Global Affairs (Yale-NUS College): Books

Four-volume set that focuses on the politics of globalization from 'above' and 'below', covering topics such as, idea of global political governance, impact of globalization on the nation-state, role of multilateral regimes such as the United Nations, globalizing political developments at ground level, rise of the 'anti-globalization' movement, and various social theories and philosophies of globalization.

Topics covered include interdisciplinary approach toward international relations and political science, as well as sociology, anthropology, history, media and cultural studies, economics and governance, environmental sustainability, international law and criminal justice.

Covers both transnational topics and intellectual approaches to the study of global themes, including the globalization of economies and technologies; the diaspora of cultures and dispersion of peoples; the transnational aspects of social and political change; the global impact of environmental, technological, and health changes; and the organizations and issues related to global civil society.

This five-volume set, includes 600 entries derived from across the social sciences, from sociology and anthropology to political science, economics, and human geography Looks at the founding theories as well as the realities of globalization today.

Higher education has entered centre-stage in the context of the knowledge economy and has been deployed in the search for economic competitiveness and social development. Against this backdrop, this highly illuminating Handbook explores worldwide convergences and divergences in national higher education systems resulting from increased global co-operation and competition. The expert contributors reveal the strategies, practices and governance mechanisms developed by international and regional organizations, national governments and by higher education institutions themselves. They analyse local responses to dominant global templates of higher education and the consequences for knowledge generation, social equity, economic development and the public good. This comprehensive and accessible Handbook will prove an invaluable reference tool for researchers, academics and students with an interest in higher education from economics, international studies and public policy perspectives, as well as for higher education policymakers, and funding and governance bodies.

This Handbook offers an unrivalled overview of current research into how globalization is affecting the external relations and internal structures of major cities in the world.By treating cities at a global scale, it focuses on the 'stretching' of urban functions beyond specific place locations, without losing sight of the multiple divisions in contemporary world cities. The book firmly bases city networks in their historical context, critically discusses contemporary concepts and key empirical measures, and analyses major issues relating to world city infrastructures, economies, governance and divisions. The variety of urban outcomes in contemporary globalization is explored through detailed case studies.Edited by leading scholars of the Globalization and World Cities (GaWC) Research Network and written by over 60 experts in the field, the Handbook is a unique resource for students, researchers and academics in urban and globalization studies as well as for city professionals in planning and policy.

This companion features original essays on the complexity of globalization and its diverse and sometimes conflicting effects. Written by top scholars in the field, it offers a nuanced and detailed examination of globalization that includes both positive and critical evaluations. <br /> Introduces the major players, theories, and methodologies Explores the major areas of impact, including the environment, cities, outsourcing, consumerism, global media, politics, religion, and public health Addresses the foremost concerns of global inequality, corruption, international terrorism, war, and the future of globalization Wide-ranging and comprehensive, an excellent text for undergraduate and graduate students in a range of disciplines

The dynamism in modern Asia, especially with the current revival in Japan, stands in sharp contrast to the situation in Europe. An in-depth understanding of what is happening in contemporary Asia is key to grasping opportunities that this dynamism creates for all. This multi-volume reference work consists of three up-to-date and comprehensive volumes on Asia and the world economy. It covers the most important aspects of the world economy as they pertain to Asia in the increasingly accelerating globalization process and is a must-have for anyone keen to understand Asia and the contemporary world. The three-volume set covers the climate change challenges and solutions from the Asian perspectives, focusing on both domestic arrangements and trade-based options, and discusses scenario analyses for future climate regimes; the sustainability of growth in the Indian economy determined by analyzing the role of economic, technological and environmental factors and lastly, the growth experiences and prospects of India and China.Contents: Volume 1: Sustainability of Growth: The Role of Economic, Technological and Environmental Factors: Introduction (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) The International Economic System: International Economic Governance: Where We Are and How We Got There (Manmohan Agarwal) G-20: In Search of a Role (Muchkund Dubey) India and the World Economy: India's Economic Growth Its Ups and Downs (Manmohan Agarwal, Susmia Mitra and John Whalley) South-South Economic Cooperation: Its Progress (Manmohan Agarwal) Principles of South-South Cooperation and Emerging Evidence from the Indian Experience (Sachin Chaturvedi) Emerging Economies as Sources of Investment and Appropriate Technology: Evidence from India (Sachin Chaturvedi) Technology Environment and Development: S&T in the Industrial development of China: Comparison With and Implications for India (Ashok Parthasarathi) Growth of Land. Labour and Total Factor Productivity in Agriculture in Brazil, India, Indonesia and China (Uma Lele, Manmohan Agarwal and Sambuddha Goswami) Genetically Modified Crops in India An Economic Analysis (Sangeeta Bansal and Anchal Arora) Growth of Clean Energy Capacity in India and Associated Technology Import (Aparna Sawhney and Susmita Mitra) Forest Policies and Tribal Traditional Medicinal Practices: A Persepective from India (Deepa V K and Saradindu Bhaduri) Volume 2: India and China: Comparative Experience and Prospects: Introduction (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) The Growth Experiences of China and India: The 1991 Reforms, Indian economic Growth, and Social Progress (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) China's Post 1978 Growth Process and Earlier Growth Processes in Europe, US, Japan and Korea (Heijing Chen and John Whalley) China and India: Reforms and the Response: How Differently have the Economies Behaved (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) India and China in the Global Economy: The Contingent Reserve Arrangement and the International Monetary System (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) Financial Crisis of 2008 and Shifting Economic Power: Is there Convergence (Manmohan Agarwal and Sayan Samanta) South-South Economic Cooperation, STECO and the Financial Crisis (Manmohan Agarwal and John Whalley) The Contribution of China, India and Brazil to Narrowing North-South Differences in GDP/Capita, World Trade Flows