LibGuides: Historical Immersion (Yale-NUS College): The Interconnected World of the Year 1000 CE

Welcome

This guide is designed to suggest useful sources in your learning and research in the Historical Immersion course, "The Interconnected World of the Year 1000 CE". Click on the tabs to view lists of reference sources, databases, and image sources that are recommended specifically for you.

Suggested Sources

Reference sources include dictionaries and encyclopedias. These sources will provide overview information, often in the form of entries on individuals, events, or concepts. These are good sources to consult for authoritative background information. The reference sources below are recommended for you.

Encylopaedia of Islam
This Brill encyclopedia is available in its three editions, as well as its French translation and with the addition of the Historical Atlas of Islam.
Encyclopaedia Islamica
This encyclopedia is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, a comprehensive source on Islam and the Muslim world.
The Brill Dictionary of Religion
The Brill Dictionary of Religion Online maps out and defines the networks and connections created by various religions in over 500 entries.
Encyclopedia of Religion
BL31 Eny 2005 (Central Library, Reference). This print encyclopedia was first published in 1987 and seeks to provide an overview of major world religions.
A Dictionary of World History
This dictionary of world history from Oxford Reference covers prehistory to the present day. It includes concise entries on key historical figures, historical movements, and events.
Dynasties of the World
This Oxford Reference source charts five millennia of kings, queens, emperors, empresses, regencies, joint reigns, abdications, depositions, interregna, canonizations, beatifications, foreign rule, mandates, protectorates, and dynastic unions.
A Dictionary of Buddhism
This Oxford Reference source consists of entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools.
A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
This Oxford Reference source is a guide to Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern.
Encyclopedia of Christianity Online
This BrillOnline Reference Work describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history.
A Dictionary of Hindusim
This Oxford Reference source covers the major Hindu practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts in over 2000 entries.

Use databases to search with keywords across hundreds of journals and sources. These specialized databases are recommended for you.

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online platform with access to academic journals, books, and primary sources. It will be especially useful in your secondary source research; JSTOR provides full text access to the archives of several thousand journal titles.
Project Muse
Project Muse is a a database which provides access to full text articles from leading Social Science and Humanities journals as well as e-books. This is an excellent source to search for secondary sources specific to the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Online
BAS contains 851,737 records on secondary sources on the topic of East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. If the item is available in print or online at NUS Libraries, you will be able to access it from BAS. Get in touch with a librarian when you come across items that are not yet available.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is an index available on the EBSCOhost platform. As an index it aims to provide comprehensive bibliographic information on History scholarship. While not all titles in this index are immediately available in full text, Historical Abstracts is an excellent tool for discovery when, for example, conducting a literature review. Contact the Library to get help accessing the full text of items found in an index.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Large collection of e-books compiled by the American Council of Learned Societies. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies.

Search or browse these databases and museum websites for images of artwork and artifacts.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made 400,000 digital images in the public domain available and free to use. Images labeled with 'OASC' can be downloaded in high-res.
ARTstor
ARTstor is an image repository with close to 2 million images from the arts, humanities, and sciences.
The British Museum Images
The British Museum Images collection provides images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings
Yale University Art Gallery
Search or browse the Yale University Art Gallery's collections online.