Skip to main content
Banner Image

A guide to doing research on the Percussion music of John Cage: Resources

Other databases to search

The main databases which are helpful for your research have been discussed. There are other databases which you could also use to search for information and these are shown in this page.

Search for Music resources

Search Library FAQs

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online

Full-text search with advanced capabilities and over 3000 links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations with musical examples.

Classical Scores Library

Classical Scores Library

This resource covers over 51,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the MIddle Ages to the 21st century. More than 4,600 composers are included, from traditionally studied composers such as Mozart and Tchaikovsky to contemporary artists including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell Davies and John Tavener.

Music Database

Music Database

The Music Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in the all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education , musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture,  popular music forms and composition.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 165,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, and Folk music . Whilst listening, notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database can also be read.

Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library

Naxos Video Library is an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It has over 1285 full-length videos and the libretto and text are included when available.

Other Music Databases

Other music databases which may be used for further research are:

Babel Scores Contemporary Music Online showcases the works of composers of the past few decades. When logged in to the database, it allows you to consult the full score in booklet format and listen to the recording.

Music Index Online features digitised content from 1970 to the present, provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also has selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive, guide to publications on music from all over the world, from hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory. The database covers all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

E-Books and E-Newspapers

Include free and subscribed e-books available through the Web, NUSNET and CD-ROMs. Access to subscribed titles is restricted to NUS staff and students only. Please observe copyright rules when downloading or printing. 

You can also view e-newpapers.

JSTOR

JSTOR

This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.

ScholarBank

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office