Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Malay Studies: Databases

Resources for Malay Studies

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online

Asia-Studies Full-Text Online

It brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 55 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues. This database is useful for the study of modern Asia-Pacific.

Index Islamicus

Index Islamicus

The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense.

Malay Concordance Project

Malay Concordance Project

The MCP presents 5.7 million words (including 130,000 verses) from more than 150 sources of pre-modern Malay written text.  This material can be searched online in a variety of ways, and studied in its contexts. The site may be useful to those interested in Malay studies (including literature, history and culture) and linguisitics.

PERIND

PERIND

PERIND is an index to articles relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN (as an entity) produced by the National University of Singapore Libraries. It contains citations from more than 200 core titles of local and international journals. The subjects covered in the database range from the humanities and social sciences to business and management, architecture, building, science, technology, law and medicine.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies

There are almost 900,000 records in the Bibliography of Asian Studies™ (BAS), comprising all subjects (focusing primarily on the humanities and the social sciences) published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Humanities Abstract

Humanities Abstract

This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialised magazines. Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas.

Periodicals Index Online

Periodicals Index Online

This electronic index houses millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Periodicals Index Online currently indexes over 20 million articles going as far back as 1665.

eHRAF World Cultures

eHRAF World Cultures

This database contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF World Cultures is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

Humanities Index

Humanities Index

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering over internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.

Neliti

Neliti

Neliti is a research repository that helps researchers and decision makers in Indonesia find research, data and evidence. We index journal articles, books, research reports, policy papers, conference papers and datasets from universities, government bodies, corporate publishers, and think tanks.

 

Project MUSE

Project MUSE

This database offers full-text online access to a selection of journals from university presses and scholarly societies from around the world.

Other Databases

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more are available. Primarily based on the English Short Title Catalogue Works published in the UK during the 18th Century plus thousands from elsewhere, this database features works mainly in English but also includes other languages.

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyse and visualise research.

Web of Science

This database indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.