Skip to Main Content
Banner Image

Ideas and Exposition + Critiques and Expression: UTW1001O

How to use this guide

Welcome to UTW100O The Urban and the Wild: Reading Urban Progress in Southeast Asia Ecocritically's Resource Guide. 

We have curated relevant tools, some research basics, and some recommended resources for this course. Need some guidance? Get in touch with the research librarian, Jamila (jam@nus.edu.sg). 

Would be great if you could tell us what you think of this guide, via this link https://bit.ly/lib24

TOOLS FOR FREE ACCESS TO ARTICLES

TOOLS FOR FREE ACCESS TO ARTICLES

Getting journal articles using Google Scholar

Blink twice if you use Google Scholar to do your research! The video below will show you how to link Google Scholar with NUS Libraries catalogue so that you can download (almost) ~all~ the resources you need for free.

Click on the bird ^ to view the video.

Hit a paywall? Get that article via ProxyBookmarklet!

They're asking you to pay for an article you found through Google? *gasps* How dare they! Let's get you that article without paying: 

Click on the bird ^ to view the video. To install the proxy bookmarklet just like in the video, visit this page here.

Is this Guide Helpful?

Do let us know via:

(a) linkhttps://bit.ly/lib24

OR

(b) QR 

RELEVANT RESOURCES

Library Portal

One-stop search available here~~ We know you use Google and Google Scholar most of the time but the Library Portal would have more resources that you have access to. You wouldn't want to miss out on relevant articles for your assignments!

Click on the bird ^ to view the video.

Database 1: JSTOR

Topic too niche? We gotchu. Let's take a look at how we can use JSTOR to search for sources. JSTOR is a good database for humanities and social sciences topics. You can access JSTOR by clicking on the link below the video. 

Click on the bird ^ to view the video.

Database 2: Social Science Database

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology

accessing Social Science Database

Database 3: Factiva

Factiva is a major source of e-newpapers. It provide business information and daily and archival news coverage from leading news and business publications from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages. It is updated every evening. So if you are searching for the latest news, this is the ONE to use!

accessing FACTIVA

RESEARCH BASICS

SOME RESEARCH BASICS TO GET YOU ON THE 👍 TRACK

Searching Effectively

Short video on how to strategise our search - to get more effective results :)

Citing your Paper

Citing maintains academic integrity and acknowledge to the authors you have referenced. It also allows readers to trace your information back to its original source, ensuring transparency and credibility. Possible two ways of citing listed below.

i) Click image to view video:

ii) Cite using zoterobib here: https://zbib.org/

Using APA citation

APA citation style can be quite confusing.

Fret not - we have resources and sample references on APA in this guide..