You can refer to the following websites for useful information about academic report writing:
Below are some library resources about report writing in the sciences, ranging from science dissertations to scientific research articles.
The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Writing by
Solidly grounded in current theory and research, yet eminently practical and teachable,The Allyn & Bacon Guide to Writing has set the standard for first-year composition courses in writing, reading, critical thinking, and inquiry.
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science by
For more than a decade, The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science has been the go-to reference for anyone who needs to write or speak about their research. Whether a student writing a thesis, a faculty member composing a grant proposal, or a public information officer crafting a press release, Scott Montgomery's advice is perfectly adaptable to any scientific writer's needs. This new edition has been thoroughly revised to address crucial issues in the changing landscape of scientific communication, with an increased focus on those writers working in corporate settings, government, and nonprofit organizations as well as academia. Half a dozen new chapters tackle the evolving needs and paths of scientific writers. These sections address plagiarism and fraud, writing graduate theses, translating scientific material, communicating science to the public, and the increasing globalization of research. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science recognizes that writers come to the table with different needs and audiences. Through solid examples and concrete advice, Montgomery sets out to help scientists develop their own voice and become stronger communicators. He also teaches readers to think about their work in the larger context of communication about science, addressing the roles of media and the public in scientific attitudes as well as offering advice for those whose research concerns controversial issues such as climate change or emerging viruses. More than ever, communicators need to be able to move seamlessly among platforms and styles. The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science's comprehensive coverage means that scientists and researchers will be able to expertly connect with their audiences, no matter the medium.
The Craft of Scientific Communication by
The ability to communicate in print and person is essential to the life of a successful scientist. But since writing is often secondary in scientific education and teaching, there remains a significant need for guides that teach scientists how best to convey their research to general and professional audiences. The Craft of Scientific Communication will teach science students and scientists alike how to improve the clarity, cogency, and communicative power of their words and images. In this remarkable guide, Joseph E. Harmon and Alan G. Gross have combined their many years of experience in the art of science writing to analyze published examples of how the best scientists communicate. Organized topically with information on the structural elements and the style of scientific communications, each chapter draws on models of past successes and failures to show students and practitioners how best to negotiate the world of print, online publication, and oral presentation.
An editor's guide to writing and publishing science by
This contemporary guide is packed full of expert tips and suggestions which will make the reader think in a fresh, creative, and novel way about writing and publishing science.
English for Scientific Research by
This is a practical guide and reference book for those who need some clear guidelines and models for writing academic articles in English. The models used are of scientific texts but the language points and structures are applicable to all empirical research.
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by
This book is a step by step illustrated guide to planning and writing dissertations and theses for undergraduate and graduate science students. Topics covered include advice on writing each section of a thesis as well as general discussions on collecting and organizing references, keeping records, presenting data, interacting with a supervisor and avoiding academic misconduct. Recommendations about how to use word processors and other software packages effectively are included, as well as advice on the use of other resources. A concise summary of important points of English grammar is given, along with appendices listing frequently confused words and wordy phrases to avoid. Further appendices are provided, including one on SI units. The aim is to provide an easy-to-read guide that gives students practical advice about all aspects of writing a science thesis or dissertation, starting from writing a thesis plan and finishing with the viva and corrections to the thesis.
Real Science in Clear English [electronic resource] : a Guide to Scientific Writing for the Global Market. by Research Writing : a Workbook for Graduate Students by Science Research Writing for Non-Native Speakers of English by
This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English. Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used. Sample Chapter(s). Introduction: How to Use This Book (63 KB). Unit 1: How to Write an Introduction (301 KB). Contents: Introduction: How to Use This Book; How to Write an Introduction; Writing about Methodology; Writing about Results; Writing the Discussion/Conclusion; Writing the Abstract; Appendices. Readership: Non-native and overseas science, engineering, technology and medical professionals including graduate students, academics, researchers or industrial scientists interested in publishing in English science journals; English language professionals at universities and colleges worldwide (including English-speaking countries) who provide writing support to students and staff whose first language is not English.
Scientific English by
English language has a vocabulary of upwards of 500,000 words, it only uses nine parts of speech, and all of these words fall into one (or more) of those nine categories. This title contains many simple revelations like this that make effective scientific writing in English easy, even for those whose fluency is in another language.
Scientific Papers and Presentations by
Electronic publishing and electronic means of text and data presentation have changed enormously since the first edition of this book was published in 1997. The third edition of Scientific Papers and Presentations applies traditional principles to today's modern techniques and the changing needs of up-and-coming academia. Topics include designing visual aids, writing first drafts, reviewing and revising, communicating clearly and concisely, adhering to stylistic principles, presenting data in tables and figures, dealing with ethical and legal issues, and relating science to the lay audience. This successful legacy title is an essential guide to professional communication; it provides a wealth of information and detail and is a useful guide. Covers all aspects of communication for early scientists from research to thesis to presentations. Discusses how to use multi-media effectively in presentations and communication Includes an extensive appendices section with detailed examples for further guidance.
Scientific Writing and Communication by
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations, Third Edition, covers all the areas of scientific communication that a scientist needs to know and master in order to successfully promote his or her research and career. This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with adiscussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Writing in the Sciences by
A rhetorical, multi-disciplinary guide, Writing in the Sciences discusses the major genres of science writing including research reports, grant proposals, conference presentations, and a variety of forms of public communication. Multiple samples from real research cases illustrate a range of scientific disciplines and audiences for scientific research along with the corresponding differences in focus, arrangement, style, and other rhetorical dimensions. Comparisons among disciplines provide the opportunity for students to identify common conventions in science and investigate variation across fields.
Writing Research Papers : a Complete Guide by
The definitive research paper guide, Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on electronic research and presentation. This market-leading text provides students with step-by-step guidance through the research writing process, from selecting and narrowing a topic to formatting the finished document. Writing Research Papers backs up its instruction with the most complete array of samples of any writing guide of this nature. The text continues its extremely thorough and accurate coverage of citation styles for a wide variety of disciplines. The fourteenth edition maintains Lester's successful approach while bringing new writing and documentation updates to assist the student researcher in keeping pace with electronic sources.
Writing Science in Plain English by
Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The author, a biologist and an experienced teacher of scientific writing, illustrates each principle with real-life examples of both good and bad writing and shows how to revise bad writing to make it clearer and more concise.nbsp;She ends each chapter with practice exercises so that readers can come away with new writing skills after just one sitting. Writing Science in Plain English can help writers at all levels of their academic and professional careers; undergraduate students working on research reports, established scientists writing articles and grant proposals, or agency employees working to follow the Plain Writing Act. This essential resource is the perfect companion for all who seek to write science effectively.
Writing Scientific Research Articles by
This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear ?story? construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book's principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au
The following online resources will provide useful tips on delivering successful presentations:
The following library resources will be useful on learning how to communicate and present effectively as a scientist.
Crackle and Fizz: essential communication and pitching skills for scientists by
This is a book for scientists and other experts who need to explain the significance and potential of their work to colleagues, committees, funding bodies or the general public. It details how to harness story-telling principles to make complex or technical content easier to communicate and fulfilling for audiences. Eight narrative ingredients, Audience, Change and Affect, Lure, World, Character, Big Hook, Plot and Structure, are illustrated with examples and exercises to demonstrate how to build a presentation, how to pitch for funds or resources, how to make a persuasive argument, or simply how to explain ideas so they CRACKLE and FIZZ for the Audience.
The Craft of Scientific Presentations by
The Craft of Scientific Presentations, 2nd edition aims to strengthen you as a presenter of science and engineering. The book does so by identifying what makes excellent presenters such as Brian Cox, Jane Goodall, Richard Feynman, and Jill Bolte Taylor so strong. In addition, the book explains what causes so many scientific presentations to flounder. One of the most valuable contributions of this text is that it teaches the assertion-evidence approach to scientific presentations. Instead of building presentations, as most engineers and scientists do, on the weak foundation of topic phrases and bulleted lists, this assertion-evidence approach calls for building presentations on succinct message assertions supported by visual evidence. Unlike the commonly followed topic-subtopic approach that PowerPoint leads presenters to use, the assertion-evidence approach is solidly grounded in research. By showing the differences between strong and weak presentations, by identifying the errors that scientific presenters typically make, and by teaching a much more powerful approach for scientific presentations than what is commonly practiced, this book places you in a position to elevate your presentations to a high level. In essence, this book aims to have you not just succeed in your scientific presentations, but excel. About the Author Michael Alley has taught workshops on presentations to engineers and scientists on five continents, and has recently been invited to speak at the European Space Organization, Harvard Medical School, MIT, Sandia National Labs, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Simula Research Laboratory, and United Technologies. An Associate Professor of engineering communication at Pennsylvania State University, Alley is a leading researcher on the effectiveness of different designs for presentation slides.
