War Memory in Singapore and Malaya: Japanese Sources (Yale-NUS College): Newspapers

A reputable business information resource that allows searching for timely news articles from major national and international newspapers, trade journals, and wires, including The Wall Street Journal, The Economist, Straits Times, Business Times, Channel NewsAsia and TODAY. Also contains Japanese newspapers and journals both in English and in Japanese.

Provides full text of hundreds of news sources including newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.

A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun containing 8 million articles (as of January, 2009) published from 1945 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera and Shūkan Asahi, and from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō.

A comprehensive business information and economic statistics database. It also provides full text search of newspapers, such as Nihon Keizai Shinbun, Nikkei Sangyo Shinbun, Nihon Ryutsu Shinbun MJ etc., and over twenty other Nikkei business journals. A directory of 'Who’s who of business in Japan' is also available in this database.

Wartime Japanese-controlled paper during the Occupation period. Available in microfilm format at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library.

A fortnightly version of the aforementioned Syonan Shinbun, which ran in the latter months near the end of the war.

A Chinese-medium Japanese-controlled paper during the Occupation period.

A collection of press clippings from 1957 and after, sorted by theme and curated by NUS Libraries. For more information, please refer to the following FAQ: http://libfaq.nus.edu.sg/faq/71496

NewspaperSG is an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers created by the National Library Board. You can search newspapers (including Straits Times), but can access selected full-text (e.g., Straits Times 1845-1989).
For more recent articles use Factiva (see General Newspapers).