Zotero
| Date | Time | Venue | Registration |
| 24 Feb 2025 | 10.00am - 11:30am | Zoom | Link will be provided 2 weeks before the workshop |
If you want to explore Zotero on your own, you will need to :
EndNote
| Date | Time | Venue | Registration |
| TBC | TBC | Zoom | Watch out for our e-flyer 😊 |
Zotero Workshop Handouts
Download your Zotero handouts here.
The zip folder contains:
1. Pre-workshop preparation instructions
2. Zotero workshop slides
3. Sample PDF of a journal article
4. Sample PDF of article with no document information (metadata)
5. Word sample document for the Zotero citation exercise
EndNote Workshop Handouts
Will be available a week before the workshop.
| Which reference management software is better? | It depends on what your needs are. You may find this comparison table by Bodleian Library helpful. |
| Can I move my references from Mendeley/Zotero to Endnote? | Yes, please refer to the guide here. |
| When syncing Zotero desktop and its online (cloud), will the PDFs get uploaded too? | Yes, Zotero cloud should provide you access to the PDFs in your library. There is an option to not sync PDF (full text content) for space considerations. |
| Will the Zotero Connector also work for obtaining full text articles that need to be paid for full text access? | No, only the metadata of the reference will be obtained by the Zotero Connector if the article us paywalled. Not all full text articles will be available as it is dependent on the library's subscription. |
| Is there any information on using Mendeley? |
Refer to our guide on how to move from Mendeley to EndNote or Zotero: |
Reference management software eases the process of creating a reference list/bibliography for your research topic or assignment, compared to the bygone days of manually writing or typing out each full citation of the bibliography.
Reference management software comes with functions that help you to collect, annotate and organise references to the sources of information. All of them are able to 'ingest' files containing metadata from databases, library catalogues and selected search engines, which makes building a personal 'library' seamless. You can then annotate the citations, use and re-use citations in various documents as they integrate with at least one authoring software such as Microsoft Word, Google Docs or Open Office. Hence, they can become an indispensable part of your writing workflow.
Endnote and Zotero are just two out of the numerous software in the marketplace, and we support them at NUS by running regular training for beginners under our Researcher Unbound series.
There are many reference management software in the marketplace and each have their strengths and weaknesses.
Choosing which software to adopt and use depends on your needs. Need a quick comparison? Please see this concise comparison table compiled by the wonderful librarians at the Bodleian Libraries at Oxford University.
We suggest using software with good solid documentation and sustainable self-help forums.
Ultimately, choose a software that you are most comfortable with because it is possible to use the inter-operability formats (bibTeX or RIS) to share selected items from your existing 'libraries' with your project teammates.
We support only Endnote and Zotero at NUS because they can be used across disciplines and operating systems. In combination, these two software meet most of the needs of the NUS community.