Dazzle 'Em with Style by
Mastering the art of communicating scientific information is more critical than ever for a successful career in science and technology. Scientists today must be able to effectively convey sophisticated information to a broad audience that may include students, colleagues around the world, regulatory bodies, granting agencies, legislators, and the lay public. In this engaging and lively book, the author provides a step-by-step guide to the complete process of making a scientific presentation from preparation to delivery. It offers numerous examples highlighting what to follow and what to avoid. This revised edition covers the effective use of PowerPoint and other computer-based presentation programs. It also includes a handy checklist, new illustrations, and tips on handling an audience in a foreign country.
Designing Science Presentations by
Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication. Most scientists never receive formal training in the creation, delivery, and evaluation of such material, yet it is essential for publishing in high-quality journals, soliciting funding, attracting lab personnel, and advancing a career. This clear, readable volume fills that gap and provides visually intensive guidance at every step--from the construction of original figures to the presentation and delivery of those figures in papers, slideshows, posters, and websites. It provides pragmatic advice on the preparation and delivery of exceptional scientific presentations; demonstrates hundreds of visually striking presentation techniques, giving readers inspiration for creating their own; and is structured so that readers can easily find answers to particular questions. Clear heading for each section indicates its message, highlighted with graphic illustrations. Two summary paragraphs that complement the visual images and clearly discuss the main point. Numerous examples of high-quality figures, page layouts, slides, posters, and web pages to help stimulate readers' ideas for their own presentations. Numerous "before and after" examples to illustrate the contrast between poor and outstanding presentations.
Don't Be Such a Scientist : Talking Substance in an Age of Style by
When Randy Olson first described his life-changing encounter with an acting teacher in Don't Be Such a Scientist, it seemed like the world of science was on the cusp of gaining new respect in the public eye. Through his writing, speaking, and films, Olson challenged scientists to toss out jargon in favor of a more human approach, bringing Hollywood lessons to the scientific community. Yet today, in everything from government funding cuts to climate change denial, science is under attack. And while communicating science is more crucial than ever, the scientific community still struggles to connect with everyday people. The time is right for a new edition of Olson's revolutionary work. In Don't Be Such a Scientist, Second Edition, Olson renews his call for communication that stays true to the facts while tapping into something more primordial, more irrational, and ultimately more human. In more than 50 pages of new material, Olson brings his pioneering message to this new age, providing tools for speaking out in anti-science era and squaring off against members of the scientific establishment who resist needed change. Don't Be Such a Scientist, Second Edition is a cutting and irreverent manual to making your voice heard in an age of attacks on science. Invaluable for anyone looking to break out of the boxes of academia or research, Olson's writing will inspire readers to "make science human"--and to enjoy the ride along the way.
Explaining Research: How to Reach Key Audiences to Advance Your Work by
Explaining Research is the first comprehensive communications guidebook for scientists, engineers, and physicians. Drawing on knowledge gleaned from a forty-year career in research communications, Dennis Meredith maps out how scientists can utilize sophisticated tools and techniques to disseminate their discoveries to important audiences. He explains how to use websites, blogs, videos, webinars, old-fashioned lectures, news releases, and lay-level articles to reach key audiences, emphasizing along the way that a strong understanding of the audience in question will allow a more effective communication tailored to a unique background and set of needs. In addition to drawing on the experience of the author, the book also includes excerpts from interviews with 45 of the country's leading science communications experts, including academics, authors, journalists, and public information officers. As the "information age" places new demands on scientists, Explaining Research will be a valuable resource not only for current professional scientists, but also for students who are the voice of the science community's next generation. This authoritative guide shows how to: Develop a "strategy of synergy" that makes research communication efficient and effective. Give compelling talks. Build a professional Web site. Create quality posters, photos, animations, videos, e-newsletters, blogs, podcasts, and Webinars. Write popular articles and books. Persuade donors, administrators and other key funding decision-makers. Produce news releases that attract media coverage. Give clear media interviews. Serve as a public educator in schools and science centers.
