Open Educational Resources (OER)

Anno from the Austrian National Library allows you to browse through digital facsimiles of around 500 Austrian newspapers and magazines from 16th Century to the 1940s. For the period 1704-1872, there is full-text searching available in their Beta system. Note: the newspapers are in German.

Australian online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more. Includes historic Australian newspaper pages from 1803 -1954, digitised as part of the Australian Newspaper Digitisation Project

University of British Columbia project providing access to 24 historical newspapers from British Columbia dating from 1865 to 1924.

This digital repository from the Library of Congress allows you to search historic newspaper pages from the U.S from 1836-1922. It also provides a Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

This free database contains newspapers from French Indochina. The coverage for the newspaper varies.

Gallica, the digital library of the Bibliothéque nationale de France, hosts numerous newspaper titles from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Titles currently include Le Figaro (1830-1942), Le Temps (1861-1935), La Croix (1883-1944), L'Humanité (1904-1944), La Presse (1836-1858), and Le Journal des débats (1814-1912). (Newspapers in French)

The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full‑image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers. All image content in this collection has enhancements added where possible, thus rendering the text maximally searchable. The holdings of each title are also browsable by date, with each title cross searchable with other titles on the platform. This collection today contains over eighty newspapers titles published in Hawaii and the Americas. Most publications present a mix of content in Japanese and English, with formats and the proportionality of Japanese/English often changing as a reflection of shifting business and social circumstances.

NewspaperCat offers online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. It currently covers over 1,500 full-text newspaper titles.

NewspaperSG is an online archive of Singapore newspapers. You can search our digital archive of newspapers published since 1827, or find information on over 200 newspaper titles in the National Library's microfilm collection.

The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.

Papers Past contains more than one million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1840 to 1915 and includes publications from all regions of New Zealand.

Qalam is a Jawi-script newspaper that was published in Singapore and distributed in Malaya, Singapore, Indonesia, Borneo and the Southern part of Thailand. It provide researchers with invaluable information on the activities and thoughts of Muslims living in the Malay world in the 1950s and 1960s

This free database contains numerous Dutch-language newspapers from the former Dutch East Indies / Indonesia from 1744 to 1958.

Sin Po was a Chinese-Malay (Peranakan) publication that was first published as a weekly newspaper by young Peranakan Chinese in Jakarta on 1 October 1910. Sin Po became a daily newspaper in 1912 to meet increasing demand and shortly became one of the largest Malay newspapers in the Dutch East Indies. The political objective of Sin Po was to promote Chinese nationalism and to take a strong stance against Dutch colonialism. Sin Po played a crucial role in the development of language and culture. It provided a space for writers to contribute their articles or stories, which exemplified the current debates of society at that time. Sin Po also contributed considerably to form what is today referred to as Bahasa Indonesia. Many Chinese (mostly Hokkien, a dialect in Chinese) words have become an integral part of the Indonesian language. Sin Po also includes advertisement typically on natural/alternative medicines, beverages, cosmetics, clothing, tobaccos, etc.

Since 2000, CIA has installed and maintained an electronic full-text searchable system named CREST (the CIA Records Search Tool), at NARA II in College Park, Maryland. The CREST system is the publicly accessible repository of the subset of CIA records reviewed under the 25-year program in electronic format (manually reviewed and released records are accessioned directly into the National Archives in their original format). Over 11 million pages have been released in electronic format and reside on the CREST database, from which researchers have printed about 1.1 million pages.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

The UK National Archives is one of the largest in the world, containing over 11 million historical government and public records. From Domesday Book to modern government papers and digital files, our collection includes paper and parchment, digital records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings.

Some of these resources have been digitized and are now available online at no cost.

The British Museum Images collection provides images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings

The historical map collection has over 75,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World. Popular collection categories are celestial, antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall & case, children's, and manuscript maps. Search examples: Pictorial maps, United States maps, Geology maps, California map, Afghanistan map, America map, New York City map, Chicago map, and U.S. Civil War maps. Browse map categories: What, Where, Who, When. The collection is used to study history, art, genealogy, explorations, and family history.

The East Asia Image Collection (EAIC) is an open-access archive of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books and slides under the general editorship of Paul D. Barclay, Associate Professor of History, Lafayette College and the direction of Eric Luhrs, Director of Digital Scholarship Services, Lafayette College Library. The EAIC documents the history of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included. The Collection is built around a core of visual materials donated to Skillman Library Special Collections by the family of Gerald and Rella Warner. Images unique to this collection include the Warners' unpublished slides and negatives , made from snapshots taken during their years of US State Department service in Asia (1932-1952). Rare materials include prewar picture postcards, high-quality commercial prints, and colonial era picture books. Each record in the East Asia Image Collection has been assigned subject headings, hyper-linked metadata, and, to the fullest extent possible, historiographical, bibliographical and technical data.

The photography collection at the George Eastman Museum, among the oldest and best in the world, comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day. It encompasses works made in all major photographic processes, from daguerreotype to digital, includes work by more than eight thousand photographers, and continues to expand.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made 400,000 digital images in the public domain available and free to use. Images labeled with 'OASC' can be downloaded in high-res.

This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: ​more than 800 ​ maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools ​, including​ allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social.

The Rijksmuseum has put 150,000 images online, including those of european masterpieces. If you sign up for a free account and create your own 'Rijkstudio' you can download and use these images.

The World Digital Library provides free access to manuscripts, rare books, maps, photographs, and other important cultural documents from all countries and cultures, in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish.