Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles and Databases
Use these sources to start your search for databases and articles. Some databases contain journal articles while others contain videos, images, and more.
Art and Architecture in Video
A collection of over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms.
Features 150 videos of buildings, installations and interviews with prominent architects around the world.
ARTstor is an image repository with close to 2 million images from the arts, humanities, and sciences.
Oxford Art Online
Consists of Oxford's art reference works: Grove Art Online, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, including over 7,000 images.
Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
Indexing and abstracts of periodicals and dissertations on fine, decorative and commercial art, photography, folk art, film and architecture.
International Bibliography of Art
Authoritative bibliography of scholarship in western art and art history from 2008 to present. It covers books, conference proceedings, and journal articles on European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
Contains full-text back issues of scholarly journals as well as primary sources and books in a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. Most journals start from the first issue to 3-5 years before the latest one.
Offers full-text access to humanities and social science journals from university presses and scholarly societies around the world.
Art Index includes bibliographic information for more than 650 periodicals, more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 200,000 art reproductions.
Art Index Retrospective
This archival database indexes historical literature on art topics from 1929 to 1984. Subjects include fine, decorative, and commercial art.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
It indexes journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Provides access to these databases: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, and Photography: The World through the Lens. The databases are cross searchable.