LibGuides: Dentistry: Databases, journals & resources

Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
It is a search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. It provides full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and continuing medical education (CME) materials.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
It is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical information resource for point-of-care. It contains a wealth of information, from historical background to treatment recommendations. Within a topic or a clinical condition, there are links to pictures, graphics, drug information and other related topics. You can also search for drug information as Lexi-Comp and Lexi-Interact Online (drug resources) have been incorporated into UpToDate. Mobile version is available.

To attend upcoming Live Online Trainings (webinars) on using UpToDate, visit the UpToDate Webinars webpage

The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. It includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements. The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.

Pubmed

Pubmed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 26 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
Guide for searching PubMed:
- PubMed Tutorial

MEDLINE (via OVID)

Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by OVID. Coverage is from 1946 onwards.

Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.

Embase
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data — supported by Emtree — helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Especially useful for Systematic Reviews.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

Web of Science
Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

Micromedex Solutions This link opens in a new window
Micromedex Solutions is updated daily. NUS Libraries' subscription provides access to the complete DRUGDEX, Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference and 2 mobile applications: Drug Reference and Drug Interactions. DRUGDEX consists comprehensive drug resource with fully referenced, unbiased content covering dosage, pharmacokinetics, precautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, labeled and off-label indications and clinical applications. Spans FDA, European Medicines Agency (EMA) and Health Canada - approved and non-prescription preparations. Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference delivers concise, authoritative information and unique international coverage of drugs in clinical use, investigational and herbal drugs, diagnostic agents, pesticides, coloring agents, preservatives and noxious substances.

Our subscription to Micromedex Healthcare Series provides access to 2 subdatabases: the DRUGDEX System and MARTINDALE: The Complete Drug Reference.They provide extensive infromation on drugs and related substances including investigational drugs, herbal medicines, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media and diagnostic agents, medicinal gases, drugs of abuse and recreational drugs, toxic substances, disinfectants, and pesticides. It links point-form overview of diseases with drugs used in their treatment, along with key references. Access is also available via mobile or tablet devices. You can find out more details upon logging in to Micromedex.

Dentistry: Databases, journals & resources

Databases

Top 10 Dentistry Journals

Singapore-related Journals