Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Newspapers Databases 电子报章数据库
叻报 = Lat Pau (Aug 19 1887 to Mar 31 1932)
Lat Pau, the longest running Chinese daily during pre-War Singapore, was started by Mr See Ewe Lay in December 1881 and lasted 52 years before it finally ceased in March 1932. Lat Pau is an invaluable historical source for research into pre-war Singapore as well as Chinese overseas during that period. Unfortunately the earliest issues of the newspaper were lost and now the issues extant at the NUS Chinese Library cover only the period August 19 1887 to March 31 1932.
中兴日报 = Chong Shing Yit Pao (Aug 1907 - Feb 1910)
The Chong Shing Yit Pao was started on 20 August 1907 with the purpose of combating the Union Time -- the organ of the reformists in Singapore. It was one link in a lope chain of presses run by the revolutionaries in Singapore. During the period from 1907-1910, Chong Shing introduced the longest 'battle of the pen' with the Union Times.
星洲晨报 = Sun Poo (Aug 1909 - Nov 1910)
The Sun-Poo (Singapore Chinese Morning Post) was lauched in August 1909. This paper, founded by a few members of Tong Meng Hui (Singapore Branch), appeared in the morning while all the other Chinese papers came out in the afternoon. It ceased publication in 1910.
新国民日报 = Sin Kuo Min (1919-1933)
The Sin Kuo Min Press, later entitled Sin Kok Min Jit Pao, began publishing in Singapore on 1 October 1919. It was a continuation of the Kok Min Jit Pao, founded by the Kuomintang under the leadership of Sun Yat Sun and Chen Xin Zheng in 1914, which ceased publication on 6 August 1919. The publisher moved to Kuala Lumpur in 1941 and the paper ceased publication later in the same year.
This paper is one of the most influential official newspapers and journals published by the Kuomintang in cities where many Overseas Chinese were residing. It is an invaluable historical source for the study of modern Chinese revolution and Chinese Overseas during that period of time.
东南亚华人历史文献 = Historical Documents of Chinese in Southeast Asia
中国重要报纸全文数据库 China Core Newspapers Full-text Database (2000-)
人民日报. 国内版 = Renmin ribao = People's Daily (1946-Present)
《人民日报》是中国共产党中央委员的机关报，是中国发行量最大的综合性报纸 。它反映新中国成立后的各个历史时期的风貌，是了解中国共产党和中国政府的 方针、政策、以及中国当代经济、军事、社会、文化等各领域信息的一个重要窗口。
申报 Shenbao1872-1949 (Online)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information from approximately 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources, and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.
NewspaperSG - NLB
The Straits Times (1845-2009)
Trove - National Library of Australia
Similar to NewspaperSG, we can find Singapore and Malaysia news articles in the local Chinese newspapers published in Australia.
Old HK Newspapers 香港旧报纸 (Hong Kong Public Library Multimedia Information System 香港公共图书馆多媒体咨询系统)
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.
The collection provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers from the library, which are accessible through the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries. Collection includes:
香港工商日報 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 – 1984/11/30)*，
香港工商晚報 (Chinese) (1930/11/16 – 1984/11/29)*，
華僑日報 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 – 1991/12/31)*，
香港華字日報 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 – 1940/12/31)*，
香港華字晚報 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 – 1938/01/27)*，
大公報 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 –1991/12/31)*，
天光報 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 - 1940/11/30)*，
遐邇貫珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 – 1856/05)*，
循環日報 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 - 1886/01/30)*，
China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29)*，
Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 – 1941/09/30)*，
Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 – 1950/10/29)*，
Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 – 1951/03/30)* and
Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 – 1909/12/24)*
* some issues and pages may be omitted
新报周刊 = Sin Po weekly news
Monash University has digitized Sin Po weekly news (not the newspapers) from April 1923 to December 1941 (hard copy).
Sin Po was a Chinese-Malay (Peranakan) publication that was first published as a weekly newspaper by young Peranakan Chinese in Jakarta on 1 October 1910. Sin Po became a daily newspaper in 1912 to meet increasing demand and shortly became one of the largest Malay newspapers in the Dutch East Indies. The political objective of Sin Po was to promote Chinese nationalism and to take a strong stance against Dutch colonialism. Sin Po played a crucial role in the development of language and culture. It provided a space for writers to contribute their articles or stories, which exemplified the current debates of society at that time. Sin Po also contributed considerably to form what is today referred to as Bahasa Indonesia. Many Chinese (mostly Hokkien, a dialect in Chinese) words have become an integral part of the Indonesian language. Sin Po also includes advertisement typically on natural/alternative medicines, beverages, cosmetics, clothing, tobaccos, etc.
中西日报 Chung Sai Yat Po
Chung Sai Yat Po was published in San Francisco from Feb. 1900 to 1951. It has a long publishing history and almost all its issues survived. In a pilot study sponsored by the Librarians Association of the University of California (LAUC), five years worth of Chung Sai Yat Po (1900-1904) was digitized.
NUS Libraries have microform copies at: 中西日报 [microform] = Chung Sai Yat Po
晚清期刊全⽂数据库（1833-1911）Late Qing dynasty periodical full-text database, 1833-1911
民国时期期刊全⽂数据库（1911～1949） Chinese periodical full-text database, 1911-1949