Listen. Write. Present by
Even the best ideas have little value if they are not explained clearly, concisely, and convincingly to others. Scientists, engineers, health care professionals, and technology specialists become leaders in their fields not just by way of discovery, but by communication. In this essential book, two seasoned communication consultants offer specific, focused advice to help professionals develop, improve, and polish their interpersonal communication, writing, and presentation skills. The authors explain exactly how to manage multiple projects and interactions, collaborate with colleagues and others, gain support for ideas through presentations and proposals, and much more.
Oral Communication Excellence for Engineers and Scientists by
Many of us have implemented oral communication instruction in our design courses, lab courses, and other courses where students give presentations. Others have students give presentations without instruction on how to become a better presenter. Many of us, then, could use a concise book that guides us on what instruction on oral communication should include, based on input from executives from different settings. This instruction will help our students get jobs and make them more likely to move up the career ladder, especially in these hard economic times. Oral Communication Excellence for Engineers and Scientists: Based on Executive Input is the tool we need. It is based on input from over 75 executives with engineering or science degrees, leading organizations that employ engineers and scientists. For the presentation chapter, the executives described what makes a "stellar presentation." And for every other chapter, they gave input--on, for example, how to effectively communicate in meetings and in teams, how to excel at phone communication, how to communicate electronically to supplement oral communication, and how to meet the challenges of oral communication. They also provided tips on cross-cultural communication, listening, choosing the appropriate medium for a communication, elevator pitches, and posters; and using oral communication to network on the job. Oral Communication Excellence for Engineers and Scientists includes exercises and activities for students and professionals, based on instruction that has improved Georgia Tech's students' presentation skills at a statistically significant level. Slides demonstrating best practices are included from Capstone Design students around the country. Table of Contents: Introduction / Background Preparation / Presentation: Customizing to your Audience / Presentation: Telling your Story / Presentation: Displaying Key Information / Delivering the Presentation / Other Oral Communication Skills / Advanced Oral Communication Skills / References
Presentation Skills for Scientists : the Slide Master by
This book provides concise and effective tips spanning all relevant areas to deliver engaging scientific presentations. Readers will strengthen their skills in preparing, practicing and delivering presentations at both physical and virtual conferences and seminars. Best practices for structuring presentations and elements to include and those to exclude such as detailed sections on the use of videos, animations and tables are included. Common errors often seen in scientific presentations are highlighted along with tips on how to interact with audiences and keep them engaged. This will be a valuable resource for scientists in all areas of chemistry and materials science as well as engineers who wish to elevate their scientific presentations.
Presenting Science : a Practical Guide to Giving a Good Talk by
In this title the reader is taken through the process of preparing and presenting science to a wide variety of audiences, from a handful of colleagues to a major conference with a thousand delegates. It focuses on the goal of communicating to the audience, the speaker's responsibility and the structure of a presentation.
Successful Science Communication : Telling It Like It Is by
In the 25 years since the 'Bodmer Report' kick-started the public understanding of science movement, there has been something of a revolution in science communication. However, despite the ever-growing demands of the public, policy-makers and the media, many scientists still find it difficult to successfully explain and publicise their activities or to understand and respond to people's hopes and concerns about their work. Bringing together experienced and successful science communicators from across the academic, commercial and media worlds, this practical guide fills this gap to provide a one-stop resource covering science communication in its many different forms. The chapters provide vital background knowledge and inspiring ideas for how to deal with different situations and interest groups. Entertaining personal accounts of projects ranging from podcasts, to science festivals, to student-run societies give working examples of how scientists can engage with their audiences and demonstrate the key ingredients in successful science communication.
