Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Find Full Texts: Proxy Bookmarklet

Guide on finding full-text using Find it! @NUS Libraries, ProxyBookmarklet and LibKey Nomad

What does Proxy Bookmarklet do?

The proxy bookmarklet automatically inserts the NUS Libraries proxy stem (libproxy1.nus.edu.sg) into the URL of an article/e-book. Once you have successfully installed the bookmarklet in your browser, simply click on it when you are on the publisher's page that requires you to pay or login to view full text. The system checks if the required title is within the Library's subscription. If yes, the page reloads and subsequently provides you with the full text options.

 

What if you get an error message or still cannot access full text using the proxy bookmarklet?

cautionThe proxy bookmarklet may not work in the following conditions:

  • NUS Libraries do not have a subscription to the title.
  • NUS Libraries have not yet configured the proxy to work with that page.

If for some reason the proxy bookmarklet does not yield any results, search for the source title in the Library catalogue (LINC). It is possible that the required title is available via another vendor site or in print copy (not online).

Installation instructions for different browsers

Install Proxy Bookmarklet in your preferred browser

Refer to the Installation Instructions in this guide, on how to install the proxy bookmarklet for different browsers. After installing, you can then use the bookmarklet on any vendor/publisher (e.g JSTOR or ScienceDirect) page that requires payment or login to view full text.

Google Chrome Chrome
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
    If you don't see your Bookmark bar, go to the top right, click the "Customize and control Google Chrome icon" chromeoptions > select Settings > under the Appearance section, select Show bookmarks bar button. 
    Alternatively press Ctrl + Shift + B.
Moxilla Firefox 
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>
  2. Select "Bookmark This Link".
    Alternatively, click (hold) and drag the link to the "Bookmarks" toolbar.
Internet Explorer :
  1. Right click on this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet>.
  2. Select "Add to favorites...".
  3. If you wish to add to "Links", go to "Favorites" and drag and drop the bookmarklet to "Links".
Safari safari
  1. Click (hold) and drag this link <NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet> to the "Bookmarks" bar.
Microsoft Edge edge
  1. You need to first save the bookmarklet into Internet Explorer or Chrome, then import the favorites into Edge. If you have existing favorites in Edge, you would need to delete them before re-importing.
Mac users Mac

   If you are having problems doing drag and drop in Safari or Chrome safari, do the following:

  1. Create a new bookmark of any page.
  2. Go into the browser and edit the name and the URL of the bookmarklet you just created. The name can be anything you choose but the URL should be ​javascript:void(location.href='https://libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/login?url='+location.href);​

Other alternative browsers (e.g Opera):

  1. In theory you can use any of the links above (e.g the link for Firefox) to create a bookmarklet as per the normal steps for that browser. However the library and most library databases from vendors do not officially support alternative browsers, so it is not advisable to surf library resources using these browsers. Even if the proxy bookmarklet works other problems might crop up.

Android

Creating and Using Proxy Bookmarklet on Android

Part One: Creating the Bookmark

  1. Open Chrome browser and view any page
  2. Tap on the star icon next to the URL
  3. Tap Save to create a bookmark (name it as NUS Libraries Proxy Bookmarklet)
  4. Note where it saves, for example, In Mobile Bookmarks

Part Two: Editing the Bookmarklet

  1. Select and copy the entire bookmarklet code.

javascript:void(location.href='https://libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/login?url='+location.href);​

  1. Tap the menu options icon Android menu icon and select Bookmarks. Be sure you’re viewing Mobile Bookmarks or wherever you saved it
  2. Tap and hold to choose the NUS Libraries Proxy bookmarklet bookmark and then Edit bookmark
  3. Delete text from address/URL field
  4. Paste to add the javascript code instead
  5. Tap Save

Using the Bookmarklet

  1. NOTE: Bookmarklet is only needed if you go directly to a journal, database or article.
  2. Clicked to view an article and not granted full access? Start typing “NUS Libraries proxy bookmarklet” into the address/URL above resource. Choose the suggestion with “javascript:void” below it to trigger the bookmarklet.
  3. You will be prompted to log in.
  4. Once authenticated, you should get access.
  5. You will remain authenticated until you close the browser.

iPad and iPhone

Creating and Using Proxy Bookmarklet on iPad and iPhone

Part One: Setup

  1. Using iPhone? Skip and go to Part Two of this guide.
  2. On iPad, go to Settings and tap Safari
  3. Set Show Favorites Bar > ON

Control what appears in your iPad Favorites Bar: open Safari and tap the bookmarks icon. Then tap Edit.

Part Two: Creating the Bookmark

  1. Open Safari browser and view any page
  2. Tap on the share icon share icon ios found at top or bottom of your screen
  3. Tap Bookmark bookmark icon ios found at top or bottom of your screen to save this page
  4. Ensure save is to Locations > Favorites and then tap Done

Part Three: Editing the Bookmarklet

  1. Select and copy the bookmarklet code. If needed, adjust the selection, to include all before tapping Copy

javascript:void(location.href='https://libproxy1.nus.edu.sg/login?url='+location.href);​

  1. Tap the bookmarks icon bookmark icon ios and be sure you’re viewing Favorites
  2. Tap Edit
  3. Select the bookmark saved in Part Two, called Bookmarklet for iOS
  4. Tap the address/URL field and clear it by tapping the x
  5. Tap on the word Address, and tap Paste to add the javascript code
  6. Tap Done twice: once in the keyboard and once at lower corner of the Favorites box

Using the Bookmarklet

  1. NOTE: Bookmarklet is only needed if you go directly to a journal, database or article.
  2. Clicked to view an article and not granted full access? Tap the bookmarks icon bookmark icon ios > Favorites > Bookmarklet for iOS.
  3. You will be prompted to log in.
  4. Once authenticated, you should get the full text.
  5. You will remain authenticated until you close the browser.