Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases are a good a place to begin research. They may contain articles in journals, papers in conference proceedings, newspapers, chapters in books, reports and reviews.
- More databases
More databases available at: NUS Libraries > E-Resources > Databases
Mathematics, Statistics & Applied Probability Specific
The most important database in Mathematics as well as Statistics. MathSciNet covers 18,000 mathematical journals and other types of resources such as books, conference proceedings, etc - over 2 million items in total. The unique Author search, Author collaboration as well as citation analysis provide comprehensive cross-linking references for researchers. From 1940 - present.
Current Index to Statistics extended
Published by the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and the American Statistical Association, CIS Extended Database indexes the entire contents of over 160 "core journals", in most cases from 1975 (or first issue if later) to the current end year, and pre-1975 coverage for some, selected articles with statistical content since 1975 from about 1200 additional journals (cumulatively) in related fields, and about 11,000 books in statistics published since 1975.
Web of Science
Indexes thousands of academic journals in virtually every discipline in sciences, humanities and social sciences, including demography, economics and statistics. Its unique feature is the ability to trace related articles, using a citation as a starting point.
One of the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Updated daily, Scopus covers 29 million abstracts of over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 publishers, 265 million references. In many ways similar to Web of Science , Scopus can be used for a broader interdisciplinary search.
This full-text database contains back issues of important scholarly journals in all subject areas. Back issues start from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years before the present.
An information resource that provides full text access to scientific, technical and medical literature including journals in dentistry. Search by keyword combinations for authors, and / or words in article titles, abstracts or full-text.
Compendex & INSPEC
The most comprehensive interdisciplinary Engineering database. It has over 16 million records, some of which have links to full text. EV2 covers journals, conference proceedings, unclassified government reports, and more.
The ACM Portal consists of The ACM Digital Library, which is a full text collection from the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and The Guide to Computing Literature, which is a bibliographic collection from major computing publishers.
ArXiv.org e-Print Archive
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology. Some of these articles may not be peer reviewed.