'Food and Public Health' is an easy to read text that helps students understand the history of modern issues in public health nutrition and health promotion. The work's chapters include practical real-world applications and cases, which serve as examples for extension activities.
Publication Date: Springer International Publishing
Neighborhoods and health. 2nd ed. [electronic resource] by Dustin T. Duncan and Ichiro Kawachi [Editors]In 2003, 'Neighborhoods and Health' codified the idea that a neighbourhood's social and physical makeup can influence the health of people who live in it. More than a decade later, with the relationship between place and health firmly entrenched at the centre of how we understand public health (and as its own scientific discipline, spatial epidemiology), this second edition of the landmark text offers another giant leap forward for the field.
People-centred public health by Jane South, Judy White, Mark GamsuPeople-centred public health examines how members of the public can be involved in delivering health improvement, primarily as volunteers or lay health workers. With a foreword by Professor Sir Michael Marmot and Dr Mike Grady, this book draws on a major study of lay engagement in public health, using case studies and real life examples to provide a comprehensive and accessible overview of policy, practice and research in this area. In an economic and political climate where there is renewed interest in the role of the citizen, the authors challenge old orthodoxies in public health and build a coherent argument for radical change in the way public agencies support lay action. The book provides contemporary insights into why, how and with what support people can move from being health consumers to active citizens who are able to make a valued contribution to health. The book is aimed at readers with an academic or professional interest in public health, health promotion, public sector management, social policy and community work.
Publication Date: 2013
Evaluating International Public Health Issues : Critical Reflections on Diseases and Disasters, Policies and Practices [electronic resource] by Mbuso Precious MabuzaThis book makes an original contribution in addressing contemporary critical discussions and reflections on international health policies, strategies, programmes, systems, diseases, disasters, and public health issues. It includes reflections on how levels of governance, development and technical assistance affect countries’ disaster readiness and health systems. In addressing inequalities between the rich and the poor, and unpacking how this affects public health services, policies, strategies and their collective implementation, the book aspires to improve standards of public health and quality of life for sustainable development globally. It provides a comprehensive overview of international health policies and aid structures, and pays particularly close attention to policies on HIV/AIDS in the workplace, discussing how HIV/AIDS has overshadowed non-communicable diseases (NCDs) such as hypertension and stroke, which are on the rise. This book will be of great benefit to students and researchers, as well as policymakers in governmental and non-governmental organisations, who have an interest in achieving greater sustainability and improved health for populations in low-, middle- and high-income countries. It will be an indispensable book for students in Public Health programmes, and related courses.
Origins of public health -- Organization & financing of public health -- Infectious disease control -- Injury & noninfectious diseases -- Public health system performance -- Public health leadership -- Building healthy communities -- Public health : promise and prospects.
Infectious diseases of Singapore [electronic resource] by Berger, Stephen [Editor]Chapters are arranged alphabetically, by disease name. Each chapter is divided into three sections:
1. Descriptive epidemiology
2. Status of the disease in Singapore
A chapter outlining the routine vaccination schedule of Singapore follows the diseases chapters.
There are 361 generic infectious diseases in the world today. 208 of these are endemic, or potentially endemic, to Singapore. A number of other diseases are not relevant to Singapore and have not been included in this book.
In addition to endemic diseases, all published data regarding imported diseases and infection among expatriates from Singapore are included.
Soh SE. et al. Public Health Aspect of the Growing Up in Singapore Towards Healthy Outcomes (GUSTO) Mother-Offspring Cohort. In Pre-emptive Medicine: Public Health Aspects of Developmental Origins of Health and Disease by Sata F., Fukuoka H.and Hanson M. [Editors]This book reviews public health activities such as awareness campaigns, health education, and strategies for health policy based on recent epidemiological studies that provide insights into epigenetic processes caused by environmental factors and developmental plasticity. It provides the latest concepts and findings on the public health aspects of Developmental Origins of Health and Disease (DOHaD) research regarding early prevention of non-communicable diseases (NCDs). Attention is especially paid to key issues, including strategies for the effective prevention of NCDs in developmental stages of life and younger generations rather than in adults and the elderly. Public Health Aspects in Developmental Origins of Health and Disease (DOHaD) is structured in two parts; the first focuses on general remarks reviewing specific recommendations, practical methods and protocols, and future goals regarding public health aspects, while the second presents brief profiles of individual cohorts and consortia studies. This collection will benefit both new and established researchers, as well as students in the fields of epidemiology, clinical medicine, nutrition, education, and public health who are seeking comprehensive information on DOHaD and preemptive medicine. .
