LibGuides: Economics: News, magazines and web sources

News and magazines

Factiva`
Full-text news articles and business information including market research, investment analyst reports and stock quotes from global news agencies. Newswires include Dow Jones, Reuters, Associated Press, Asia Pulse, and over 120 other continuously updating industry, press release and local newswires.`
NewspapersSG
NewspapersSG iis an online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya Newspapers created by the National Library Board. You can search newspapers (including Straits Times), but can access only selected full-text (Straits Times 1845-1989). For searches for newer articles use Factiva (above).
Asia-studies full-text online
Asia-Studies Full-text Online is a very useful database for the study of modern Asia-Pacific. It brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, The (1851-2010) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is the successor of LexisNexis Academic. It provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The broad news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.

Web sources

Organisational

If you can identify organisations that produce and publish the statistics that you need, you can do a direct online search for those organisations.

These organisations can include government agencies, intergovernmental organisations (IGOs), non-governmental organisations (NGOs), research institutions, industry organisations, and so on.

You can do a URL search using Google advanced search syntax site for abbreviations like org, gov, edu (example: site:org.sg rental)

Below are also 2 custom Google search engines to search for IGOs and NGOs.

Inter-Governmental Organizations Search This unique free service brought to you by the Union of International Associations (UIA) allows you to search the websites of all intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), comprising over 3000 bodies including the United Nations, the European Commission, the World Bank, etc.
Non-governmental Organizations Search This is a google custom search engine by the Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT) of the American Library Association (ALA) that searches across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on various criteria and lists including those listed on the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).