LibGuides: Data and Statistics (Yale-NUS College): Data by Subject

Subject

The links cover agriculture broadly defined, including not just growing crops and raising animals for food but also forestry, fishing, and other activities that involve harvesting living things for economic purposes. In addition to production, the consumption of food is covered by some of the listed sources.

(ERS) Economic Research Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture) Agricultural and food policy data for the United States.
(NASS) National Agricultural Statistics Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture) Agricultural production data for the United States.
(FAO) GIEWS Food Price Data and Analysis Tool (United Nations) Provides monthly time-series data on the prices of specific food items in specific cities, primarily in developing countries. Data is available from 1990 to present, although there is more data for more recent years.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAOSTAT)
Food Aid Information System (World Food Programme) Reports data from 1988 to present on the types and quantities of international food aid provided to various countries, the donors (countries or international organizations) who provided the food aid, and the nutritional value of that aid.
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe European forestry-related variables, typically beginning in 1990 and reported every five years.
The Little Green Data Book 2015 "The Little Green Data Book is a pocket–sized ready reference on key environmental data for over 200 countries. Key indicators are organized under the headings of agriculture, forestry, biodiversity, oceans, energy, emission and pollution, and water and sanitation. For the second year, The Little Green Data Book presents a new set of ocean-related indicators, highlighting the role of oceans in economic development."
UnctadStat (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) maintains price data on agricultural commodities in its UnctadStat This data has a longer time series than the data in the GIEWS Food Price Data and Analysis Tool (discussed above), covering 1960 to present for some commodities and some countries.

Works cited:

Bauder, Julia (2014). Reference Guide to Data Sources. Retrieved from http://www.eblib.com

ASEAN Stats Data Portal
The repository for ASEAN statistical databases. The data sources in this website are mostly from regularly updated data submitted by the ASEAN Member states.

Hoover's company records
Contains proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, such as industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials and top competitors.

Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts and its definition of armed conflict is becoming a standard in how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.
Global Conflict Risk Index
Correlates of War COW seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations. Key principles of the project include a commitment to standard scientific principles of replication, data reliability, documentation, review, and the transparency of data collection procedures.
Eurostat

Singapore

Singapore Police Force

United States

(BJS) Bureau of Justice Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice) Gathers much of its crime data via the National Crime Victimization Survey, which interviews approximately 75,000 teenagers and adults annually about a wide range of crimes—including nonviolent crimes such as identity theft—committed against themselves or their property.
(FBI), Federal Bureau of Investigation (U.S. Department of Justice) Compiled from administrative records: local police departments provide information to the FBI about the crimes reported to each department. Data from the Uniform Crime Reports is available in online publications on the FBI site most notably the longrunning annual series Crime in the United States, and in a separate interactive database
U.S. Border Patrol (U.S. Department of Homeland Security) Crime related to international borders —such as persons attempting to enter the country without the appropriate documentation, or attempts to smuggle drugs and other illegal goods—are handled by the U.S. Border Patrol.
Detriot - Crime Data

World

Office on Drugs and Crime (United Nations) United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) The focus is on violent crime, drug use, and theft and burglary; there is also data on the number of people detained, prosecuted, and convicted for any crime.
(UCR) Uniform Crime Reporting Program The FBI, in cooperation with the BJS provides this platform that allows users to build their own customized data tables from crime statisitics from law enforcement agencies across the Nation that voluntarily participate in the Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program since 1930.

War

Correlates of War Facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.
Facts on International Relations and Security Trends Contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information in areas such as: conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics, as well as chronologies.

U.S. Geological Survey (U.S. Department of the Interior)

Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial Data (U.S. Geological Survey) (U.S. Department of the Interior) The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) disseminates massive quantities of data about several aspects of earth science, both data generated by its own activities and data created by other organizations. This data is available through several different portals: Analyses of the amounts of various chemicals found in the soil, in rocks, in water, and in stream sediments for tens of thousands of locations in the United States are available in the “Geochemistry” section of the “Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial Data” site Other data sets disseminated through this site include the locations and other information about different types of mineral deposits, mines, and copper smelters in the United States and around the world as well as mining claims made on land owned by the U.S. government.
Volcano Hazards Program (U.S. Geological Survey) (U.S. Department of the Interior) Links to to each of the five separate volcano observatories. Includes everything from earthquake shakemaps and photos to research data to science fair project ideas. This website is a good place to start an earthquake information search.
Earthquake Hazards Program Data on the time, location, depth, and magnitude of earthquakes around the world.
The National Gap Analysis Program Data on land cover (the type of vegetation or manmade structures on a given piece of land), the areas where it is believed that various types of animals live, and protected land areas, with the goal of helping scientists and the general public protect important animal habitats.
EarthExplorer Data sets derived from aerial photography and satellite-based instruments. (free registration required to download data)
National Map Spatial data sets with information on land cover, natural hazards such as floods and wildfires, conservation status, and a few other topics.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Reverb tool NASA gathers and disseminates a wide range of data on all aspects of earth science—everything from sea ice to monsoons and from land cover to ocean color. Earth Observing System and associated Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS). EOSDIS data holdings are dividing among several separate data centers and “distributed active archive centers”—some of which are managed by organizations other than NASA—but the data held by these centers can be cross-searched using the Reverb Tool.

