Comparative Asian Studies : an introduction: Primary Sources

The Biodiversity Library of Southeast Asia (BLSEA) contains rare and unique content on the flora and fauna of Southeast Asia. A labour of love between NUS Libraries and Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, it contains open access biodiversity materials from both entities.

The Contemporary Wayang Archive (CWA) is a collection of re-elaborations of Java's oldest performance tradition. All of the performances were recorded in 21st century Java. This archive includes translations, notes and explanations of how the performances were received in their original context.

Digital Repository of Endangered and Affected Manuscripts in Southeast Asia (DREAMSEA) is a Programme that strives to preserve the content of manuscripts in the entire region of Southeast Asia. The Programme is carried out by the Center for the Study of Islam and Society (PPIM) Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta State Islamic University (UIN) Jakarta, Indonesia, in cooperation with the Centre for the Study of Manuscripts Culture (CSMC), University of Hamburg, Germany. The Programme is supported by Arcadia, a philanthropic institution based in London, England. The programme lasts for up till five years (2017-2022) and takes place throughout the year on a full-time basis.

This database offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1600 to 1947.

The Echols Collection: Selections on the Vietnam War, brings together multiple historical and national perspectives with an eye toward providing better understanding of the Vietnam conflict. Selected from the vast holdings of the John M. Echols Collection at Cornell University (the premier North American source of material on Southeast Asia), the contents of this collection provide an incisive look at pre-war and wartime history as well as the long-term effects of the conflict in Southeast Asia and around the world. The collection contains a variety of political and social commentary, including views expressed by anti-war groups, pro-war factions, religious groups, and governmental organizations worldwide. Rare U.S. and Vietnamese government reports, publications, and research documents are also included. Readily accessible materials have been omitted.

End of Empire is dedicated to a simple premise: events during the 100 days following the bombing of Hiroshima had a profound impact on politics and society throughout Asia for decades to come. The site, which is presented as a daily newspaper, has four integrated components: a pan-asian chronology, expert analyses, photographs and documents, and Special Country Reports that present all events relevant to a country in a single edition.

. This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples in the Dutch East Indies.

This collection uncovers a period of intense change in Southeast Asian history, providing insight into the UK's involvement in shaping a modern Southeast Asia. These documents explore the end of the Malayan emergency, relations between the UK and Southeast Asia, developments in trade and the economy, guerrilla warfare and the creation of Malaysia against a backdrop of the Cold War.

This is a selection of pre-WW2 Japanese Publications on Southeast Asia that we have at NUS Libraries.

Titles published in English during the 18th and 19th centuries; covering a wide area on history, cultural anthropology, archaeology, religious studies, art history, political science and musicology.

This database from Stanford Libraries contains the papers and documents from the Special Panels for Serious Crimes in East Timor or (SPSC)

The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. The charismatic leader of Indonesia, Achmed Sukarno, steered his country between the political machinations of the Army Staff and the Indonesian Communist Party (PKI). These records consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.

This collection of U.S. State Department files relating to the internal and foreign affairs of Thailand contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats. Included here are special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials from 1945 to 1954

This collection of U.S. State Department files relating to the internal and foreign affairs of Thailand contains a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats. Included here are special reports on political and military affairs; studies and statistics on socioeconomic matters; interviews and minutes of meetings with foreign government officials; full texts of important letters, instructions, and cables sent and received by U.S. diplomatic personnel; reports and translations from foreign journals and newspapers; translations of high-level foreign government documents, including speeches, memoranda, official reports, and transcripts of political meetings and assemblies.

This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia.

This is a collection of 318 rare Western-language publications selected from Cornell University's John M. Echols collection on Southeast Asia, published during the 17th and 19th centuries.

Most of the manuscript collections in this archive consist of the British Foreign Office and United States consular and diplomatic records. These records were generally maintained in the local consular or diplomatic posts and reflect the day-to-day accounting of the activities of the indigenous populations and their national governments, the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included.

Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available for the first time extremely rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. The resource is full-text searchable, allowing for the collection to be comprehensively explored and studied.

