LibGuides: Language Learning Resources (Yale-NUS College): Portuguese

Search Terms

You can use the following keywords when searching FindMore or LINC for Portuguese language resources:

Portuguese language

Portuguese language AND composition and exercises

Portuguese language AND dictionaries

Portuguese language AND grammar

Portuguese language AND preposition

Portuguese language AND readers

Portuguese language AND self-instruction

Portuguese language AND study and teaching

Portuguese language AND textbooks

Portuguese language AND verb

Portuguese language AND vocabulary

Dictionaries

The Routledge Portuguese Bilingual Dictionary [electronic resource] by Maria F. Allen
ISBN: 9780203855393
Publication Date: 2011-04-19
Thoroughly revised in 2014, this compact and up-to-date two-way dictionary provides a comprehensive and modern vocabulary. It is the ideal reference for all users of Portuguese. The dictionary includes an extensive coverage of practical terminology from a diversity of fields including; business and economics, law, medicine and information technology as well as common abbreviations, toponyms (place names), nationalities, numerous idiomatic expressions and slang.
A Frequency Dictionary of Portuguese [electronic resource] by Mark Davies; Ana Maria Raposo Preto-Bay
ISBN: 9780203937631
Publication Date: 2007-11-29
An invaluable tool for learners of Portuguese, this Frequency Dictionary provides a list of the 5000 most commonly used words in the language. Based on a twenty-million-word collection of Portuguese (taken from both Portuguese and Brazilian sources), which includes both written and spoken material, this dictionary provides detailed information for each of the 5000 entries, including the English equivalent, a sample sentence, and an indication of register and dialect variation.

Newspapers and Magazines

Online Radio Stations

Introduction

Here are some library and online resources to help you improve your writing skills.

Some things to note about this resource list:

The library and online resources are grouped by type: books, websites and other online resources.

You can also use FindMore@NUSL or LINC to search for resources. FindMore searches everything found in the NUS Libraries' catalogue plus online full-text content available from the Libraries' subscribed electronic resources while LINC only searches the NUS Libraries' catalogue. You can start your search using the keywords listed in the Search Terms box.

Still need help? Then Ask a Librarian!

Books

The following books are available at the Yale NUS College Library or at NUS branch libraries. Please click on the title of the book to access the catalogue record and check its availability.

Essential Portuguese Grammar by Alexander da R. Prista
Call Number: PC5067.3 Pri 1966
ISBN: 9780486216508
Publication Date: 1966-06-01
This logical, developmental presentation of the major aspects of Portuguese grammar includes all the necessary tools for speech and comprehension. Designed for adults with limited learning time who wish to acquire the basics of everyday Portuguese, this grammar features numerous shortcuts and timesavers. Ideal as an introduction, supplement, or refresher.
Talking Brazilian by Mario A. Perini
Call Number: PC5444 Per 2004
ISBN: 0300100213
Publication Date: 2003-10-11
Talking Brazilian is a complete course in the pronunciation of Brazilian Portuguese, especially designed with the needs of English-speaking students in mind. The book with its two companion CDs includes explanations of all sounds of Portuguese. Talking Brazilian can be used independently by students seeking to improve their pronunciation skills.
Bom Dia, Brasil by Marta Almeida (Revised by); Elizabeth Jackson (Revised by); Rejane de Oliveira Slade
Call Number: PC5067.3 Sla 2012
ISBN: 9780300116311
Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Bom Dia, Brasil is a completely revised and updated edition of the popular beginning Portuguese text Português Básico para Estrangeiros. It aims to teach the Portuguese language in a fast, interesting, and efficient way. The method employed engages students' interest by exploring personal, social, professional, and cultural topics.
Pois Não by Antônio Roberto Monteiro Simões
Call Number: PC5067.3 Sim 2008
ISBN: 9780292717817
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Spanish speakers can learn Brazilian Portuguese much more rapidly than any other language, and thousands of students have used Antônio Simões's text/workbook Com licença: Brazilian Portuguese for Spanish Speakers to make the transition between the two languages. Users of the book may focus on the drills alone, concentrate on both the explanations and drills, or use the book as a reference for consultation only.
A dictionary of Kristang : (Malacca Creole Portuguese) with an English-Kristang finderlist by Alan N. Baxter and Patrick de Silva.
Call Number: PL5001 Pl 564 2004
ISBN: 9780858835528
Publication Date: 2004

Websites and Other Online Resources

News in Slow Brazilian Portuguese
A 'virtual immersion' subscription tool that allows for language learning through current events.
BBC Languages - Portuguese
An online language learning resource from the BBC.
WordReference.com
The purpose of this website is to in an effort to provide free online bilingual dictionaries and tools to the world.