LibGuides: Design & Engineering: Databases

About

Databases

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass provides access to standards developed by ASTM International.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to selected ISO & IEC standards adopted by UK as well as national standards and other standardisation documents developed by UK.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (EV) is the essential research database for engineering literature from journals, conferences proceedings, patents, e-books, and many more. Within a single interface, you could simultaneously search across four databases, namely Compendex, Inspec, NTIS and GeoBase. Compendex is the world's largest and comprehensive engineering database focusing primarily on applied engineering research while Inspec provides engineering research information mainly on physics, electrical engineering & electronics, computers & control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology & more. The thesauri on Engineering Village contains the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE databases. This enables consistent and precise search and retrieval.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.
IHS Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to standards related to electrical, electronic and related technologies which are developed by the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). First-time users are required to register for a free account in order to access the database subsequently.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily
Singapore Standards database (SS) This link opens in a new window
SS database provides access to technical standards developed or adopted by Singapore. Standards are in view-only mode, downloads are unavailable. Print copies are also available in Central Library. For instructions on retrieval, search “standards guide nus” in Google to view the Standards Subject Guide.
Singapore Statutes Online This link opens in a new window
This Singapore Government website provides free online access to Singapore’s legislation. It is maintained by the Attorney General Chambers (AGC). Current version of Acts are browsable by title or subject.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform and one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, open access material etc. can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science also offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, documenting the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database is an index of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographical descriptions. The indexes are on topics such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window
OnArchitecture is an online audiovisual service providing a synthetic, deep and detailed panorama of the world's main authors, works, experiences and problematics related to the field of architecture. OnArchitecture's collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material - documents and audiovisuals - about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online offers art resources, e.g. Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, with >200000 articles from ancient to contemporary art and architecture, and >19000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.

BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews (1985-) indexes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Items indexed are journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical database that retrieves literature related to drug events, drug efficacy studies, medical device and disease-related biomedical research information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.

Registration instruction for the first-time user of SciFinder-n
To access and use SciFinder-n, one time registration is needed for the first-time user. Only NUS email is acceptable for registration.

CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) This link opens in a new window
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) is a single source for searching and comparing the latest published scientific methods. It features step-by-step instructions that you can take right to the lab in areas like pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis. It is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry.
Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 120,000 Material Safety Data Sheets from 600 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Each sheet represents a chemical. It provides a detailed evaluations of health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on handling and storage, disposal procedures, accidental release, and first aid.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.

Registration Page for First-time Users of SciFinder-n, CAS Analytical Methods or Formulus
One time registration is needed for the first-time user before you are able to access SciFinder-n.
Only NUS email is acceptable for registration.

ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides full-text access to high-quality articles on all a wide range of civil engineering topics published by the American Society of Civil Engineers, an established and internationally renowned engineering society founded in 1852. Note: NUS libraries subscribes to ASCE journals only.
Construction InfoNet This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCA (Building and Construction Authority), Construction InfoNet contains up-to-date statistics, reports and quarterly reviews on various aspects of Singapore’s construction industry. The statistics include construction GDP and productivity, construction price update, materials price indices, tender price index, unit rates of various construction works and value of contracts awarded. There is also a construction project database which contains details of construction projects awarded since 2013. Please note: Registration is necessary for first time user.
ICE Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
The ICE Virtual Library hosts all the content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)
ICONDA This link opens in a new window
The International CONstruction DAtabase is the bibliographic database of the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (CIB). It contains citations to journal articles, books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports, theses and other non-conventional literature that are outside of public domain. The coverage dates back to 1976 when the database was first launched. The subject coverage includes building construction, civil and construction engineering, architecture and town planning. To check for availability of full-text in NUS Libraries’ collection, copy and paste the article title into FindMore.
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
Operated by The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) on behalf of its publishing partners, OnePetro provides access to over 180,000 items on information pertaining to the oil and gas exploration and production (E&P) industry. Some contributing partners include American Petroleum Institute (API), American Rock Mechanics Association (ARMA), American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE), National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL), Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), Society of Underwater Technology (SUT) and World Petroleum Council (WPC). Journals indexed include Corrosion, International Journal of Offshore and Polar Engineering, various SPE publications and many more. This database also offers full-text conference proceedings and articles from many impactful conferences held.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete, which is accessible via EBSCOHost, is a collection of publications in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning
Gale in context: Environmental studies This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Covers international geoscience literature - Earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. The content crosses subject, language and cultural boundaries, providing an intuitive research tool to users.
IWA Publishing Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books and research reports published by IWA Publishing, a leading supplier of water, wastewater and environmental publications and accessible via Water Intelligence Online
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.