Technical Presentation Workbook : Winning Strategies for Effective Public Speaking by
This fully revised third edition includes an entirely new chapter devoted to online presentations. This Workbook also includes updated material on interactive training and questioning, as well as extensive coverage of electronic presentations. Packed with tips, ideas, and examples, this book consists of proven step-by-step approaches to planning and delivering effective technical presentations. Includes information on how to: gear presentations to engineering meetings, briefings, conferences, and training sessions; zero in on a presentation's topic and purpose; analyze the audience; arrange the room to boost effectiveness; and know your support media options. The Workbook's easy-to-follow worksheets, exercises, and checklists present the fundamental skills and advanced techniques that will help make every presentation successful. Best of all, the Workbook format allows the reader to work through each chapter or to jump directly to a specific skill.
When the Scientist Presents : : an Audio and Video guide to Science Talks by
This book looks at the presenting scientist from a novel angle: The presenter-host. When scientists give a talk, The audience ("guests") expects the title of the talk to determine presentation content, they require understandable slides, and they demand visible and audible scientific authority. To each expectation corresponds a set of skills: personal (voice, host qualities, time control), technical (presentation tools and slide design), and scientific (Q & A, slide content). The author takes an original human factor view of the presentation delivery, In which the audience is easily distracted, rapidly forgetful, and increasingly impatient. Thus, insightful pointers are given on how to deliver the talk, how to craft the slides, and how to prevent the computer from rendering the presenting host-scientist into a "ghost". In addition, The book goes in-depth over the treatment of questions by examining the motives and style of the questioners, and advising on how best to answer to each type of questioner. The book comes with a DVD for audio and video examples, and includes essential PowerPoint and Keynote techniques that a presenter cannot live without.
Bibliographic software can help you to manage, organise and cite your reference sources during research. NUS Libraries offers a LibGuide on how to install and use EndNote, a bibliographic software subscribed by NUS.
For research purposes, it is also good to be aware of other bibliographic software in the market, such as Mendeley, Zotero and JabRef.
Below are some library and online resources about citing your research sources and bibliographic software for further research:
Cite Right: a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more by
Thousands of students have turned to veteran teacher Charles Lipson for no-nonsense advice on how to cite sources properly and avoid plagiarism when writing their research papers. This new edition of Cite Right, the popular overview of all major systems of citation, has been updated to reflect the most current versions of Chicago, MLA, APA, and other styles, and to discuss citation methods in the rapidly changing context of the Internet, digital publishing, and e-books. Best of all, it's very easy to use. Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations and to present them accurately in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work: Chicago; MLA; APA; AAA (anthropology and ethnography); CSE (biological sciences); AMA (medical sciences); ACS (chemistry); physics, astrophysics, and astronomy; and mathematics, computer science, and engineering. New sections have been added on IEEE and ASCE styles, often used in engineering. Each style is presented simply and clearly with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines, from the arts and humanities to the sciences and medicine. The second edition has also been updated to include a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media. Based on deep experience in the academic trenches, this thoroughly revised edition is intended to appeal to anyone: student, professional, or academic who needs an efficient, authoritative guide for citing sources across a wide range of disciplines.
How to cite, reference & avoid plagiarism at university by 
Doing Honest Work in College : How to Prepare Citations, Avoid Plagiarism, and Achieve Real Academic Success by
Doing Honest Work in College stands on three principles: do the work you say you do, give others credit, and present your research fairly. These are straightforward concepts, but the abundance of questionable online sources and temptation of a quick copy-paste can cause confusion as to what's considered citing and what's considered cheating. This guide starts out by clearly defining plagiarism and other forms of academic dishonesty and then gives students the tools they need to avoid those pitfalls. This edition addresses the acceptable use of mobile devices on tests, the proper approach to sources such as podcasts or social media posts, and the limitations of citation management software.
