Nursing and Allied Health: Journals & Databases

• Medline (Ovid)

  Alternative access to search Medline (sub-set of PubMed). Provided by Ovid. Medline is a Biomedical literature database covering the fields of medicine, dentistry, nursing and health care system.

   

• Embase
  Embase is a crucial resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data — supported by Emtree — helps retrieve precise answers to search queries. Especially useful for Systematic Reviews.

• PsycINFO

  Provides abstracts and references to articles in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry and sociology. Includes dissertations, book chapters covering empirical studies, case studies, surveys, bibliographies, literature reviews, discussion articles, and conference reports.

   

• Pubmed

   

   

  Pubmed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 28 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.

  Guides for searching PubMed available at: PubMed Tutorial (The Publisher)

• Web of Science

  Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.

• Scopus 

  Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and.the arts and humanities. In many ways similar to Web of Science, Scopus is very useful for interdisciplinary search.

• Cochrane Library  

A library of 7 databases providing information on effectiveness of health care interventions (prevention, treament or rehabilitation) to enable physicians, patients and health care service providers to make evidence-based decisions. Updated monthly. The main database is Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane reviews). Each Cochrane review is a full-text systematic review of existing primary research to establish whether or not there is conclusive evidence about the effectiveness of an intervention. (A review in progress is called "protocol" in the database). For information on effectiveness of healthcare interventions, it is advisable to search in The Cochrane Library before searching in PubMed.

• UpToDate

  UpToDate covers over 8,500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes more than 97,000 pages of text, plus graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 385,000 references and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update our content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months.
  
  Lexi-Comp and Lexi Interact are included in NUS subscription.