LibGuides: Medicine: Databases/Journals

Databases

Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
A repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. Continuously expanding, all databases in the repository contain the latest editions of selected medical titles.

AccessMedicine™ (AM) is an online database of more than 60 medical textbooks published by McGraw-Hill. A number of these titles are in the Medical / Science Library RBR (recommended readings) collection, e.g. Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology, and others. AM also includes CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment series, Lange Case Files (real-life cases), and USMLE Self-assessment tool.

AM's updated content on wide range of topics from basic sciences, internal medicine, surgery, pharmacy, ethics, with thousands of images, illustrations and videos, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools and a comprehensive search platform makes it one of the first database to access for students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals. Updated continuously.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical information resource for point-of-care. It contains a wealth of information, from historical background to treatment recommendations. Within a topic or a clinical condition, there are links to pictures, graphics, drug information and other related topics. You can also search for drug information as Lexi-Comp and Lexi-Interact Online (drug resources) have been incorporated into UpToDate. Mobile version is available.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
It is a search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge. It provides full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and continuing medical education (CME) materials.
ClinicalKey Student This link opens in a new window
It is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals.

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support practice and/or care. You can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A library of 7 databases providing information on effectiveness of health care interventions (prevention, treament or rehabilitation) to enable physicians, patients and health care service providers to make evidence-based decisions. Updated monthly. The main database is Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane reviews). Each Cochrane review is a full-text systematic review of existing primary research to establish whether or not there is conclusive evidence about the effectiveness of an intervention. (A review in progress is called "protocol" in the database). For information on effectiveness of healthcare interventions, it is advisable to search in The Cochrane Library before searching in PubMed.

Pubmed

Pubmed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 26 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
Guides for searching PubMed:
- PubMed Online Training

Embase
Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data — supported by Emtree — helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Especially useful for Systematic Reviews.

Medline (Ovid)

Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by ProQuest and Ovid. Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.

Micromedex Solutions This link opens in a new window
Micromedex Solutions is updated daily. NUS Libraries' subscription provides access to the complete DRUGDEX, Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference and 2 mobile applications: Drug Reference and Drug Interactions. DRUGDEX consists comprehensive drug resource with fully referenced, unbiased content covering dosage, pharmacokinetics, precautions, interactions, comparative efficacy, labeled and off-label indications and clinical applications. Spans FDA, European Medicines Agency (EMA) and Health Canada - approved and non-prescription preparations. Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference delivers concise, authoritative information and unique international coverage of drugs in clinical use, investigational and herbal drugs, diagnostic agents, pesticides, coloring agents, preservatives and noxious substances.

Our subscription to Micromedex Healthcare Series provides access to 2 subdatabases: the DRUGDEX System and MARTINDALE: The Complete Drug Reference.They provide extensive infromation on drugs and related substances including investigational drugs, herbal medicines, radiopharmaceuticals, contrast media and diagnostic agents, medicinal gases, drugs of abuse and recreational drugs, toxic substances, disinfectants, and pesticides. It links point-form overview of diseases with drugs used in their treatment, along with key references.

PsycINFO
Provides abstracts and references to articles in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry and sociology. Includes dissertations, book chapters covering empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, and conference reports.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. In addition to full text for top nursing and allied health journals, it also provides full text for journals in other disciplines including biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and more.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing 69 million records of both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With nearly 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

W eb of Science
Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

Medicine: Databases/Journals

Databases

Top 10 medicine journal from JCR 2023