LibGuides: Urban Studies (Yale-NUS College): Articles/Databases

eDissertations & eTheses @ NUSL

Dissertations & Theses Global (Proquest)
World's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Scholarbank@NUS
This institutional repository of the National University of Singapore collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Bachelors honours year academic exercises; Master’s (by Research) theses and PhD dissertations deposited with the NUS Registrar’s Office.
Yale-NUS College Capstone Repository
Collection of digital final year projects hosted, owned, controlled and disseminated by Yale-NUS College.

Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographical descriptions and indexes on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from more than 8000 journals for academic research. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the arts. Also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text of The New York Times content to 1995.

Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library - Urban Studies
Taylor & Francis' peer reviewed journal titles and journal articles by subject, Urban Studies.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library - Built Environment
Taylor & Francis' peer reviewed journal titles and journal articles by subject, Built Environment.
Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library - Geography
Taylor & Francis' peer reviewed journal titles and journal articles by subject, Geography.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Database for the theory and research of international affairs. It includes working papers, NGO publications, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, and case studies.
CountryWatch Provides up-to-date information and news on 192 countries of the world. Includes political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Reviews and the Country Wire. Country Reviews provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries. Country Wire provides online information updates from ten international news organizations; CountryWatch staff provides periodic data updates on the latest political, economic, corporate and environmental topics for individual countries.
GreenFILE "GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more."
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Search for economics working papers by abstract & author, journal or topic, or JEL (Journal of Economic Literature) topic list.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Divided into two sections - PAIS International and PAIS Archive. Contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, etc. Subject coverage includes public affairs and public policy worldwide.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Coverage: 1951 - current
Proquest Social Sciences Databases
Access to 17 ProQuest social sciences databases including,: Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ERIC, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS International, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Social Sciences, Proquest Political Science, Proquest Social Science Journals, Proquest Sociology, Social Service Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Covers international geoscience literature - Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. The content crosses subject, language and cultural boundaries, providing an intuitive research tool to users.