Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Two groups of databases are presented in this guide.
- Communication/Social and General Sciences
- Specific Subject Area
You may be interested in finding out how a scientific issue (e.g. climate change) is represented in media and communication practices, as well as what the scientific research is behind the issue. Adjust your search strategy (e.g. incorporate keywords like media or communication) according to the databases.
The databases below provide search functions and results, including journal articles and book chapters.
Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
An online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research focusing on the four core social science subjects of anthropology, economics, politics, and sociology.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
74% of Factiva’s premium news sources are not available on the free web and thousands more are available via Factiva on or before the date of publication by the source. Whether you’re looking for a global point of view or need to dive deep into a particular region with local coverage, get the essential information you need from Factiva’s trusted, quality sources.
LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Access to 6,000 titles in news, business and legal information. Includes full text coverage of industry and market news, company financial information, accounting information, law reviews, state and country profiles from newspapers, wire services, magazines and trade journals, and U.S. federal and state case law.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases This link opens in a new window
Social sciences research has become increasingly interdisciplinary, creating a need for exhaustive coverage across political science, sociology, the applied social sciences, criminal justice, education, and other areas. ProQuest’s collections provide comprehensive, global indexing coverage of the scholarly literature in the social sciences, including full-text scholarly journals, many published outside of North America and in languages other than English, and key non-periodical sources such as dissertations and working papers.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Divided into two sections- PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. Subject coverage includes public affairs and public policy worldwide.
PsycINFO(via Ovid) 1806 - This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Covers scientific, engineering, technical, medical, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Has over 60 million records from over 5,000 publishers from around the world. Updated daily.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Major resource for Sociology but includes psychology and related disciplines. Includes citations from journals, conference papers, books & dissertations. Thesaurus and user friendly Advanced Search features makes searching easy.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
One of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It indexes scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents. It offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.
Specific Subject Area
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Covers agriculture, agronomy, animal science, breeding, dairy science, farm management, food and nutrition, and zoology.
Physical Education Index This link opens in a new window
Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers medical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others.