Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Secondary sources interpret or analyze primary sources. Primary sources are first-hand accounts, whereas secondary sources are one or more steps removed from the event being studied. Textbooks, journal articles, and research books are examples of secondary sources. You will need to consult secondary sources to learn about how other scholars have viewed and interpreted the topic you are studying.
Key Resources for History Articles
These are recommended databases for searching and accessing secondary sources:
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online platform with access to academic journals, books, and primary sources. It will be especially useful in your secondary source research; JSTOR provides full text access to the archives of several thousand journal titles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a database which provides access to full text articles from leading Social Science and Humanities journals as well as e-books. This is an excellent source to search for secondary sources specific to the Social Sciences and Humanities.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
BAS contains 851,737 records on secondary sources on the topic of East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. If the item is available in print or online at NUS Libraries, you will be able to access it from BAS. Get in touch with a librarian when you come across items that are not yet available.
Find articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, published in over 2,000 journals from many countries. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.
All History Databases
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Over 300 peer-reviewed academic journals for the global market. Containing the latest research from a broad sweep of subject areas including European and historical studies.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from 17th century to current day. Full text for many since 1997. Incorporates expanded access to international scholarly works, from the UK to Continental Europe and China.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is an general and interdisciplinary database will full text articles from a wide range of disciplines.
ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. It indexes Religious Studies scholarship, including Greek and Roman religion.
Oxford Dictionary of Middle Ages
he Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool, and for students and general readers seeking an accessible guide to the period.
Oxford Bibliographies: Atlantic History
Oxford Bibliographies allows users to access the information they need to master this rapidly changing historical field. The series was launched in 2009 and now has over 100 entries available for use with many more in development. Articles are written by a range of scholars from numerous countries and summarise the best in scholarship now available.
Ask A Librarian
Have a question about your research? Email the Library to get answers.
ILLiad - Go Global
Need an article we don't own? Need a book that is not available at NUS? Request through ILLiad!
Find It! @ NUS Libraries
This will help you install a tool that allows you to use Google Scholar effectively to find fulltext articles in NUS Libraries.
Amazing tool that connects you with NUS E-journals and other resources when you are searching the Web.
Need answers to common questions? Search the Library FAQ.