Registration instruction for the first-time user of SciFinder-n
To access and use SciFinder-n, one time registration is needed for the first-time user. Only NUS email is acceptable for registration.

Academic OneFile | GALE This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from more than 8000 journals for academic research. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and the arts. Also contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text of The New York Times content to 1995.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, documenting the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online offers art resources, e.g. Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, with >200000 articles from ancient to contemporary art and architecture, and >19000 images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., arts, business, criminology, economics, education, gender studies, health, literature, management, music, political science, social sciences, sociology etc. as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individual databases from the list which includes ABI/INFORM (for business information); Dissertations & Theses Global; Ethnic NewsWatch, Performing Arts Periodicals, Social Science Premium Collection and major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, etc).

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily

Construction InfoNet This link opens in a new window
Produced by BCA (Building and Construction Authority), Construction InfoNet contains up-to-date statistics, reports and quarterly reviews on various aspects of Singapore’s construction industry. The statistics include construction GDP and productivity, construction price update, materials price indices, tender price index, unit rates of various construction works and value of contracts awarded. There is also a construction project database which contains details of construction projects awarded since 2013. Please note: Registration is necessary for first time user.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
ICONDA This link opens in a new window
The International CONstruction DAtabase is the bibliographic database of the International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction (CIB). It contains citations to journal articles, books, research reports, conference proceedings, business reports, theses and other non-conventional literature that are outside of public domain. The coverage dates back to 1976 when the database was first launched. The subject coverage includes building construction, civil and construction engineering, architecture and town planning. To check for availability of full-text in NUS Libraries’ collection, copy and paste the article title into FindMore.

ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database This link opens in a new window
The ASM Alloy Phase Diagram Database has an easy-to-use interface and contains about 40,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams, from over 9000 systems with associated crystal data, reaction data and allotropic transformations
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) This link opens in a new window
CAS Analytical Methods (formerly known as MethodsNow) is a single source for searching and comparing the latest published scientific methods. It features step-by-step instructions that you can take right to the lab in areas like pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis. It is a curated collection of methods covering emerging science in both analytical and synthetic chemistry.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Scifinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
SpringerMaterials is a comprehensive database for identifying materials properties and covers data from materials science, physics, physical and inorganic chemistry, engineering and other related fields. It is highly relevant to research in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Materials Science and areas such as Electrical Engineering.

Registration Page for First-time Users of SciFinder-n, CAS Analytical Methods or Formulus
One time registration is needed for the first-time user before you are able to access SciFinder-n.
Only NUS email is acceptable for registration.

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (EV) is the essential research database for engineering literature from journals, conferences proceedings, patents, e-books, and many more. Within a single interface, you could simultaneously search across four databases, namely Compendex, Inspec, NTIS and GeoBase. Compendex is the world's largest and comprehensive engineering database focusing primarily on applied engineering research while Inspec provides engineering research information mainly on physics, electrical engineering & electronics, computers & control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology & more. The thesauri on Engineering Village contains the controlled vocabulary used to index articles in the Compendex, Inspec and GEOBASE databases. This enables consistent and precise search and retrieval.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Including journals, eBooks, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily