Subject Headings are assigned to books and other materials in LINC to help categorize them across disciplines. One item can have several subject headings. Sometimes starting with the subject heading is a good way to learn about resources on your topic. Here is a small selection of Urban Studies-focused headings to get you started:
Books in the Library are also classified by call number. Each call number represents a certain subject area. It is likely that if you find one good book on your topic, there will be others nearby on the shelf about that same topic. Browse the shelves!!!
D, DA, DB, DC, etc. - World history and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc. To determine the particular call number for your country or region of interest, visit this page.
GF101-127 Settlements
GF125 Cities.Urban geography
GF127 Rural settlements. Rural geography
HE305-311 Urban transportation
HT101-395 Urban groups. The city. Urban sociology
HT161-165 Garden cities. "The city beautiful"
HT165.5-169.9 City planning
HT170-178 Urban renewal. Urban redevelopment
HT201-221 City population; Including children in cities, immigration
HT231 Effect of city life
HT251-265 Mental and moral life
HT281 Recreation. Amusements
HT321-325 The city as an economic factor. City promotion
HT330-334 Metropolitan areas
HT351-352 Suburban cities and towns
HT361-384 Urbanization. City and country
HT388 Regional economics. Space in economics
HT390-395 Regional planning
Handbook of Regional and Urban Economics by 
The Routledge Handbook of Urban Ecology by
The birds, animals, insects, trees and plants encountered by the majority of the world's people are those that survive in, adapt to, or are introduced to, urban areas. Some of these organisms give great pleasure; others invade, colonise and occupy neglected and hidden areas such as derelict land and sewers. Urban areas have a high biodiversity and nature within cities provides many ecosystem services including cooling the urban area, reducing urban flood risk, filtering pollutants, supplying food, and providing accessible recreation. Yet, protecting urban nature faces competition from other urban land uses. The Handbook of Urban Ecologyanalyses this biodiversity and complexity and provides the science to guide policy and management to make cities more attractive, more enjoyable, and better for our own health and that of the planet. This Handbook contains 50 interdisciplinary contributions from leading academics and practitioners from across the world to provide an in-depth coverage of the main elements of practical urban ecology. It is divided into six parts, dealing with the philosophies, concepts and history of urban ecology; followed by consideration of the biophysical character of the urban environment and the diverse habitats found within it. It then examines human relationships with urban nature, the health, economic and environmental benefits of urban ecology before discussing the methods used in urban ecology and ways of putting the science into practice. The Handbook offers a state-of the art guide to the science, practice and value of urban ecology. The engaging contributions provide students and practitioners with the wealth of interdisciplinary information needed to manage the biota and green landscapes in urban areas.
Handbook on Urban Sustainability by
This book, written by specialists from Canada, India, Italy, Palestine, Peru, Spain and the Netherlands, is a guide to establishing a city on a sustainable path. It addresses sustainable urban planning issues by breaking the city down to its components. A broad range of planning and sustainability considerations are discussed. Important concluding chapters provide a 'what to do and how to do it' practical roadmap for implementing a sustainability program.
International Handbook of Urban Policy by
This first Handbook in a series of three original reference works looks at globally contentious urban policy issues from a wide variety of different angles and perspectives. Matters related to urban densification, population mobility, urban inequality and sustainability are analysed in a manner that will not only interest the advanced student but also the novice.Urban policy covers a vast field. This first volume combines chapters covering three broad themes: policy issues pertaining to the spatial aspects of the city; social and mobility issues; and issues of urban governance. The spotlight initially falls on urban structure, urban densification, the disappearing urban/rural divide, the urban economic landscape and the transformation of socialist economies. The Handbook then goes on to focus on migration, social mobility, crime, terrorism and social inequality. Finally, urban sustainability and urban governance come under the spotlight. Integration of the planning process, flexibilities in infrastructure and areas of neglect in environmental management feature strongly in this section of the Handbook. Books of this nature are often slanted in one particular direction: however, this Handbook's approach is different. Not only has the editor avoided shying away from politically sensitive issues but contributions have also been included that reflect distinct differences of opinion on politically sensitive issues - hence the volume's subtitle of 'contentious global issues'.As a Handbook, the chapters have been written not only for the advanced student and academics but also with undergraduate students in mind. The Handbook will appeal to scholars and researchers of geography and urban and development planning, demography and social science and environmental scientists for the focus on urban sustainability issues.
The NUS Libraries have significant print and online resources relating to urban studies and human geography. Below is an abridged list of resources to get you started. Remember that the Library organizes information by SUBJECT. So, items that are similar in topic will be grouped together by Call Number.
The Palgrave Handbook of Urban Ethnography by
These ethnographically-based studies of diverse urban experiences across the world present cutting edge research and stimulate an empirically-grounded theoretical reconceptualization. The essays identify ethnography as a powerful tool for making sense of life in our rapidly changing, complex cities. They stress the point that while there is no need to fetishize fieldwork--or to view it as an end in itself --its unique value cannot be overstated. These active, engaged researchers have produced essays that avoid abstractions and generalities while engaging with the analytical complexities of ethnographic evidence. Together, they prove the great value of knowledge produced by long-term fieldwork to mainstream academic debates and, more broadly, to society.
