Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Singapore 新加坡
ScholarBank@NUS is the institutional repository of National University of Singapore. This repository collects and preserves the scholarly output of NUS and makes it accessible worldwide. Also included in the search is the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) which includes Master’s (by Research) and Ph.D students deposited with the Registrar’s Office.
Map of Origins: Chinese Clans in Singapore 新加坡华人宗乡之情 [Migrating to new portal, work in progress]
Chinese Clan associations are important nodes in the network of relationships amongst Chinese communities in Singapore. Many Associations were formed to assist early Chinese immigrants since the early 19th century, playing significant roles in the nation’s development and the identities of the communities they serve. This project maps out the distribution of Chinese Clan Associations on a web Geographic Information Systems (GIS) platform. An interactive interface allows users to visualise geographic patterns of dialect clan associations, establishment of clan associations over time, membership sizes of clan associations as well as view indexes of clan associations sorted by kinship, locality, name (Hanyu Pinyin) or year established.
本网站提供关于新加坡华人会馆的信息，不仅包括地缘（乡亲）和血缘（宗亲）会馆的基本信息，如中英文名称、成立年代、会所地址、联络信息、会员人数等，也利用地理信息系统 (Geographic Information Systems， 简称 GIS），提供会馆在新加坡地图中的确实位置，并且有影像提供会馆位置及其周围环境的画面，让使用者能立体地了解会馆。
Singapore Places of Worship 新加坡多元宗教之美 [Migrating to new portal, work in progress]
This website presents a collection of mixed media artwork of places of worship by a local artist, Dr Ho Chee Lick. Plotted on an interactive map with 3D street view, the drawings illustrate Singapore’s multi-religious landscape. For each drawing, we list the names, address, year established, date of sketch as well as relevant literature and websites, if any. An index of drawings has also been compiled.
E-Resources provided by National Library Board (NLB) of Singapore to locate indexes, full-text ejournals, enewspapers, ebooks and emagazines.
For access to subscribed databases, a login is required. However, due to copyright/licensing restrictions, not all databases are available from home.
A digital archive of newspapers published in Singapore.
The index of Lianhe Zaobao 《联合早报》(1983-2008) is now available on NewspaperSG. Sin Chew Jit Poh《星洲日报》(1979-1983) and Nanyang Siang Pau《南洋商报》(1979-1983) are also available for browsing in the Preview section.
Multi-lingual user interfaces allow users to navigate the site in English, Chinese or Malay.
BookSG - National Library Board, Singapore
Contains digitized ebooks in Chinese, English, Malay and Tamil languages.
-The Youth Book Co.(青年书局) Collection
-The Chou Sing Chu (周星衢) Collection
-The Shanghai Book Co. (上海书局) Collection
Digital Repository - Nanyang Technological University (Open Access)
DR-NTU (Open Access) aims to capture, store and preserve the scholarly output [journal and conference articles] of Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and make it available to the global research community. The repository contains open access collections.
Archives Online by National Archives of Singapore
To allow users easy access to their archival holdings, Archives Online is designed to allow users to seamlessly search information across NAS' various independent databases and view selected photographs, maps and plans, listen to oral history interview samplers and watch snippets of audio-visual recordings, round the clock.
南洋大学历史参考资料目录 = Bibliography on the History of Nanyang University
The bibliography comprises records of publications and other information materials that are relevant to the history of Nanyang University. It currently has a total of 15,000 records.
王赓武图书馆早期课本特藏目录 Bibliography of Early Textbook Collection in Wang Gungwu Library
English version: https://blogs.ntu.edu.sg/earlytextbook/
早期华文报怎么读？How to Read Old Chinese Newspapers
Created by Carine Chan Sze Ching, Yale NUS College student. This page provides a list of interactive newspapers, complete with annotations, for users to explore. It provides useful tips for reading 1940s Chinese newspapers.
It is accessible on both the NUS network and on NUS VPN.
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Malaysia 马来西亚
马华文学电子图书馆 (Malaysian Chinese Literature Digital Library)
MyTO: Malaysian Theses Online
It lists the theses collection compiled from public academic universities and university colleges as well as private academic universities in Malaysia.
Malaysian Academic Library Union Catalog
This Discovery service is able to search Malaysian Academic Library Union Catalog and institutional repository from various information databases (OAI-PMH Service). Authentication required when users are trying to get full-text documents from third party services esp. commercial information databases.
Malaysia Academic Repository (MALRep)
The MALRep © is a union catalog of records representing open access digital resources that was built by harvesting from Malaysian Higher Education Provider (HEP) open access collections using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, MALRep includes more than 280k records representing digital resources from more than 25 contributors. The records of the open access digital resources available via MALRep lead to a wide range of materials and include: Journal articles, Newspapers, Manuscripts, Digital text, Photographic images (jpeg, tiff, gif) and Theses and research papers.