This is one of two digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of China, 1930-1939. Contained here are reels 1 – 99. Part of the General Record of the Department of State, the files are in Class 8: Internal Affairs of States. The documents are primarily instructions to -- and dispatches from -- U.S. diplomatic and consular staff. Subjects include political and governmental affair

This is one two collections based on the Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of China, 1930-1939. Contained here are reels 100 - 167. Part of the General Record of the Department of State, the files are in Class 8: Internal Affairs of States

China in the Second World War is the focus of this collection. Documents include correspondence from the American Chamber of Commerce of Shanghai (September 1940); discussions calling for protection of American newspapers in China prior to United States entry into the war

This archive is based on the microfilm title Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of China, 1945-1949. Part of the General Record of the Department of State, the files are in Class 8: Internal Affairs of States

This collection contains a wide range of materials documenting western interaction with China from the first embassy by Lord Macartney to trade negotiations for military aircraft in the 1970s. It includes papers regarding the Macartney and Amherst Embassies, the Opium War, Arrow War, Boxer Rebellion, Taiping Rebellion, the opening of treaty ports, the creation and running of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service and the birth of the People's Republic, and strong collections relating to missionaries and their experiences. It contains maps, drawings and photographs, and personal accounts of life and work in China throughout the period.

China and the Modern World is made up of 3 smaller databases. The first, Diplomacy and Political Secrets (1869-1950) comprises a compilation of 4,204 rare China-related historical documents. The second, Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals (1817-1949) is a collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, extending from 1817 until the founding of the People’s Republic of China in 1949. The third, Maritime Customs Service of China (1854-1949) provides an excellent primary source collection for the study of China and its relations with the West in the late Qing and Republican periods.

Produced mostly by the Central Newsreel and Documentary Film Studio of China, documentary films and newsreels were two of the major mass media and communication channels in China from the 1950s through the 1970s. They covered all aspects of social activities, though the emphasis was on developments and achievements in the building of a socialist country. In order to reach even broader public audiences, government agents produced and printed the transcripts and shot lists for the films and sent them to cities and rural areas. The bulk of the items in the collection are transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from the Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976

A free online resource containing nearly 1,500 declassified documents on the international relations of the People’s Republic of China (PRC) since 1949. Documents in the database include diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes, and other internal documents retrieved from dozens of archives around the world.

The Customs’ Gazette, published by order of the Inspector General of Customs of China in Shanghai, provided quarterly reports on trade that were prepared and submitted by various custom houses based across the country. This statistical and narrative information provided the central Chinese government with an in-depth analysis on trade. But, the Gazette also provided insights into local and regional economic and social conditions, policing of customs and trade, and conditions at Treaty Ports.

This database contains nearly 7,000 primary sources about the Great Leap Forward. About 3,000 are internal documents from various CCP archival facilities. The other documents are from once-classified internal publications, such as Internal Reference from Xinhua News Agency, Construction from the CCP's North China Bureau, and People's Public Security from the Ministry of Public Security

This collection consist of the British Government's files ( Foreign Office Files) dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan from 1919 to 1980

This website compiles a list of free primary sources for Chinese, Taiwanese and Korean History

"Ling long" women's magazine, published in Shanghai from 1931 to 1937, was popular during a time of dramatic material, social, and political change in China. Today, the magazine offers researchers a unique glimpse into women's lives in Republican-era (1911-49) Shanghai.

Xinhua, or New China News Agency, has, with more than 170 foreign and 31 domestic bureaus, a broad reach in China and around the world. As the official organ of China’s Communist Party these reports offer a view of the country’s perspective on international issues and events and provide insight on the role of Communist mass media in Chinese culture, the Cold War, and 20th-century world history. Xinhua helped drive support for China’s economic reforms and helped propagate the “war of words” between the United States and China.

This set of microfilm contains police files from the Shanghai Municipal Police from 1894 to 1949.

This collection consists of books written by Western observers in China from the 15th Century to the middle of the 19th Century.

This database contains US Department of State records that dealt with Japan from 1950 to 1959

This archive reproduces microfilm of the U.S. Department of State Decimal Files 611.94 and 6194.11. The documents trace the commercial relations between the United States and Japan over the course of almost half a century in the years 1910-1929, 1930-1939, 1940-1944, and 1945-1949

This archive reproduces Decimal File 494 and is based on the microfilm title Records Relating to U.S. Commercial Relations with Japan, for the years 1950-1954, 1955-1959, and 1960-1963.

The documents in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal conditions in Japan. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments of the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals.

The documents in this collection are predominantly instructions to and dispatches from U.S. diplomatic and consular staff regarding political, economic, military, social, and other internal conditions in Japan. Documents also include reports and memoranda prepared by U.S. State Department staff, communications between the State Department and foreign governments, and correspondence with other departments of the U.S. government, private firms, and individuals

This archive charts a key decade in U.S.-Japanese relations. It is is one of three digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to United States Political Relations with Japan, 1930-1954.