This book offers a detailed account of a range of mobile Health initiatives across South, Southeast and East Asia.
Public Health and Disasters [electronic resource] : Health Emergency and Disaster Risk Management in Asia by Emily Ying Yang Chan, Rajib Shaw [Editors]This book presents the health emergency and disaster risk management (H-EDRM) research landscape, with examples from Asia. In recent years, the intersection of health and disaster risk reduction (DRR) has emerged as an important interdisciplinary field. In several landmark UN agreements adopted in 2015–2016, including the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction 2015–2030, the 2030 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the Paris climate agreement, and the New Urban Agenda (Habitat III), health is acknowledged as an inevitable outcome and a natural goal of disaster risk reduction, and the cross-over of the two fields is essential for the successful implementation of the Sendai Framework. H-EDRM has emerged as an umbrella field that encompasses emergency and disaster medicine, DRR, humanitarian response, community health resilience, and health system resilience. However, this fragmented, nascent field has yet to be developed into a coherent discipline. Key challenges include redundant research, lack of a strategic research agenda, limited development of multisectoral and interdisciplinary approaches, deficiencies in the science–policy–practice nexus, absence of standardized terminology, and insufficient coordination among stakeholders. This book provides a timely and invaluable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, scholars, and frontline practitioners as well as policymakers from across the component domains of H-EDRM.
Publication Date: 2020
Socio-Ecological Dimensions of Infectious Diseases in Southeast Asia [electronic resource] by Serge Morand (Editor); Jean-Pierre Dujardin (Editor); Régine Lefait-Robin (Editor); Chamnarn Apiwathnasorn (Editor)This book pursues a multidisciplinary approach in order to evaluate the socio-ecological dimensions of infectious diseases in Southeast Asia. It includes 18 chapters written by respected researchers in the fields of history, sociology, ecology, epidemiology, veterinary sciences, medicine and the environmental sciences on six major topics: (1) Infectious diseases and societies, (2) Health, infectious diseases and socio-ecosystems; (3) Global changes, land use changes and vector-borne diseases; (4) Monitoring and data acquisition; (5) Managing health risks; and (6) Developing strategies. The book offers a valuable guide for students and researchers in the fields of development and environmental studies, animal and human health (veterinarians, physicians), ecology and conservation biology, especially those with a focus on Southeast Asia.
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Urban Health and Wellbeing Programme [electronic resource] : Policy Briefs: Volume 1 by Franz W. Gatzweiler. [Editor]This book is a compilation of the policy briefs produced by the International Science Council’s program on Urban Health and Wellbeing: A Systems Approach over the past five years. Intended for urban decision-makers at all levels, it highlights policy-relevant findings and research insights to encourage the co-creation of knowledge for healthy urban environments and people. The book shows how variations on the systems approach developed and promoted by the program have been implemented in regions around the world and contributed to improving urban health. These policy briefs summarize research findings and scientific events concerning urban health-related topics that are relevant for public health professionals, urban planners, urban stakeholder groups and the public at large.
Publication Date: 2020
Water-Associated Infectious Diseases [electronic resource] by Shailendra K. Saxena. [Editor]This book provides a comprehensive overview of the different water-associated infectious diseases and their linked pathogens with plausible strategies for their mitigation. Although, we are in the era of 21st century having most of the advanced technologies at hand, yet water-associated infectious diseases are the major contributors towards the worldwide morbidity and mortality. The book also focuses on the various implementation strategies of sustainable hygienic conditions, discusses the robust, and reliable policies and strategies on a global aspect to provide unprivileged people access to the basic sanitation, hygiene and water. In addition, the book discusses the possible indirect effect of global warming on the spread of infectious diseases through the distribution of associated vectors.