following databases are multi-disciplinary and allows you to search through a multitude of different fields, subjects, and/or disciplines.
Covers scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus also keeps tracks of citation counts and is able to generate citation metric. Updated daily.
- Web of Science
Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
IBSS’s main focus is on the 4 core social science subjects of Anthropology, Economics, Politics and Sociology.
An archive of articles especially in the discipline of Humanities and the Social Sciences. A 3- to 5-year embargo usually applies.
- Social Science Abstracts (on EBSCOHost platform)
Social Science Abstracts covers a number of disciplines in the social sciences including Family Studies, Gender Studies, and Minority Studies.
- Academic OneFile
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subject; intended primarily for academic researchers.
Core Databases for Subjects & Disciplines
It may be necessary to use several subject/discipline-based resources for different issues in Global Studies. The following are the main databases according to the traditional subjects/disciplines. Go to the specific subject guides if you require more databases.
Other Information Sources
Sites and databases comprising laws and treaties, statistics, speeches, news articles, and other types of documents are listed in this column.
Laws/Legislation and Treaties
Government and Other Documents
National Archives of Singapore - Archives Online
This database comprises various types of primary materials such as archived government press releases and speeches; colonial and early government documents (where released). Some full-text available directly online.
Publications of the Parliament of Singapore
Votes & Proceedings, Order Papers, Singapore Parliament Reports (Hansards), Select Committee Reports, Bills Introduced.
United Kingdom Parliament
Parliamentary publications, including Hansard debates and the Weekly information bulletin from both houses, public bills before Parliament, reports from certain select committees, and the House of Commons' Order papers and Sessional information digest.
US Government Publishing Office's FDsys (Federal Digital System) Database
FDsys provides free online access to official US Federal Government publications such as public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Journal of the House of Representatives, various congressional documents (Hearings, Records, Reports) and many others.
US Government Documents in Hein Online Database
Various Presidential, Congressional, Departmental documents held across several collections : Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register Library, Pentagon Papers, US Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection, US Code, US Federal Legislative History Library, US Presidential Library, US Statutes at Large, US Supreme Court Library, US Treaties and Agreements Library.