This archive traces the outbreak of the U.S. war with Japan in December 1941 through 1944. It is one of three digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to United States Political Relations with Japan, 1930-1954.

Japan in the summer of 1945 was a nation totally exhausted by war. The Allied Occupation, dedicated to political and social reform, thoroughly transformed the country in a remarkably short period of time. This is one of three digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to United States Political Relations with Japan, 1930-1954

This database contains US document on Japan from 1930 to 1949 as ramps up its militarism.

All the activities of the multinational Far Eastern Commission (FEC), which oversaw the postwar governing and reconstruction of Japan, are fully documented in this publication of the records now held by the National Archives. Founded in Moscow in 1945, the FEC was composed of representatives from 11 countries, including the United States, the USSR, Great Britain, and Nationalist China.

This collaborative archive includes digitized IMTFE materials from collections at the University of Virginia Law Library and the Virginia Historical Society listed below. These roughly 7,000 documents consist of personal papers from members of the prosecution and defense sections, official IMTFE records, newspaper clippings, photographs, and other related trial materials.

This volume contains Indian Office memos and records that provide users with a clearer picture of British foreign policy in Africa and South Asia before the Second World War

Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.

The Valmadonna Collection of Hebrew and Jewish books from India is a unique resource for the study of oriental printing and lithography, Hebrew poetry and liturgical history, Eastern Judeo-Arabic literature, and the folklore traditions and vernacular writings of the Jews of South Asia. Brill makes the entire corpus of Indian Jewish literature accessible to researchers for the first time.

Manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland. Documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials

Over 16,000 pages of State Department Central Files on India and Pakistan from 1963 through 1966 make this collection a standard documentary resource for the study of the political relations between India and Pakistan during a crucial period in the Cold War and the shifting alliances and alignments in South Asia.

This set of microfilms reproduces diaries and records with eyewitness insight into life in India during the early period of the Raj. Includes military diaries, diaries of engineers, surveyors and medical staff of East India Company, civil servants and those sent on official missions, travelers diaries and diaries of wives of East India Company officials and soldiers.

Independent India’s first years were marked with turbulent events - partition, a massive exchange of population with Pakistan, the Indo-Pakistani War of 1947 and the integration of over 500 princely states to form a united nation. This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of the Subcontinent between 1945 and 1949, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned India in the postwar period.

The Long Emergency Collection was primarily conceived as a series of oral history interviews documenting journalistic praxis around the time of the Indian emergency (1975-1977).
To convey a sense of the “spirit of the times,” the collection also includes a selection of material from this period such as films, cartoons, news clippings, government documents, and court judgements.

This set of document contains the Madras Legislative assembly debates from 1938 to 1959

A companion archive to India from Crown Rule to Republic, 1945-1949, this collection traces the end of British India and the emergence of modern Pakistan. Representative documents with valuable details include the “Economic Survey,” dated April-June 1949, and issued by the Board of Economic Inquiry, West Punjab, Lahore, and “Dacca Newsletter,” dated July 1949

The South Asia Archive is a fully searchable digital archive encompassing millions of pages of valuable research and teaching materials, providing online access to documents ranging from 1700 through to 1953. The Archive covers the Indian subcontinent and contains both serial and non-serial materials, including reports, rare books, and journal runs from noteworthy, rare publications. The documents in the Archive are interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India in fields such as culture & society, industry & economy, science, technology & medicine, urban planning & administration, and politics & law. Most of the material is in English, about 30% of the documents are in vernacular languages, including Bengali and Sanskrit

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is a rich and growing collection of historical and contemporary primary and secondary sources in the arts, humanities and social sciences from and about South Asia. SAOA is created by a collaborative grassroots initiative of US research libraries and partners from South Asia.D

The British Politics and Society archive of Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is packed with primary source documentation that enhances a greater understanding and analysis of the development of urban centers and of the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. The archive is composed of a number of individual collections, drawn together from a variety of sources.

Part of the Nineteenth Century Online Collection, The British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for 19th century scholars. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.

Contains travel writings and diaries by women from the United Kingdom when they traveled to India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada

This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes written by our academic research team.

One of the most important literary discoveries of the second half of the twentieth century was the recovery of the spectacular library of more than 72,000 volumes, covering a broad range of subject areas, that was collected during the first half of the nineteenth century by Victor Amadeus, the Landgrave of Hesse-Rotenberg (1779–1834), and housed at his castle (Castle Corvey) near Paderborn, Germany

The British Library has digitized numerous manuscripts that were collected over the years. These digitized manuscripts include Greek manuscripts, Javanese Manuscripts from Yogyakarta, Malay manuscripts collected by Sir Stamford Raffles and Thai manuscripts from Thailand.

