Adapted from: Geographical Information System (GIS) LibGuide
What is Spatial History? by White (Stanford University)
The Spatial Turn by Guldi (Scholars' Lab, University of Virginia)
There are many open source applications and software available for spatial analysis and visualisation of spatial data. Here are two options and their guides that you may consider using if you want an alternative from ArcGIS.
R/Rstudio (Unix, Windows, Mac OS)
QGIS (Unix, Linux, Windows, Mac OS)
Tableau (Windows, MacOS)
Heatmapper: Create your own heat maps at the click of a mouse. Overlay your own image and input your own data to automatically generate the heat map. This tool would be useful for behavioral studies or space ethnography.
Datawrapper: Open source tool helping anyone to create simple, correct and embeddable charts in minutes. It is easy to use, gives you full control and is customisable.
Infographics Generator:
Easel.ly: Thousands of templates for various purposes.
Canva: Easy drag-and-drop. Templates available.
Pikotochart: Interactive charts and maps. Large library of images and icons.
Historical GIS: technologies, methodologies and scholarship by
Historical GIS is an emerging field that uses GIS to research the geographies of the past. This technology offers unparalleled opportunities to add insight and rejuvenate historical research through the ability to identify and use the geographical characteristics of data. Historical GIS introduces the basic concepts and tools underpinning GIS technology, describing and critically assessing the visualisation, analytical and e-science methodologies that it enables and examining key scholarship where GIS has been used to enhance research debates.
Toward Spatial Humanities: historical GIS and spatial history by
The application of GIS to issues in history is among the most exciting developments in both digital and spatial humanities. Describing a wide variety of applications, the essays in this volume highlight the methodological and substantive implications of a spatial approach to history. They illustrate how the use of GIS is changing our understanding of the geographies of the past and has become the basis for new ways to study history.
History and GIS: epistemologies, considerations and reflections by
Geographical Information Systems (GIS) - either as "standard" GIS or custom made Historical GIS (HGIS) - have become quite popular in some historical sub-disciplines, such as Economic and Social History or Historical Geography. "Mainstream" history, however, seems to be rather unaffected by this trend. More generally speaking: Why is it that computer applications in general have failed to make much headway in history departments, despite the first steps being undertaken a good forty years ago? With the "spatial turn" in full swing in the humanities, and many historians dealing with spatial and geographical questions, one would think GIS would be welcomed with open arms. Yet there seems to be no general anticipation by historians of employing GIS as a research tool. As mentioned, HGIS are popular chiefly among Historical Geographers and Social and Economic Historians. The latter disciplines seem to be predestined to use such software through the widespread quantitative methodology these disciplines have employed traditionally. Other historical sub-disciplines, such as Ancient History, are also very open to this emerging technology since the scarcity of written sources in this field can be mitigated by inferences made from an HGIS that has archaeological data stored in it, for example. In most of Modern History, however, the use of GIS is rarely seen. The intellectual benefit that a GIS may bring about seems not be apparent to scholars from this sub-discipline (and others). This book wants to investigate and discuss this controversy. Why does the wider historian community not embrace GIS more readily? While one cannot deny that the methodologies linked with a GIS follow geographical paradigms rather than historical ones, the potential of GIS as a 'killer application'nbsp; for digital historical scholarship should be obvious. This book brings together authors from Geography and History to discuss the value of GIS for historical research. The focus, however, will not be on the "how", but on the "why" of GIS in history.
Placing history : how maps, spatial data, and GIS are changing historical scholarship by Qualitative Data
HyperRESEARCH: software facilitating both coding and analysis of data, with search features and reports.
Quantitative Data
SPSS: tool for data & text analysis and visualisation.
Stata: tool for data management, statistical analysis, graphics and simulations.
Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
Qualitative Data Analysis by
In this fully updated and expanded second edition, Carol Grbich provides a guide through current issues in the analysis of qualitative data. Packed with detailed examples, a glossary, further reading lists and a section on writing up, this book is exactly what you need to get you started in qualitative research. The new edition covers analytical approaches including: - grounded theory - classical, existential and hermeneutic phenomenology - feminist research including memory work - classical, auto- and cyberethnography as well as ethnodrama - content, narrative, conversation and discourse analysis - visual interpretation - semiotic, structural and poststructural analyses A one-stop-shop for students new to qualitative data analysis! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for classPerusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Qualitative data analysis : a methods sourcebook by
Miles, Huberman, and Saldaña's Qualitative Data Analysis: A Methods Sourcebook is the authoritative text for analyzing and displaying qualitative research data. The Fourth Edition maintains the analytic rigor of previous editions while showcasing a variety of new visual display models for qualitative inquiry. Graphics are added to the now-classic matrix and network illustrations of the original co-authors. Five chapters have been substantially revised, and the appendix's annotated bibliography includes new titles in research methods. Graduate students and established scholars from all disciplines will find this resource an innovative compendium of ideas for the representation and presentation of qualitative data. As the authors demonstrate, when researchers "think display," their analyses of social life capture the complex and vivid processes of the people and institutions studied.
Routledge International Handbook of Research Methods in Digital Humanities by
This book draws on both traditional and emerging fields of study to consider consider what a grounded definition of quantitative and qualitative research in the Digital Humanities (DH) might mean; which areas DH can fruitfully draw on in order to foster and develop that understanding; where we can see those methods applied; and what the future directions of research methods in Digital Humanities might look like. Dunn and Schuster map a wide-ranging DH research methodology by drawing on both 'traditional' fields of DH study such as text, historical sources, museums and manuscripts, and innovative areas in research production, such as knowledge and technology, digital culture and society and history of network technologies. Featuring global contributions from scholars in the UK, US, EU and Australia, this book draws together a range of disciplinary perspectives to explore the exciting developments offered by this fast-evolving field. Routledge International Handbook of Research Methods in Digital Humanities is essential reading for anyone who teaches, researches or studies Digital Humanities or related subjects.
Network Analysis
GEPHI: Gephi is the leading visualization and exploration software for all kinds of graphs and networks.
Text Analysis
Voyant (word counts, trends): Voyant Tools is a web-based text reading and analysis environment.
Tool Repositories
TAPoR: TAPoR (Text Analysis Portal for Research) is a platform to discover research tools for studying texts.
DiRT: DiRT (Digital Research Tools) is a directory of tools organized by research activity.
Data Cleaning Tools
OpenRefine (formerly Google Refine) is a powerful open source tool for working with messy data, cleaning it and transforming it from one format into another.
British Library: Cartographic perspectives from BL Map Librarians
Singapore:
National Library Board Spatial Discovery - Explore over 3,000 high resolution copies of maps/plans
Historical Street Maps - Downloadable street maps (from 1954)
National Archives of Singapore - Read here. Government files, private memoirs, historical maps and photographs, oral history interviews