Malaysian Chinese Literature Database 马华文学论文索引资料库
From "Southern University College Digital Archive System 南方大学学院数位典藏系统" > Tick: Malaysian Chinese Literature Database 马华文学论文索引资料库
南方大学学院剪报资料库/ Southern University College Newspaper Clipping Database 南方沙龙资料库/ NanFangSalon Database 校园植物图鉴资料库/Campus Plant Database 马华文学论文索引资料库
From "Southern University College Digital Archive System 南方大学学院数位典藏系统" > Tick: 南方大学学院剪报资料库/ Southern University College Newspaper Clipping Database
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > China 中国
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Hong Kong 香港
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO)
This databaase is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education. The University of Hong Kong Libraries, with a rich collection of Hong Kong journals, developed this database with the objectives of facilitating efficient information retrieval and preserving archival materials. Issues included in this database vary from journal to journal with the earliest going back to 1872. Currently, more than 491,290 images from over 60 titles will be accessible on the database.
The HKU Scholars Hub 香港大学学术库
The HKU Scholars Hub is the institutional repository of The University of Hong Kong. As a key vehicle of HKU's Knowledge Exchange Initiative, the Hub strives to make HKU authors and their research very visible, with the goal of increasing all forms of collaboration.
走马楼三国吴简. 嘉禾吏民田家莂数据库 Zou Ma Lou San Guo Wu Jian, Jia He Li Min Tian Jia Bie Database
读者如欲检索嘉禾吏民田家莂 资料库，可于出土编号、地名、人名、年代编号或内容 项下输入有关字词，作全文检索。
中国现代文学研究网 Modern Chinese Literature Research Portal
香港非物质文化遗产资料库 Hong Kong Intangible Cultural Heritage Database - MMIS
Includes 480 inventory items for public access. Available in Chinese version only (with English abstracts for Ethnic Minorities Groups items).
Old HK Newspapers 香港旧报纸 (Hong Kong Public Library Multimedia Information System 香港公共图书馆多媒体咨询系统)
The Old Hong Kong Newspapers Collection is a selective collection of major old Hong Kong Newspapers published from early Hong Kong to nowadays, aiming at preserving historical news reporting of Hong Kong for reference and research.
The collection provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers from the library, which are accessible through the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries. Collection includes:
香港工商日報 (Chinese) (1926/04/01 – 1984/11/30)*，
香港工商晚報 (Chinese) (1930/11/16 – 1984/11/29)*，
華僑日報 (Chinese) (1947/05/01 – 1991/12/31)*，
香港華字日報 (Chinese) (1895/01/31 – 1940/12/31)*，
香港華字晚報 (Chinese) (1937/01/28 – 1938/01/27)*，
大公報 (Chinese) (1938/08/13 –1991/12/31)*，
天光報 (Chinese) (1933/02/07 - 1940/11/30)*，
遐邇貫珍 (Chinese) (1853/08 – 1856/05)*，
循環日報 (Chinese) (1874/05/16 - 1886/01/30)*，
China Mail (1866/01/04 – 1961/12/29)*，
Hong Kong Daily Press (1864/01/04 – 1941/09/30)*，
Hong Kong Sunday Herald (1929/01/06 – 1950/10/29)*，
Hong Kong Telegraph (1881/06/16 – 1951/03/30)* and
Hong Kong Weekly Press (1895/01/03 – 1909/12/24)*
* some issues and pages may be omitted
儿童乐园特藏 Children's Paradise Collection (Hong Kong Public Library Multimedia Information System 香港公共图书馆多媒体咨询系统)
The Children's Paradise, which had accompanied children across several generations, was a popular magazine for children in Hong Kong. It was the first full-colour children's magazine published in the territory. From the first issue in January 1953 until the last one in December 1994, a total of 1006 issues were published in over four decades. Readers may now recall the joy of reading the Children's Paradise through the above link.
国家图书馆善本特藏精选 - 多媒体资讯系统 Ancient Chinese Book Resources from the National Library of China
The National Library of China (NLC) houses an impressive array of collections, particularly the collection of ancient and rare Chinese books. The "Ancient Chinese Book Resources from the National Library of China" showcases part of the digitised ancient Chinese books collection in NLC, including "Epigraphic and Pictorial Rubbings", "New Year Pictures" and "Gazetteers", etc. Part of the resources have been uploaded onto the Multimedia Information System of the Hong Kong Public Libraries to enhance the public's understanding of ancient books and enable them to better appreciate the charm and richness of Chinese culture.
Free Online Databases 免费网络数据库 > United States 美国
中西日报 Chung Sai Yat Po
Chung Sai Yat Po was published in San Francisco from Feb. 1900 to 1951. It has a long publishing history and almost all its issues survived. In a pilot study sponsored by the Librarians Association of the University of California (LAUC), five years worth of Chung Sai Yat Po (1900-1904) was digitized.
