Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for History resources
Need to ask some Frequently Asked Questions?
Welcome to the History guide!
This guide covers resources available mainly at NUS on History. It is a selective list of starting points for scholarly materials.
Click on the tabs (above) or the menu (on the left) to find more information.
You may also want to check out the NUS History Department's The History Centre which is a guide on how to write and research history at NUS.
Databases to try
If you are just starting out with your research and you are not sure how to proceed, try these databases first:
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies™ (BAS), the most comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, contains nearly 900,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Humanities Abstract (H.W. Wilson)
Humanities Abstracts™ provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
This database provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
Useful tips: access full text from anywhere with the proxy bookmarklet!
The proxy bookmarklet allows you to directly access full text of e-resources via the subscription of NUS. The video below shows how you can use Google Scholar to directly access full text.