Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historians engage with primary, secondary, and other sources in order to examine and interpret history. This guide is designed to introduce you to different types of sources and provide links to excellent resources that provide access to historical sources. You will also find key history resources listed.
- Articles/ Databases - Find databases where you can search for relevant journal articles on history topics
- Books - Access reference and research books in the Library collection and online
- Primary Sources - Find some of the many resources for primary source materials
- Citations/ Citing - tools for managing citations, resources for APA, MLA, Chicago and more
Introduction to Doing History
JSTOR is an online platform with access to academic journals, books, and primary sources. It will be especially useful in your secondary source research; JSTOR provides full text access to the archives of several thousand journal titles.
Project Muse is a database which provides access to full text articles from leading Social Science and Humanities journals as well as e-books. This is an excellent source to search for secondary sources specific to the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Historical Abstracts is an index available on the EBSCOhost platform. As an index it aims to provide comprehensive bibliographic information on History scholarship. While not all titles in this index are immediately available in full text, Historical Abstracts is an excellent tool for discovery when, for example, conducting a literature review. Contact the Library to get help accessing the full text of items found in an index.
Historians often use newspapers as primary sources. See the "Primary Sources" tab for more information about historical newspapers. Hundreds of e-newspapers, both current and archival are available via the Library.
Encyclopedias provide excellent background information. Encyclopedia entries offer explanations and definitions of concepts, objects, and events. Wikipedia is an example of a crowd-sourced open-source encyclopedia.
Doing Oral History by
Publication Date: 2014-10-17
This oral history guidebook is used by professional oral historians, public historians, archivists, and genealogists. It offers practical advice for oral history projects including advice for interviews, making video recordings, and preserving oral history collections. This guidebook is mindful of the latest digital audio and video recording technology and includes these developments in its guidance.
Publication Date: 2000-06-15
This book is part of Oxford's "Very Short Introduction" series which aim to provide concise introductions to a broad range of topics. In this introduction, the historian John Arnold presents concepts like causation, interpretation, and periodization as means of doing history. Each "Very Short Introduction" is written by respected scholars in the field and emphasize concise and elegant writing.
Doing History by
Publication Date: 2007-05-23
This handbook for historical research is an excellent guide for researching and writing papers. History students and potential history majors will learn about the process of 'doing history' from locating sources and gathering information to writing and presenting your work.
A Concise Companion to History by
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
A Concise Companion to History addresses key themes and structures both new and established in the discipline of History. Respected historians have contributed to this title, making it a useful introduction for budding historians on both the heritage and the new trends of their discipline.
The Historian's Toolbox by
Publication Date: 2007-04-04
This book starts by introducing the key elements of history: evidence, narrative, and judgement. This book guides readers through the evolution of the concept of history over time. The second part of the book focuses on the 'historian's toolbox': essential skills including documents, sources, footnotes, bibliographies, and chronologies. This book explains issues of interpretation, speculation, professional ethics, and controversial issues such as plagiarism, historical hoaxes, and conspiracy theories.
A Short Guide to Writing about History by
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
An ideal complement for any history course,A Short Guide to Writing about Historyhelps students learn how to think and write like an historian. This engaging and practical text helps students get beyond merely compiling dates and facts; it teaches them how to incorporate their own ideas into their papers and to tell a story about history that interests them and their peers. Covering brief essays and the documented resource paper, the text explores the writing and researching processes, different modes of historical writing (including argument), and offers guidelines for improving style as well as documenting sources.