Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data and Statistics LibGuide is a great first stop on your way to finding data and statistics for your assignments. Click on the tabs on this page to navigate among the sections of this guide to discover useful resources for research.
Need help? Ask a Librarian!
Country Profiles - EIU
The Economist Intelligence Unit
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup Poll.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities.
Passport (formerly GMID)
Hover over "Countries & Consumers" at the top menu and click "Income and Expenditure". Under "Rank Countries", select "Gini Index" and click the "Forecast" or "Historic" radio button.
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers access to selected countries. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager also provides access to the following: Daily database, Global database, India Premium database, Indonesia Premium database, China Premium database, Sector database, OECD main economic indicators, OECD economic outlook, OECD productivity, WorldTrend database. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the databases and imported into Excel for quick analysis.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database
Various China statistical yearbook online including china statistical yearbook, china city statistical yearbook, china population & employment statistics yearbook etc
Provides up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Reviews and the Country Wire. Country Reviews provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries. Country Wire provides online information updates from ten international news organizations; CountryWatch staff provides periodic data updates on the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental topics for individual countries.
CNTS Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
One-stop database of time-series datasets (both primary & secondary) for comparative social scientists. The CNTS Data Archive provides more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries.
It consists of 196 data variables used by academia, government, finance and media. Categories of data include: Area data, Computer Usage data, Domestic Conflict Event data, Economic data, Electoral data, Energy data, Highway Vehicle data, Identification data, Industrial and Labor Force data, Industrial Production data, International Status Indicators data, Legislative Process data, Mail data, Media data, Military data, National Government Revenue and Expenditure data, Phone data, Physician data, Political data, Population data, Railroad data, School Enrollment data, Telegraph data, Trade data, Urbanization data, etc.
Data Cite: find, access, reuse data
Locate, identify, and cite research data with the leading global provider of DOIs for research data.
Research Pipeline is a guide to the world's free data.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
Offers the World Bank's comprehensive database on development data, covering more than 600 indicators, 208 economies, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data is best for social type data but also good for economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Gapminder is an independent Swedish foundation with no political, religious or economic affiliations. Gapminder is a fact tank, not a think tank. Gapminder fights devastating misconceptions about global development. Gapminder produces free teaching resources making the world understandable based on reliable statistics. Gapminder promotes a fact-based worldview everyone can understand. Gapminder collaborates with universities, UN, public agencies and non-governmental organizations. All Gapminder activities are governed by the board. We do not award grants.