The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagarism by
Why is there so much emphasis on citing sources in some written work? How can I be sure I am referencing sources correctly? What is plagiarism and how do I avoid it? There is a great deal of emphasis on accurate referencing in written work for university students, and those writing for professional purposes, but little information on the when, the why, as well as the how of referencing. This book fills that gap, giving clear guidelines on how to correctly cite from external sources, what constitutes plagiarism, and how it can be avoided. A unique feature of the book is the comparisons it makes between different referencing styles - such as Harvard, APA, MLA and Numerical referencing styles - which are shown side-by-side. This provides a useful guide, for students as they progress through higher education, and particularly for those on combined studies courses - who may be expected to use two, and sometimes three, different referencing styles. Other special features in the book include: Essays demonstrating referencing in action. Exercises on when to reference, and on what is, and what is not, plagiarism. A Frequently Asked Questions section on the referencing issues that most often puzzle people. A detailed guide to referencing electronic sources, and advice on how to choose reliable Internet sites. A Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism is essential reading for all students and professionals who need to use referencing to accurately reflect the work of others and avoid plagiarism.
Mendeley : crowd-sourced reference and citation management in the infomation era by 
Zotero : a guide for librarians, researchers, and educators by The following library resources can be referred to for citation style guides during your research.
ACS Guide to Scholarly CommunicationAIP Style Manual by 
Scientific Style and Format by For more information about citation styles, you can visit the following LibGuide:
Below are some library resources about LaTeX, a typesetting system with special features that are designed for the production of technical and scientific documentation. LaTeX is available as a free software at http://www.latex-project.org/
Digital Typography Using LaTeX by
Using clear and concise language this book introduces new users to the use of the TeX system, in particular document preparation using LaTeX. It avoids the pitfalls of having to search through several advanced books on the subject, by collecting together the more frequently required tools and presenting these in a single accessible volume. It also describes the recent developments in multilingual typesetting using TeX that now make it straightforward for users to prepare documents in their own language and alphabet, giving the book a global readership. Topics include: multi-lingual uses of LaTeX; discussion of hardware implementations; use and misuse of particular LaTeX commands; and many others.
First Steps in LaTeX by
First Steps in YI'EX is for the mathematician, physicist, engineer, scientist, or technical typist who needs to quickly learn how to write and typeset articles con taining mathematical formulas. A quick introduction to E\TE)C and the AMS enhancements is provided so that you will be ready to prepare your first article (such as the sample articles on pages 53-54 and 67-69) in only a few hours. Specific topics can be found in the table of contents, the Quick Finder, or the index. While the index is Jt.TEX -oriented, the Quick Finder lists the main topics using terminology common to wordprocessing applications. For example, to find out how to italicize text, look under italics in the Quick Finder. Setting the stage Watch someone type a mathematical article in I!lfE)C. You will see how to * Type the document using a text editor to create a Jt.TE)C source file.
Guide to LaTeX by
Published Nov 25, 2003 by Addison-Wesley Professional. Part of the Tools and Techniques for Computer Typesetting series. The series editor may be contacted atfrank.mittelbach@latex-project.org. LaTeX is the text-preparation system of choice for scientists and academics, and is especially useful for typesetting technical materials. This popular book shows you how to begin using LaTeX to create high-quality documents. The book also serves as a handy reference for all LaTeX users. In this completely revised edition, the authors cover the LaTeX standard and offer more details, examples, exercises, tips, and tricks. They go beyond the core installation to describe the key contributed packages that have become essential to LaTeX processing. Inside, you will find: Complete coverage of LaTeX fundamentals, including how to input text, symbols, and mathematics; how to produce lists and tables; how to include graphics and color; and how to organize and customize documents Discussion of more advanced concepts such as bibliographical databases and BIBTeX, math extensions with AMS-LaTeX, drawing, slides, and letters Helpful appendices on installation, error messages, creating packages, using LaTeX with HTML and XML, and fonts An extensive alphabetized listing of commands and their uses New to this edition: More emphasis on LaTeX as a markup language that separates content and form--consistent with the essence of XML Detailed discussions of contributed packages alongside relevant standard topics In-depth information on PDF output, including extensive coverage of how to use the hyperref package to create links, bookmarks, and active buttons As did the three best-selling editions that preceded it, Guide to LaTeX, Fourth Edition, will prove indispensable to anyone wishing to gain the benefits of LaTeX. The accompanying CD-ROM is part of the TeX Live set distributed by TeX Users Groups, containing a full LaTeX installation for Windows, MacOSX, and Linux, as well as many extensions, including those discussed in the book.