NUS Libraries have microform copies at: 中西日报 [microform] = Chung Sai Yat Po
Harvard-Yenching Library Digital Collections
Various open access collections, including:
Bao Juan 寶卷
Chinese Maritime Collection 中國舊海關資料 (109 t., 278 v. from 1860-1949) (https://library.harvard.edu/collections/chinese-maritime-customs)
Chinese Old Local Gazetteers 中國舊方志
Chinese Rare Books- CURIOSity Digital Collection 中文善本特藏 (https://curiosity.lib.harvard.edu/chinese-rare-books?utm_source=library.harvard)
Chinese Republican Period Collection 民國時期文獻
Souvenir de Chine photos 中日战争照片集
Ming Qing Women's Writings 「明清妇女著作」数字档案与数据库 （https://digital.library.mcgill.ca/mingqing/chinese/index.php）
中国哲学书电子化计划 Chinese Text Project
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence.
世界数字图书馆（ WDL ）在互联网上以多语种形式免费提供源于世界各地各文化的重要原始材料。
Digital China | Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies 費正清中国研究中心
The Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies has been a source of world-leading research on China and East Asia for 60 years. Please see below for the Center’s current research, which spans eras, borders, and disciplines.
China Biographical Database Project (CBDB)
The China Biographical Database is a freely accessible relational database with biographical information about approximately 491,000 individuals as of May 2021, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries. With both online and offline versions, the data is meant to be useful for statistical, social network, and spatial analysis as well as serving as a kind of biographical reference. The image below shows the spatial distribution of a cross dynastic subset of 190,000 people in CBDB by basic affiliations (籍貫).
The long term goal of CBDB is systematically to include all significant biographical material from China’s historical record and to make the contents available free of charge, without restriction, for academic use. That data is regularly being enriched and new biographical entries are being created for Tang, Five Dynasties, Liao, Song, Jin, Yuan, Ming and Qing figures.
CBDB originates with the work of Robert M. Hartwell (1932–1996). Professor Hartwell bequeathed his estate, including the first version of this database, to the Harvard-Yenching Institute which ceded its ownership.
Elites, Networks, and Power in Modern Urban China
The ERC-funded ENEP-CHINA project proposes a step-change in the study of modern China reliant upon scalable data-rich history. It will deliver precise historical information at an unprecedented scale from heretofore untapped sources – as well as reshaping the analysis of existing sources – to create a new dimension in the study of the transformation of elites in modern China. It will deploy an array of cutting-edge digital methods— including data mining, sampling, and analysis within an integrated virtual research environment. To establish the validity of this approach, the project focuses on the three urban areas (Shanghai, Beijing/Tianjin, Canton/Hong Kong) that had the most profound impact on the course of modern Chinese history. The project will challenge the China-centered and group-based approach dominant in the historical literature of the past two decades. The project envisions elites in urban China as actors whose status, position, and practices were shaped by the power configurations that developed over time and whose actions through institutions and informal/formal networks in turn were a determining factor in redrawing social and political boundaries. The project will place the emphasis on the networks through which information, capital, and individuals circulated. It will investigate the transnationalization of elites as a process that overstepped the limits of institutions and nation states. The key issue that the project will address is breaking through existing limits of access to historical information that is embedded in complex sources and its transformation into refined, re-usable and sustainable data for contemporary and future study of modern China.
This project has received funding from the European Research Council (ERC) under the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement No 788476).
Here are some databasets available for download:
-Modern China Geospatial Database - Main Dataset
-Modern China Geospatial Database - PRC Dataset
-Modern China Geospatial Database - Republican China Dataset
-Index files of the Biographical Dictionary of Republican China
-Dates and Places of Birth and Death in the Biographical Dictionary of Republican China
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Taiwan 台湾
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Japan 日本
Free Online Resources 免费网络资源 > Vietnam 越南
文艺季刊 -- 胡志明市华文文学会编
「文艺季刊」为越南各少数民族委会属下华文文学会刊物，前身为「越华文学艺术」不定期，1997年创刊，编辑组西贡解放日报中文版副总编辑陆进义、西贡解 放日报中文版文艺版编辑敬业、余问耕，出版二十几期后因经费无着停刊。无稿费，赠送当期。「文艺季刊」2012年创刊，十六开本，连封面54页，审定陈团 林、顾问黄璇玑（学明、明田）、主编刘为安、副主编施汉威、李思达、执行编辑林小东、编委雪萍、蔡忠、绿茵、谭玉琼等。发稿费，赠送当期一册。内容分诗创 作、散文集、小小说、学生篇等辑，部分为大陆及各国中文作家作品。无评论。
Other Libraries' Free Online Resources 其他图书馆免费网络资源
Other Free Online Databases 其他免费网络数据库