This volume contains key documents on British Foreign Policy from 1919 to 1939. It is ideal for researchers or students who are keen to study the foreign policy of the United Kingdom during the inter-war period.

Documents on British Policy Overseas (DBPO) is a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas

Early English Books Online is a web-based e-book database providing scanned microfilm images of over 125,000 early English publications in the areas of English literature, linguistics, history, religion,music, arts, physical science and women's studies, published from 1475 to 1700 listed in: (1) Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), and (2) Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and their revised editions; (3) Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

This set of microfilm has 6 parts and it hold EIC documents about the following locales: Pt. 1. China and Japan.-- Pt. 2. China.-- Pt. 3. Fort St George (Madras).-- Pt. 4. Fort St George (Madras), 1669-1758.-- Pt. 5. Calcutta, 1690-1708.-- Pt. 6. Bombay, 1669-1704.

East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Issued in two parts. Part 1 is arranged broadly under six separate themes: The Christian Century in Japan, Jesuit editions, Early travels to Japan, The English and Dutch East India Companies, Images of Japan and expeditions to Japan in the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries. Part 2 covers the vitally important records of Englebert Kaempfer, the German physician who worked for the Dutch East India Company in Nagasaki between 1690 and 1692, and who has been described as the first interpreter of Japan.

A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.

Original documents relating to Empire Studies (from British, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America).

JustisOne has the largest digital collection of England & Wales cases available. It is comprised of full text documents and meta data of cases as well as legislation. The full text covers judgments handed down in the various divisions of the England and Wales High Court back to 1993, the England and Wales Court of Appeal back to 1951 and the United Kingdom Supreme Court / House of Lords back to 1852. This covers both reported and unreported cases. The full text of every Act of Parliament passed and given royal assent, including repealed legislation, is available to view back to 1235, with Local Acts available back to 1797 and Private Acts back to 1539.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) (CAB 128) and memoranda (CAB 129) of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees (CAB 134).

The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.

This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on all aspects of the 19th century life--literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.

OSEO currently includes writers active between 701 and 1901, plus Roman and Greek authors — from Aeschylus, Austen, Bentham, Catullus, Dickens, and Donne through to Plato, Virgil, and Wordsworth. It contains over 1,350 scholarly editions — the equivalent of more than 685,000 print pages

Secret files from world wars to cold war provides access to the British government’s intelligence and foreign policy files from the period of Appeasement through the early Cold War (1873 to 1953), with a focus on the period around World War II. The materials are sourced from the UK’s National Archives, and include intelligence reports as well as government policies and strategies.

Library has access to the 19th century (1801-1900) & 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) parliamentary papers.

This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Prize Papers Online 1 contains approximately 7,000 interrogations of members of the crew of ships taken during the American Revolutionary War and Fourth Anglo-Dutch War (ca. 1775-1784). It shows images of each interrogation (of two, three, sometimes even six or more pages). Answers to the fourteen most researched questions are transcribed and stored in a searchable database.

Prize Papers Online 2 contains approximately 6,000 interrogations of members of the crew of ships taken during the War of the Austrian Succession and Seven Years’ War (ca. 1739-1763). It shows images of each interrogation (of two, three, sometimes even six or more pages). Answers to the fourteen most researched questions are transcribed and stored in a searchable database.

The Korean and Vietnam wars were two of the defining events of the 20th century. While the origins of both are rooted in their countries’ respective histories, much of the world regarded the wars as proxies for the larger Cold War between the United States and the Soviet Union. This collection offers a global perspective on two of the 20th century’s most crucial turning points.

For America’s allies, the nation’s racial tensions were a cause of concern. For adversaries, they were an indication of American weakness. International coverage of American race relations therefore adds a new dimension to what may seem to be a familiar story. For example, communist countries often cited the hypocrisy of the United States inherent in the segregation of the races, and even Western allies of the United States offered intense criticism. These global responses to an internal U.S. problem shed light on racism itself and on its political dimensions. The articles in this database will add unique depth and insight to research projects

Since 2000, CIA has installed and maintained an electronic full-text searchable system named CREST (the CIA Records Search Tool), at NARA II in College Park, Maryland. The CREST system is the publicly accessible repository of the subset of CIA records reviewed under the 25-year program in electronic format (manually reviewed and released records are accessioned directly into the National Archives in their original format). Over 11 million pages have been released in electronic format and reside on the CREST database, from which researchers have printed about 1.1 million pages.