The LaTeX Companion by
The LaTeX Companion has long been the essential resource for anyone using LaTeX to create high-quality printed documents. This completely updated edition brings you all the latest information about LaTeX and the vast range of add-on packages now available--over 200 are covered! Full of new tips and tricks for using LaTeX in both traditional and modern typesetting, this book will also show you how to customize layout features to your own needs--from phrases and paragraphs to headings, lists, and pages. Inside, you will find: Expert advice on using LaTeX's basic formatting tools to create all types of publications--from memos to encyclopedias In-depth coverage of important extension packages for tabular and technical typesetting, floats and captions, multicolumn layouts--including reference guides and discussions of the underlying typographic and TeXnical concepts Detailed techniques for generating and typesetting contents lists, bibliographies, indexes, etc. Tips and tricks for LaTeX programmers and systems support New to this edition: Nearly 1,000 fully tested examples that illustrate the text and solve typographical and technical problems--all ready to run! An additional chapter on citations and bibliographies Expanded material on the setup and use of fonts to access a huge collection of glyphs, and to typeset text from a wide range of languages and cultures Major new packages for graphics, "verbatim" listings, floats, and page layout Full coverage of the latest packages for all types ofdocuments--mathematical, multilingual, and many more Detailed help on all error messages, including those troublesome low-level TeX errors Like its predecessor, The LaTeX Companion, Second Edition, is an indispensable reference for anyone wishing to use LaTeX productively. The accompanying CD-ROM contains a complete plug-and-play LaTeX installation, including all the packages and examples featured in the book.
Latex for beginners by
LaTeX FOR BEGINNERS presents all that a beginner would need to know to produce documents of high typographical quality. Beginning with a gentle introduction, the book proceeds to discuss how the LaTeX code may be written to produce simple documents. The complicating features (different fonts and font sizes, special characters including European characters, double column entries, tables and figures and many more) are covered one by one. How cross-references are made, and how an index of important words and bibliography generated are also explained in detail. Apart from the students and researchers the book can be used with advantage by lawyers, media persons and even the lay public. KEY FEATURES: Plenty of illustrative examples with the LaTeX code for each topic and example displayed alongside. Detailed coverage of mathematical equations. Suggestions and instructions for running a hands-on workshop. Some computer related information for the benefit of nearly computer illiterate beginners.
The Latex Graphics Companion by 
LaTeX in 24 Hours by
This book presents direct and concise explanations and examples to many LaTeX syntax and structures, allowing students and researchers to quickly understand the basics that are required for writing and preparing book manuscripts, journal articles, reports, presentation slides and academic theses and dissertations for publication.
Unlike most literature and guides currently available on LaTeX, which takes a more technical stance, focusing on the details of the software itself, the author presents this user-focused guide that is concerned with its application to everyday tasks and scenarios, which is packed with exercises and looks at topics like formatting text, drawing and inserting tables and figures, bibliographies and indexes, equations, slides, and provides valuable explanations to error and warning messages so you can get work done with the least time and effort needed. This means LaTeX in 24 Hours can be used by students and researchers with little or no previous experience with LaTeX to gain quick and noticeable results, as well as being used as a quick reference guide for those more experienced who want to refresh their knowledge on the subject.
More Math into LaTeX by
In this carefully revised fifth edition, the Short Course has been brought up to date and reflects a modern and practical approach to LaTeX usage. New chapters have been added on illustrations and how to use LaTeX on an iPad. Key features: An example-based, visual approach and a gentle introduction with the Short Course A detailed exposition of multiline math formulas with a Visual Guide A unified approach to TeX, LaTeX, and the AMS enhancements A quick introduction to creating presentations with formulas
From earlier reviews:
Grätzer's book is a solution. --European Mathematical Society Newsletter
There are several LaTeX guides, but this one wins hands down for the elegance of its approach and breadth of coverage. --Amazon.com, Best of 2000, Editor's choice
A novice reader will be able to learn the most essential features of LaTeX sufficient to begin typesetting papers within a few hours of time... An experienced TeX user, on the other hand, will find a systematic and detailed discussion of LaTeX features. --Report on Mathematical Physics
A very helpful and useful tool for all scientists and engineers. --Review of Astronomical Tools
