Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Social Work: Databases

Your Social Work Resource Site

Getting Search Alerts from Databases

Most vendors typically use one interface for the databases they offer.  Users can create search alerts across a number of databases by simply creating an account on the vendor website. Contact your resource librarian on how you may set up these alerts.

Scopus

Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

Web of Science

Web of Science

Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO

Provides abstracts and references to articles in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry and sociology. Includes dissertations, book chapters covering empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, and conference reports.

Newspaper database

Factiva is a major source of e-newpapers. It provide business information and daily and archival news coverage from leading news and business publications from 159 countries, 350 geographic regions and in 22 languages. It covers globally influential newspapers like The Wall Street Journal, The Times, local newspapers like The Straits Times, Business Times, web sources like Stomp and Channel News Asia and covers diverse industries including health care, education, etc.

newspapersg

  • NewspapersSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers created by National Library Board (NLB).
  • You can search newspapers (including Straits Times), but can access selected full-text (e.g., Straits Times 1845-1989).
  • For recent articles use Factiva. 

nexis uni

Provides quick access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options.
It is updated daily.

Other databases

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS

ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Dissertations and Theses is now global! It covers the traditional theses from North American University as well as a significant amount of international dissertations. Do note that not all items are available in full text