LibGuides: Economics (Yale-NUS College): Articles/Databases

General Databases

Academic Search Complete A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Scopus Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Includes Science Citation Index (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-).

Search for Working Papers

Working papers are pre-publication versions of academic articles, book chapters or reviews. The format allows information to be shared more quickly than published/peer-reviewed materials. Working papers are considered 'grey literature'; the term is also synonymous with 'technical report.'

CESifo Group The CESifo Group, consisting of the Center for Economic Studies (CES), the ifo Institute and the CESifo GmbH (Munich Society for the Promotion of Economic Research) is a research group unique in Europe in the area of economic research. It combines the theoretically oriented economic research of the university with the empirical work of a leading Economic research institute and places this combination in an international environment.
EconPapers The world's largest collection of on-line economics working papers, journal articles, and software via RePEc.
Federal Reserve Working Papers Compiled working papers from the 12 Federal Reserve Banks.
Federal Trade Commission Working Papers The Bureau of Economics conducts economic studies, supports antitrust and consumer protection investigations and litigation, analyzes existing and proposed consumer protection rules, and studies the competitive impact of regulations for the Commission
IDEAS The entire RePEc database
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Working Papers
NBER Working Papers The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) A decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Search for economics working papers by abstract & author, journal or topic, or JEL (Journal of Economic Literature) topic list.

Key Resources for Economics

ABI/INFORM Complete Comprehensive database of full-text journals, working papers, trade publications, and conference proceedings covering the areas of business, management, finance, accounting, economics, public administration and more. Includes ABI/Inform Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Academic Search Complete A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Premiere Covers topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
EconLit (Ovid) International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews. Updated monthly.
Google Scholar It's okay to use Google! However, for academic research, the Library recommends using Google Scholar instead. Use the Proxy bookmarklet to access articles if you hit paywalls while searching online.
PolicyFile A unique resource for U.S. public policy research. Access to timely, updated information from nearly 500 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Over 115 public policy topics are covered, from foreign policy to domestic policy.
CountryWatch Provides up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Reviews and the Country Wire. Country Reviews provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries. Country Wire provides online information updates from ten international news organizations; CountryWatch staff provides periodic data updates on the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental topics for individual countries.

All Economic Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
Comprehensive database of full-text journals, working papers, trade publications, and conference proceedings covering the areas of business, management, finance, accounting, economics, public administration and more. Includes ABI/Inform Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Premiere
Covers topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Dissertations & Theses Global (Proquest)
Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from 17th century to current day. Full text for many since 1997. Incorporates expanded access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe and China.
EconLit (Ovid)
International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews. Updated monthly.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit
Economist Intelligence Unit, consists of various EIU publications in full-text: Country Reports, Country Profiles, Country Forecasts and Country Finance of Asian countries.
Google Scholar
It's okay to use Google! However, for academic research, the Library recommends using Google Scholar instead. Use the Proxy bookmarklet to access articles if you hit paywalls while searching online.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
International Political Science Abstracts
Published bimonthly by the International Political Science Association. It provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks all over the world.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
International database for public and social policy. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, reports from organizations and from 1985 abstracts.

Periodicals Index Online
Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Project MUSE
Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, mostly from North American university presses. Older volumes are often available from JSTOR.
ProQuest Political Science
Access to article information of more than 240 leading political science and international relations journals, including full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage from 1985 to present.
Proquest Social Sciences Databases
Access to 17 ProQuest social sciences databases including,: Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS International, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Social Sciences, Proquest Political Science, Proquest Social Science Journals, Proquest Sociology, Social Service Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences from more than 625 periodicals.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers over 1700 publications in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. In addition to journal articles, this database also includes abstracts of books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.