Though the Cold War ended in 1991, many of its key issues – weapons of mass destruction, espionage, proxy wars and their aftereffects – continue to echo in international events and popular culture in the 21st century. This database gives researchers the unique opportunity to explore some of the same primary sources used by the U.S. officials in responding to foreign adversaries.

This collection of 2,360 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher) provides readers for the first time with the declassified documentary record about the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War.

The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 35 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th to the early 19th Century. From the bibliography by Charles Evans, Ralph R. Shaw, Richard H. Shoemaker and Roger Bristol's Supplement

FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Meet the Press from Alexander Street opens up a wealth of information to libraries by making over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Since its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. For the first time ever, network television’s longest running program—with its thousands of interviews, panels, and debates—is available via streaming online video. Now, students and scholars have unprecedented access to this treasure trove of material, including many episodes not seen since their original broadcast.

Between February 1971 and July 1973, President Richard Nixon secretly recorded 3,700 hours of his phone calls and meetings across the executive offices. These recordings played a leading role in the resignation of our 37th president on August 9, 1974. They remain perhaps the greatest treasure of information ever left by a president, as well as the most complex, controversial set of presidential records in U.S. history.

The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation. Top level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate this collection, which provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files from The National Archives, Kew

Beginning at the end of World War II and continuing through the Cold War period and beyond, tools of radioactive, chemical, and biological warfare played a role in many of the 20th century’s most significant events. From the Cuban missile crisis to the Gulf War, the development, proliferation, and containment of weapons of mass destruction shaped technology, international conflicts, politics, and more.

This database contains US diplomatic cables from Wikileaks

Prize Papers Online 1 contains approximately 7,000 interrogations of members of the crew of ships taken during the American Revolutionary War and Fourth Anglo-Dutch War (ca. 1775-1784). It shows images of each interrogation (of two, three, sometimes even six or more pages). Answers to the fourteen most researched questions are transcribed and stored in a searchable database.

Selection of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. The database ranges from the years after World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s.

This collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence community’s activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.

This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program

Various Presidential, Congressional, Departmental documents held across several collections : Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register Library, Pentagon Papers, US Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection, US Code, US Federal Legislative History Library, US Presidential Library, US Statutes at Large, US Supreme Court Library, US Treaties and Agreements Library.

FDsys provides free online access to official US Federal Government publications such as public papers of the Presidents of the United States, Journal of the House of Representatives, various congressional documents (Hearings, Records, Reports) and many others.

The Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.* Issues are scanned from cover to cover, with article/page feature pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs included, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

The Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.

Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide fresh, unprecedented insights into recent international history. By making new sources available and easily accessible, the Digital Archive serves to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.

Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.

For decades the official newspaper of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, Pravda, was widely read both within the Soviet states and by foreign diplomats, politicians, and intelligence agencies. Pravda has long been considered a bellwether of Soviet thought. This database includes both the perspective of the Communist Party during the Soviet era and that of Russia’s conservative-nationalist opposition in articles published after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

Bibliography of government publication published by the Australian Government from 1986 to 1996

These microfilm films provide a snapshot of Australian defence interest in Southeast Asia, most notably Singapore and Malaya from the late 1930s till the 1960s.

This database contains news reports about apartheid from South Africa and from around the world. The reports include transcripts of radio and television broadcasts as well as articles from newspapers. The reports were chosen by a U.S. government agency called the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS)--which became part of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in 1947--to be disseminated among government officials and decision-makers. The reports were selected for their informational value to keep policy-makers informed of global concerns. When necessary, the reports were translated into English. No U.S. papers or broadcasts are included in this database.

This remarkable collection demonstrates the impact of the holy book of Islam in Europe. Long before printing with movable type became common practice in the Islamic world, Korans had been printed in Arabic type in several European cities. The collection includes Korans and Koran translations, printed between 1537 and 1857, and is of interest to book historians, theologians, philologists, and scholars of Islamic Studies alike.

The "Scramble for Africa" began with the arrival of missionaries and explorers to the "Dark Continent" in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Over the next 100 years, Africa would be "Christianized" by European missionaries; "commercialized" as an outlet for European-produced consumer goods and source for raw materials; and "civilized" by the establishment of European political institutions and the arrival of European settlers. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest provides an in-depth look into the motivations, activities, and results of the European conquest of Africa in the nineteenth century.

Leiden University Library has a world famous collection of Middle Eastern Manuscripts. Its core collection is brought together by, among others, the Leiden Orientalists Joseph Justus Scaliger and Jacobus Golius. Included in the Scaliger collection are about a dozen manuscripts which belonged to Franciscus Raphelengius. These collections consist of extremely rare, sometimes unique, manuscripts.

This online publication consists of 140 volumes from the Warner Collection, totaling 45,809 pages of Ottoman Turkish, Arabic, and Persian texts. All these manuscripts were acquired by the great scholar Levinus Warner during his stay in Istanbul from 1644 until his death in 1665.

This collection consists of 200 manuscripts with just over 300 works. In addition to 5 autographs, the highlights of the collection include: the earliest dated manuscript in the collection (Arab O. 013) a dated copy of a unique arrangement of a rare treatise written by al-Ṣāḥib Tāǧ al-Dīn (d. 707/1307) produced in the year of the author’s death; two rare Mamluk treatises on horsemanship (Arab F.2); and an anonymous compilation (Arab O. 027) about the lives of the outstanding men who lived in Medina in the 12th/18th century.

Experience the phenomenal independence movements of southern African nations through this digitized collection of thousands of documents and other primary sources.

Accounts of travel are a popular and accessible source for research on historical relations between “East” and “West” and are attractive for specialists and non-specialists alike. In the pre-modern period a large number of such accounts were published all over Europe. Predominantly covering the Ottoman Empire, the collection also stretches into Ethiopia, Central Asia, Afghanistan, North Africa, and of course Iran.

Explore the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes.

The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990

This source edition of Gessner’s private library contains those seventy eight books that Gessner read most carefully and annotated by hand. The majority have been reproduced from the rich holdings of the Zentralbibliothek Zürich, while other important copies included in this edition are held by the University Library of Basle. The marginalia in these books are so numerous that they almost constitute a new set of sources, which are of interest not only to historians and philologists but also to those who study the history of early modern medicine and the natural sciences.

This webpage provides you with details on the archives you may encounter in Southeast and East Asia

A cross-cultural database of primary source materials on all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide. It provides a systematically organized collection of books and articles on ethnographic and other materials from a variety of sources. Full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Two thesauri, Outline of the world cultures (OWC), and: Outline of cultural materials (OCM), organize the collections.

The world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica housed in the Valmadonna Trust Library is the basis for this collection. It comprises a resource for the study of oriental printing, Hebrew liturgical history, Judeo-Arabic literature, and the history and culture of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community. All of these bibliographic treasures are reproduced here for the first time.

Human Rights Documents Online is the largest online database on international human rights issues with almost 70,000 documents from nearly 700 nongovernmental human rights organizations (NGOs) worldwide, collected since 1980 by Human Rights Internet. A unique collection of “grey literature” material from small and large organizations working globally and locally, Human Rights Documents Online is an indispensable research tool for all concerned with human rights issues.

From the beginning of World War II through the end of the twentieth century, the mass movement of peoples caused problems for governments around the world. Responses to legal immigration, illegal immigration, and refugee crises varied greatly, often depending on a country’s proximity to the crisis. These problems and responses helped shape the world we live in.

Spotlighting a distinguished array of historic atlases, gazetteers, travel narratives and a variety of maps, this database presents a unique insight into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel. The materials focus on travel and exploration during the nineteenth century, providing a myriad of sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion.

With Refugees, Relief and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II, Gale chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950, bringing together over 650,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.

Since the 1980s, scholars have been vigorously debating the relationship between the late nineteenth-century progressive movements (women's rights, labor rights, etc.) and evangelicalism. Some continue to see the evangelical revivals as delaying genuinely emancipatory reform movements (Gilbert). Others maintain that middle-class and working-class agency, and especially female agency, were direct outgrowths of the evangelical break with the traditions of the established church. The collections in Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform will allow students to examine some of the primary sources that anchor this debate and decide for themselves.

Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 features more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge during the nineteenth century. Source libraries include the Huntington Library, the Burndy Library, the Library of Congress, and the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University

The collection consists of newspapers published during the war and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects.

Including a wide array of primary source documents-serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals-Women: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.

From politics to human rights to environmental issues, protests and reform movements have shaped modern global society. A protest that marked a turning point in one country, however, may have had entirely different consequences for another. This collection brings diverse global reactions to major 20th-century social movements together into a single fully searchable resource and offers researchers in a variety of disciplines valuable insight into the protests and reforms that changed the course of world history.