Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page lists a few free resources available on the Web.
Asia and Southeast Asia
Asian Cinema Blog
"Cinemas of Asia is the Journal of the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema, NETPAC" (Website)
Cornell University Library - Southeast Asia Visions
Collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library (includes books, journal articles, photographs, images, maps, etc.).
Cornell University Library - Travel Literature on Southeast Asia
Bibliography of English language monographs (including translations) of pre-World War II descriptions of life in Southeast Asia by travellers, adventurers, explorers, colonial officials, missionaries, and other foreign residents.
Hamilton Library’s Asia Digital collection (University of Hawaii)
Collection of digital resources from University of Hawaii. Some content about Singapore and Malaysia (access restricted to University of Hawaii's users).
Japanese Historical Map Collection
'The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. The collection was acquired by the University of California from the Mitsui family in 1949, and is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.' Represented in this online collection are a selection of maps and books from this Collection. -- Website.
This website contains scanned copies of Islamic manuscripts (some relating to Southeast Asia). It is monitored by Jan Just Witkam, Emeritus-Professor of Paleography and Codicology of the Islamic world in Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands.
Asian Film archive
Under Collection, there is a catalogue of films collected by the Asian Film Archive. These titles are available for reference viewing at the National Library (Victoria Street) and library@esplanade
British Pathe - Film archive
Film archive - Preview available online - Includes films about Singapore.
INA (French National Audiovisual Institute)
"Institut National de l'audiovisuel". Preserves audio-visual materials. Preview available online.