Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this guide is to recommend article databases, books and other materials for conducting research on art and art history. Click on the tabs at the top of the page to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources for research in Art. Need help? Ask a Librarian!
In the Studio, Alfred Stevens (1888)
Introductions to Art
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
This online source covers western art from Ancient Greece to the present. There are 2,500 articles on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries, artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art was created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It offers images and articles on the history of art, highlighting items from the museum's collection. The timelines offer chronological outlines of art history.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is not an image database; it consists of Oxford's art reference materials as well as articles and bibliographies. However, all the images availabe in the Oxford art reference works are available through this database.
30,000 Years of Art by
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
This accessible book covers a 30,000 years of art history with descriptions and introductions to both individual artworks and art historical movements.
Masterpieces of Western Art by
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
This full-colour two-volume title contains hundreds of images of important Western artworks from gothic to contemporary. Well-researched descriptions of each artwork and artist help to place a work in context.
The Story of Art by
Publication Date: 1995-09-04
This best-selling book is used as a course text for art history courses around the world. This edition includes colour illustrations and tells the story of art as well as the discipline of art history itself.
The Art of Art History by
Publication Date: 2009-04-15
This critical anthology contains essays on important art historical topics written by academics and experts. It offers a useful overview of art history and art criticism.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
Document Delivery (DDS)
Need an article we don't own? Request through DDS!
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS e-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQs.