LibGuides: Physics: Databases

Key Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
The content in IEEE Xplore comprises:
• 195+ journals
• 1,800+ conference proceedings
• 6,200+ technical standards
• Approximately 2,400 eBooks
• 425+ educational courses
Approximately 20,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspec was created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic scientific engineering research databases, containing over 15 million abstracts and indexing records. Researchers at the world's top universities have relied on the Inspec engineering research database as a trusted source for relevant, peer reviewed scientific content for over 40 years.
IOPscience platform This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 70 IOP journals with complete archive dating back more than 130 years and Physics World archive.
Physical Review Online Archive This link opens in a new window
From the American Physical Society, this contains nearly complete electronic copies of Physical Review Journals from their initial volumes. The database coverage is from 1893 to present.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 12.8 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.

Scitation Publications This link opens in a new window
With Scitation, NUS Libraries subscribes to the American Institute of Physics (AIP) Complete E-journal Collection (with Extended Backfiles), including AIP Conference Proceedings and selected e-journal titles from its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 450,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
An online resource for evaluated physical & chemical data in Materials Science. SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series. Guide from Publisher: SpringerMaterials User Guide

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals in sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It contains references cited by authors, so you can find articles that cite a previously published work.
Consists of five databases:
1) Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-Expanded, 1899-present)
2) Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI, 1898-present)
3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI, 1975-present)
4) Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (1990-present)
5) Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (1990-present).
6) Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S)
7) Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
Guides & training materials from Publisher: Web of Science Help | About Web of Science databases | Training
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature, including Arts & Humanities. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources with links to full text for some records. Provides access to "Article-in-Press" from over 5,000 journals. Its "View Citation Overview" allows the tracking of citation data year by year. Guides from Publisher: Scopus in Detail | Getting Started with Scopus | Scopus Interactive Tutorials | Scopus Help
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier's full-text platform to Science, Technical and Medical publications which include articles from journals, reference works, handbooks and book series.

Academic Search Complete
From EBSCO Publishing, this multi-disciplinary full-text database comes with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
The JSTOR archival collections feature the back issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across 60 disciplines. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available.

arXiv.org
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Some of these articles may not be peer reviewed. Guide from Publisher: arXiv Help Contents
INSPIRE-HEP
High-energy Physics literature database maintained by CERN, DESY, Fermilab, and SLAC.
CERN Document Server
Particle physics articles, preprints, books, proceedings papers, etc from CERN (European Organisation for Nuclear Research).

Elsevier Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Articles published in Elsevier open access journals are peer reviewed and are free to access and download from ScienceDirect.

Directory of Open Access Journals
A free online directory that indexes and provides full-text access to quality open access, peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
Springer Nature Open Access Journals
Springer Nature have published over 124,000 open access articles via Gold open access across disciplines.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
PLOS is a non-profit publisher that produces peer-reviewed journals in science and medicine. It advocates open access, applying the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license to their works.
J-STAGE This link opens in a new window
J-STAGE is an open access system which supports science and technology information-related electronic journal release in Japan. Powered by the Japan Link Center(JaLC), research papers released on J-STAGE are linked to papers on various worldwide scholarly information services via PubMed, CAS Full Text Options, NASA ADS, MathSciNet, and CrossRef. Cross search services are also available with search engines or services such as Google, SciVerse Scopus, ProQuest, etc.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas.
Wiley Open Access This link opens in a new window
Wiley Open Access publishes authoritative peer reviewed open access journals across many research disciplines, such as biological, chemical and health sciences. These open access journals are supported by a network of authoritative journals and societies as well as internationally renowned editorial board members. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share.
Hindawi Publishing Open Access This link opens in a new window
Hindawi publishes 438 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of Science, Technology, and Medicine, as well as several areas of Social Sciences.

Patsnap
A comprehensive collection of worldwide patents. It comprises the full US, EP, WIPO/PCT and China patent databases and contents are updated weekly. The patent management and analysis tools are easy to use. Data sets and analyses can be viewed in various ways and exported in numerous formats for reports.
Canadian Patents Database
This database lets you access 152 years of patent descriptions and images. More than 2,460,000 patent documents are available for searching, retrieving and studying.
Espacenet
Europe's network of patent databases, provided by the European Patent Office. Espacenet offers free access to more than 130 million patent documents worldwide.
IP2SG (IPOS)
This online searching services encompass Patents, Trademarks and Designs for applications filed with the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS).
Patent Public Search [United States Patent and Trademark Office]
This service is maintained by United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Ipsum - Online Patent Information and Document Inspection Service (United Kingdom)
This online service allows you to check the patent status and access information on UK patent applications.
Patents Publication Enquiry (United Kingdom)
The Patents Publication Enquiry Service covers all UK's applications published and granted after 3 January 2007 and all UK corrected documents published after 1 April 2010. You can access electronic copies of the majority of UK applications published prior to 3 January 2007 and UK patents granted after June 2002 through Espacenet's advanced patent search.

AIP Conference Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Reports findings presented at important scientific meetings around the world. Published proceedings are valuable as topical status reports and they provide quick access to information before it appears in the traditional journal literature.
AIP Conference Proceedings contain over 100,000 articles published in 1,700+ proceedings, and is growing by 100 volumes every year.