The community planning handbook : how people can shape their cities, towns and villages in any part of the world by 
The Rise of the City by
Cities and city regions are growing throughout the world and this trend is forecast to continue well into the 21st century. The authors of The Rise of the City see the next 100 years as being the "Urban Century". In this book they examine urban growth and the dynamics that are transforming the city and city regions, focusing specifically on the spatial aspects of this process.Forces that are driving city growth include agglomeration spillovers, concentration of innovation and entrepreneurship, diversity of information and knowledge resources, better amenities and higher wages. These benefits produce a positive reinforcing system that attracts more people with new ideas and information, fuelling innovation, new products and services and more high-wage jobs, thereby attracting more people. Such growth also produces undesirable effects such as air and water pollution, poverty, congestion and crowding. These combined factors both impact and change the geography and spatial dynamics of the city. These transformations and the public policies that may be critical to the quality of life, both today and in the future, are the substance of this book.Providing a more informed synthesis of the city and its dynamics in the new century than any other volume, as well as a set of specific analyses and questions on the changing nature of the city, this book will be indispensible to scholars and students of regional science and urban studies.
Diversity and Local Contexts by
In this book, an international team of urban anthropologists, sociologists, and ethnographers argue that politics, intergroup relations, and development in cities cannot be understood without reference to the local contexts that endow each city with specific characteristics. They also show how local urban economic, social, and cultural lives are influenced by powerful external forces. In these 'glocal' regards, the authors demonstrate how city images, borders, and social processes such as migration, tourism, and local development must be seen in broader contexts. The contributors examine them through the lenses of foreign investment, migration, and history. The volume takes an interdisciplinary approach and employs a range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches. Contributors' multidisciplinary expertise and insights about spaces and places are applied to nine unique cities across three continents.
Handbook of Urban Studies by
The Handbook of Urban Studies provides the first comprehensive, up-to-date account of the urban condition, relevant to a wide readership from academics to researchers and policymakers. It provides a theoretically and empirically informed account embracing all the different disciplines contributing to urban studies. Leading authors identify key issues and questions and future trends for further research and present their findings so that, where appropriate, they are relevant to the needs of policymakers. Using the city as a unifying structure, the Handbook provides an holistic appreciation of urban structure and change, and of the theories by which we understand the structure, development and changing character of cities.
Key Concepts in Urban Studies by
The SAGE Key Concepts series provides students with accessible and authoritative knowledge of the essential topics in a variety of disciplines. Cross-referenced throughout, the format encourages critical evaluation through understanding. Written by experienced and respected academics, the books are indispensable study aids and guides to comprehension. Key Concepts in Urban Studies: * Clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the interdisciplinary field of urban studies * Offers concise discussions of concepts ranging from community, neighbourhood, and the city to globalization, the New Urbanism, feminine space, and urban problems * Constitutes a re-examination of the key ideas in the field * Is illustrated throughout with international examples * Provides an essential reference guide for all students and teachers across the urban disciplines within sociology, political science, planning and geography.
Planning and Urban Change by
Fully revised and thoroughly updated, the Second Edition of Planning and Urban Change provides an accessible yet richly detailed account of British urban planning. Stephen Ward demonstrates how urban planning can be understood through three categories: ideas - urban planning history as the development of theoretical approaches: from radical and utopian beginnings, to the `new right' thinking of the 1980s, and recent interest in green thought and sustainability; policies - urban planning history as an intensely political process, the text explains the complicated relation between planning theory and political practice; and impacts - urban planning history as the divergence of expectation and outcome, each chapter shows how intended impacts have been modified by economic and social forces. This Second Edition features an entirely new chapter on the key policy changes that have occurred under the Major and Blair governments, together with a critical review of current policy trends.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
The Atlas of Urban Expansion by 
Foundations of Urban and Regional Information Systems and Geographic Information Systems and Science Special Publication in Celebration of URISA’s 50th Anniversary Conference by
During its 50-year history of conferences and productions, URISA established itself as the pre-eminent source of curiosity-driven and client-driven presentations and publications on research, education, training, and applications activities in urban and regional information systems and geographic information systems and science. Foundations of Urban and Regional Information Systems and Geographic Information Systems and Science overviews this outstanding record of achievement in six parts: “Tribute to Edgar Horwood”; “Forces and Ideas that Spawned the Field”, “Previous Benchmarking Experience”; “Institutional and Organizational Foundations”; “Topical and Visionary Foundations”; and “Reflecting Upon the Foundations Project and Its Implications”. This chapter puts the URISA record in context by identifying more than 240 information systems domains which have been the subject of attention by URISA, and then it outlines how the book is designed to create a major benchmarking report on the foundations which underlie the field.
