Find Full Text: Find It! @NUS Libraries

What is  ?

The search results page in databases such as Scopus and the Web of Science typically display the article details and abstracts. Look out for the  links that provide access to full texts. When you click on that Find It!@NUS Libraries link, the system checks if the source title is subscribed by NUS Libraries. Once confirmed, the page will be reloaded with the full text options.

Why use ?
Search engines like Google Scholar provides brief details for its search results with no access to the full texts of titles that are not freely available. Clicking on the Find It!@NUS Libraries link enables the system to check if the Library subscribes to the e-version. If yes, the full text options will be displayed. To set up the Find It!@NUS Libraries links in Google Scholar, refer to the instructions on the right panel of this page.

Clicking on would not work if:

• NUS Libraries does not subscribe to the e-version of the full-text.
• ​There is a technical issue preventing a successful link to the e-version of the full-text.

Try search the library catalogue (LINC) for a print copy in our collection.

Google Scholar displays the links after comparing its results list to our list of electronic subscriptions. Note that Google Scholar may not be able to track if we have the print version, nor match an incomplete citation. So once you confirmed that the item is not available for free via the web, search our Library catalogue (LINC) for the the print version.

Check Library Holdings via Google Scholar

In Google Scholar, you can also check if the required item is in the NUS Libraries collection.

1. Google Scholar may fail to display the link even if we have access to the e-version or if the required title is in the print copy. To confirm, select the  option available below the record. This enables the system to "Check Library Holdings" of NUS Libraries:

2. The system checks for the availability of the title in our collection and subsequently returns the screen below. If the title is not available online, select the options By Title or By ISSN to confirm if it is available in hard copy.

Set up Find it! @NUS Libraries to locate full text of Google Scholar search results

Google Scholar results will link you directly to the required online journal article or book chapter but you would likely not have access to the full-text, particularly if the source title is subscribed by the Library. This is because you are not authenticated via NUS Libraries' proxy. To access the full-text, set up your Google Scholar settings to link it to the NUS Libraries' collection. The steps are as follows:

1. ​Go to Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com). At the top left panel, click on the hamburger menu icon (Google Scholar tends to move this icon around quite a bit..):

2. Select Settings on the resulting screen. Click on Library Links:

3. At the "Show library access..." screen, key in NUS and click Enter.  Uncheck the box for "Open World Cat..." if it was checked by default earlier on. Click Save:

4. Now you're ready test if your settings work. Search for a topic in Google Scholar for example Forest City Malaysia Chinese. The Find it! @NUS Libraries links will now appear to the right of some articles in your search results.  Click on these links to see if the full texts are available in our collection.

Google Scholar includes books and book chapters as well as articles.  The Find It! button will not work for document types that are only available in print (not online).