Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to recommend article databases, books and other materials for conducting research in Public Health. Click on the tabs at the top of the page, or the menu to the left to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources for research in Anthropology. Need help? Ask a Librarian!
Key Resources in Public Health
It is a free biomedical citation database provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine comprising of over 22 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books dating back to 1950s. Has links to full-text articles, images, figures and other related resources. Updated daily.
NUS staff and students access PubMed via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access* to full-text of subscribed journals. (*Display PubMed citations in Abstract format and click on publishers' icons.)
MedlinePlus is a free searchable database on consumer health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Presented in plain language, MedlinePlus has authoritative, up to date and extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 740 diseases and conditions. It is updated daily.
(ProQuest) / Medline
Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by ProQuest and Ovid. Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.
The Cochrane Library
It consists of 7 databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews (CDSR); Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED).
Only the CDSR which consists of systematic reviews has full-text links. For information on effectiveness of healthcare interventions, it is advisable to search in The Cochrane Library before searching in PubMed.
ProQuest- Health & Medicine
Collection of 9 databases. Click on "Advanced search" to limit to selected databases depending on your topic. Includes databases on AIDS & cancer Research, Health and Safety Science,Toxline,Physical Education, Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress( PILOTS) as well as theses / conference papers on health and medicine.
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data — supported by Emtree — helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Especially useful for Systematic Reviews.
Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS)
The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) contains information on international and governmental bodies (U.K. European and Canadian) relating to workplace health and safety. Our subscription to the Web Academic Support Programme (ASP) provides NUS staff and students access to ASP's Web collections including Materials Safety Datasheets and the OSH References Collection of bibliographic databases.You can search the individual collections or across the collections.