Environmental Protection Agency Data (EPA)
Hazardous waste, air and water quality, and the release of toxic chemicals into the environment is available from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

The Data Finder Topics: drinking water contaminants, hazardous waste, etc. (bulk data on a single topic).
Envirofacts Data on a wide range of environmental topics for a specific geographic area or type of facility. It allows users to generate a list of facilities meeting certain criteria.

World Resources:

World Institute for Environment and Sustainability (European Commission) Links to data portals providing access to several different types of scientific data.
Humanitarian Data Exchange The Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX) is an open platform for sharing data. The United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) manages HDX. The goal of HDX is to make humanitarian data easy to find and use for analysis. Launched in July 2014, HDX has been accessed by users in over 200 countries and territories. HDX defines humanitarian data as: 1) data about the context in which a humanitarian crisis is occurring (e.g., baseline/development data, damage assessments, geospatial data); 2) data about the people affected by the crisis and their needs; and 3) data about the response by organisations and people seeking to help those who need assistance.

General Economic Links

U.S. FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data Maintained by the Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, has more than 247,000 economic time series from 79 sources
UN Statistical Databases
As of 1 May 2007, use of the Common Database is free of charge. Produced by the United Nations Statistical Office, it provides access to hundreds of statistical series for all countries and areas of the world. Data coverage: balance of payments, financial statistics, income, consumption and wealth, and national accounts
World Bank Data Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Inter-American Development Bank (IADB)
The leading source of development financing for Latin America and the Caribbean, with a strong commitment to achieve measurable results, increased integrity, transparency and accountability.
ADB - Asian Development Bank Free online resource
Eurostat Statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (ALFRED) Economic Data Time Travel from the St. Louis Fed's Economic Research Division. ALFRED® allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time. For more information, read the help page and the presentation ALFRED: Capturing data as it happens.
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRASER) FRASER is a mixed subject and institutional repository that preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. To this end, various types of documents have been digitized, including the following: Publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Publications of District Federal Reserve Banks Statements and speeches of Federal Reserve policymakers Archival materials of Federal Reserve policymakers Economic data publications Statistical releases Congressional documents Books Reports by various organizations

Major Sources: United States
Government Finance Links

Major Sources: World

International Monetary Fund - IMF eLibrary Data The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. Further information on four of the IMF’s core databases is given below.

Major Sources: World

United Nations Educational, Social and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Energy Information Administration (U.S. Department of Energy)

Major Sources: World

United Nations Statistics Division

Statistics Singapore - Environment

Singstat - Environment

Major Sources: United States

Major Sources: World

ILO (International Labour Organization)
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.

Passport GMID [Database]
Global market information database.
Contains volume and value sales statistics for consumer, industrial and services markets across 82 countries worldwide. It also provides a wide range of data on business enterprise including consumer market sizes, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands as well as market research reports, country profiles and socio-economic statistics. It incorporates the data previously found in World Consumer Markets.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Missing Migrants Project Data
Missing Migrants Project tracks incidents involving migrants, including refugees and asylum-seekers, who have died or gone missing in the process of migration towards an international destination.

Major Sources: United States

Current Population Survey Sources for socioeconomic data on individuals and households in the United States.
Census Bureau (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)
American Community Survey (ACS)
American FactFinder

Major Sources: Singapore

SingStat Table Builder The SingStat Table Builder contains statistical data series on the Singapore economy and population that users may select to build customized data tables, export these tables in different file formats or plot graphs and charts.
SingStat

Major Sources: World National and Regional Sites

Office for National Statistics United Kingdom, a great deal of aggregate data from the Expenditure and Food Survey, Family Resources Survey, Labour Force Survey, and other household surveys.
Australian Bureau of Statistics Australia, the aggregate data from the Household Expenditure Survey and the Survey of Income and Housing.
NZ.Stat online New Zealand allows the interactive creation of tables for data from its Household Economic Survey.
World Religion database
"The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world’s religions for the period 1900 to 2050."

BBC News - Country profiles
Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
EIU Country
Unbiased, in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends, quarterly and annual statistics with at least 150 data points picked from the most reliable sources, objective and impartial coverage for more than 200 countries worldwide.
CountryWatch Provides up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Reviews and the Country Wire. Country Reviews provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries. Country Wire provides online information updates from ten international news organizations; CountryWatch staff provides periodic data updates on the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental topics for individual countries.
World Databank. World Bank Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Education Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Africa Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor and Millennium Development Goals. Includes mapping and graphing tools.
Country Studies - Library of Congress
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
World Health Organization - Country Reports
Eurostat Statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe International statistical activities Links to official statistical organizations active in the UNECE region

China Statistical Yearbooks Database
Various China statistical yearbook online including china statistical yearbook, china city statistical yearbook, china population & employment statistics yearbook etc
China Global Investment Tracker (CGIT)
From the American Enterprise Institute (AEI) The full list of outward Foreign Direct Investment from China has dollar amounts, Chinese parent company, host country, sector, etc, and is available for public use with proper citation.