It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following video illustrates the step-by-step process of writing a persuasive essay, including how to write a research statement, an introduction paragraph, body paragraphs, and a concluding paragraph:
Academic Writing by Purdue OWL Writing Lab, Purdue UniversityThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
For more information about services for the Purdue University community, including one-to-one consultations, ESL conversation groups and workshops, please visit the Writing Lab site.
Publication Date: 
Persuasive Writing: How to Make Words Work for You by Guy Billout (Illustrator); Nick SouterThe proliferation of modern technology like e-mail and text messaging stresses speed over finesse: we depend on abbreviations and shortcuts while overlooking elegant, clear communication. While that’s handy for an informal note, what happens when we really have to compose a persuasive business letter, produce an effective report, or present an idea creatively? When the quality of our words really matters, Persuasive Writing can help. It features a simple, three-step process for mastering the principles of written business communication. First: define the purpose of the message. Second: organize the necessary information. Third: support your opinions with solid proof. The CD-ROM that comes with the book contains additional tools, tips, and tricks so any business professional can develop an effective personal writing style.
Call Number: PN147 Sou 2007
Publication Date: 2007
A Handbook for Analytical Writing by William E. WinnerThis handbook accelerates the development of analytical writing skills for high school students, students in higher education, and working professionals in a broad range of careers. This handbook builds on the idea that writing clarifies thought, and that through analytical writing comes improved insight and understanding for making decisions about innovation necessary for socioeconomic development. This short handbook is a simple, comprehensive guide that shows differences between descriptive writing and analytical writing, and how students and teachers work together during the process of discovery-based learning. This handbook provides nuts and bolts ideas for team projects, organizing writing, the process of writing, constructing tables, presenting figures, documenting reference lists, avoiding the barriers to clear writing, and outlines the importance of ethical issues and bias for writers. Finally, there are ideas for evaluating writing, and examples of classroom exercises for students and teachers.
Publication Date: 2013
Analytical Writing: Looking Closely by Charles BazermanAcademic disciplines introduce new ways of looking at things. These new
ways are often analytical: you look at parts of phenomena and determine
how the parts work together. Analysis is one of the central intellectual skills
in academic life. This chapter discusses how analysis works and how you
can write more analytically. By increasing your analytic skills you will be
able to develop your individual point of view into effective contributions to
academic and professional inquiry.
Publication Date: 2015
A Guide to Argumentative Research Writing and Thinking by Arnold WentzelResearch is difficult. Even though students are trained in the basic research methodology skills, when confronted with research writing, it feels to them as if they enter a bizarre world, with its own language and conventions, where it is hard to get things right. This book translates the apparent complexities of research writing into everyday ideas, language and skills, and will enable novice researchers to start overcoming the major stumbling blocks immediately. This book focuses only on the greatest challenges in research writing, specifically those that supervisors find most difficult to explain to novice researchers. These challenges include both basic and more complex skills, such as: finding original research contributions; establishing one's voice while drawing on other authors; turning a vague idea into a feasible research question; generating literature reviews that are original in themselves; and avoiding list-like writing when discussing the research methodology. Wentzel shows that it is easier to overcome these challenges, not with lists of prescriptions that are difficult to remember while writing, but rather by cultivating an argumentative mindset. Not only is such a mindset much easier to maintain, but it offers a central point around which one can organise any difficult writing task. The book shows how to use the argumentative mindset to approach every important writing challenge. It translates all the necessary skills into jargon-free language using a variety of visuals and simple step-by-step procedures that will enable any person to read the book quickly and start writing immediately. The book is accompanied by a website containing an instructor's manual with guidance on the teaching and assessment of research writing, as well as lecture slides. tzel shows that it is easier to overcome these challenges, not with lists of prescriptions that are difficult to remember while writing, but rather by cultivating an argumentative mindset. Not only is such a mindset much easier to maintain, but it offers a central point around which one can organise any difficult writing task. The book shows how to use the argumentative mindset to approach every important writing challenge. It translates all the necessary skills into jargon-free language using a variety of visuals and simple step-by-step procedures that will enable any person to read the book quickly and start writing immediately. The book is accompanied by a website containing an instructor's manual with guidance on the teaching and assessment of research writing, as well as lecture slides.
Publication Date: 2017
Problem-Solution Paper - Ashford Writing Center by Millie JonesThis sample paper was adapted by the Writing Center from an original paper by a student, by Millie Jones. A Problem/Solution paper requires you to investigate a problem, examine alternative solutions, and propose the most effective solution using supporting evidence.
You’ll first describe the problem and persuade your reader that the problem needs to be addressed. Then, explain a possible solution(s) and provide support to show why the solution is a good choice.
"Used by permission".
Publication Date: 2016.
Writing for Success by (adapted) University of Minnesota Libraries"Writing for Success is a text that provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition. Beginning with the sentence and its essential elements, this book addresses each concept with clear, concise and effective examples that are immediately reinforced with exercises and opportunities to demonstrate, and reinforce, learning. Each chapter allows your students to demonstrate mastery of the principles of quality writing. With its incremental approach, it can address a range of writing levels and abilities, helping each student in your course prepare for their next writing or university course. Constant reinforcement is provided through examples and exercises, and the text involves students in the learning process through reading, problem-solving, practicing, listening, and experiencing the writing process."