Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

GEH1049 Public Health in Action

Academic Search Engine and Databases

FindMore Search Engine

FindMore is a great Google-like search engine for interdisciplinary research.  It searches across all subject areas and all document types including books, e-books, scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, theses, dissertations, videos and more. FindMore also provides access to online full-text contents available in the NUS Libraries' catalogue and subscribed electronic resources.

 

Databases

Databases are a good place to begin research. You can search a database for information (on a particular subject, keyword, author, etc.) across multiple sources  (journals, books, theses, etc.) simultaneously. 

When starting your research, it is important to select the most appropriate database(s) for your topic and to be aware of the particularities and functionalities of individual databases.

The databases subscribed by NUS Libraries contain scholarly literature including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations , editorials, conference  proceedings, patents, trade magazines, newspapers, reports, reviews...

If you need help in selecting the relevant databases(s) for your topic, check out the Databases tabs in our subject guides curated by our NUS Resource Librarians.

Alternatively,  contact us at .for a research consultation.

Multidisciplinary Databases
Biomedical Database
Newspaper Databases

Searching the Web

Refine Your Google Searches with Search Operators

When using Google, confine your search to a credible and reliable site:

Use “site:[insert site URL]” for example:

  • Health Promotion Boardsite:hpb.gov.sg[insert keyword]
  • Ministry of Health site:moh.gov.sg[insert keyword]
  • HealthHubsite:healthhub.sg[insert keyword]
  • World Health Organizationsite:who.org[insert keyword]
  • United Nationssite:un.org[insert keyword] 

IGO Search

"This unique free service allows you to search the websites of all intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc." (source: https://uia.org/igosearch)

Institutional and Organisational Repositories

World Health Organisation Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (WHO IRIS)

World Bank e-Library

  • Topics related to public health: Obesity, Nutrition, Maternal and Child Health, Sanitation, Infectious Diseases

WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific's Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (WPRO IRIS)

  • Digital library of WPRO's published material and technical information in full text produced since 1951.

NUS ScholarBank

  • ScholarBank@NUSis the institutional repository of the National University of Singapore.
  • It houses the scholarly output of NUS to facilitate dissemination and access to knowledge.

Data Sources

WHO Global Health Observatory

  • Good for country-level data
  • Browse by Indicator (Note the Waiting Time Can be Long)

Singapore Statistics

  • Singapore specific data
  • Search by Theme --> Population / Society

Data.gov.sg

  • Singapore specific data
  • Browse "Health" or "Society"