Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide cannot - and does not aim to - provide an exhaustive list of websites for researching politics and international relations. To identify and access more sites of potential value, the resource listings in the specialist portals below are a good place to start.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.
Resources to get you started
International Encyclopedia of Political Science by With entries from leading international scholars from around the world, the International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides a definitive, comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing its theoretical foundations and including empirical findings from across the globe. The eight volumes examine all the main subdisciplines of political science and include coverage of comparative politics, epistemology, political economy, political sociology, and international relations. Entries are arranged in alphabetical order, and a list of entries by subject area appears in the front of each volume for ease of use. The Encyclopedia contains a detailed index as well as extensive bibliographical references. Approximately 80 entries on the use of both qualitative and quantitative research methods in political science are provided. The process of democratization will remain a vital topic during the 21st century, and the encyclopedia contains extensive coverage of the evolution of democracy as well as other political systems. Readers will find theoretical and empirical background on other important issues such as global security, the relationship between religion and the state, and political issues related to gender and race/ethnicity. The International Encyclopedia of Political Science provides an essential, authoritative guide to the state of political science at the start of the 21st century and for decades to come, making it an invaluable resource for a global readership, including researchers, students, citizens, and policy makers.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011-09-07
Representative Government in Modern Europe by The fourth edition of Representative Government in Modern Europe continues the tradition of previous editions by uniting the theoretical analysis of representative government and its application to the real world of politics. The unique focus of this book, as always, is on the core features of representative government as they manifest themselves across the whole of modern Europe. The book identifies and discusses broad themes and patterns in the politics of modern Europe, and examines these in the context of the whole of modern Europe--not, as some other books do, only with regard to a handful of often atypical countries. Europe has been transformed since the first edition by the dramatic democratization of many of the former Communist states of central and eastern Europe. Thus the fourth edition has also been transformed -- country coverage has been extended to include all of the eight post-communist states that are now members of the EU and discussion of politics in these countries has been integrated into the main body of text and tables. being in May 2004 and the discussion reflects the ways in which thinking about representative government has changed as a result of these dramatic developments.
Call Number: CL Books JN94 Gal 2006
Publication Date: 2005-05-27
Parliamentary Roles in Modern Legislatures by This book gathers the most influential authors on role research and legislative studies to examine the different roles that MPs are playing in modern-day legislatures. It provides a comprehensive and critical overview of current research on legislative roles, summarises previous research, presents a large variety of methodological approaches and also explores the latest developing approaches to role theory. The concept of political roles has become increasingly relevant for understanding contemporary political systems. Parliamentary, legislative and representative roles are professional roles that provide a way of connecting the individual legislator to their institution that can also explain a legislator's attitude and behaviour. Drawing upon case studies with as much as 40 years of data that include Germany, the Netherlands, UK, Austria, Hungary, Australia, New Zealand and the European Parliament, this book examines the link between representative roles, different institutional settings and parliamentary behaviour. It argues that the roles MPs play depend of who they think they should represent; between their voters, their party, the people of their country and also themselves, conflicts of loyalty can occur. This book provides a framework to analyse MPs' choices by searching both the reasons for their views about representation, and the consequences of those views in parliament. Parliamentary Roles in Modern Legislatureswill be of strong interest to students and scholars of government, legislative studies, political parties, comparative politics, political sociology and deliberative democracy.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-02-14
The 2012 French Election by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-09-10
This edited volume is based on a highly original survey carried out between November 2011 and June 2012 among a panel of 6,000 voters. The panel was interviewed on 12 separate occasions about how and why they made their voting choices. The book focuses on how electoral choices are made and how these choices evolve during the short time-span of an election campaign. The analysis of the 2012 electoral result shows more than ever that voting choices are the fruit of interweaving timelines: the long term period that characterizes voters' predispositions and their predictions of a possible scenario; the shorter period of time during which the campaign unfolds where those predispositions are either confirmed, called into question, or undo≠ and the moment when the final choice is made. This is the first time the electoral decision-making process during a French Presidential election has been systematically studied.
Key Resources Literature
Divided into two sections- PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. Subject coverage includes public affairs and public policy worldwide.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Content types include journal articles book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
International Political Science Abstracts
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in the major political science journals (and yearbooks) all over the world.
Representation of minority
Voting records of individual MEPs, of state delegations, and of EP party blocs from 2004-present on all bills and resolutions of the European Parliament and the Council of Ministers. Also includes information on party/bloc cohesion, loyalty to national parties, and party coalitions.
Recent election result and Country specific election results
The database, searchable by each county, region and sub-region, provides documents of each country's parliamentary structure, including historic elections results.
provides information on parties and election results of countries. Searchable by individual country
Elections Around the World (formerly Electionworld.org)
provides election information on presidents, political parties, parliaments, and related political web sites around the world
Political Resources on the Net
Listings of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world
Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive
provides a comprehensive 167 countries' electoral information and latest international electoral news.