LibGuides: Patents: Databases

NUS Libraries Subscribed Databases

Patsnap
Other NUS Subscribed Databases

NUS Libraries Subscribed Database : Patsnap

NUS staff and students can access to subscribed online resources. Please always access these databases via NUS Libraries Portal.

Access to Patsnap

The PatSnap database provides coverage of over 90 countries worldwide, offering full text data from organisations such as the European Patent Office (EPO), World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO), America, China, Germany, Japan. PatSnap covers over 160 million patents.

Registration Guide for 1st Time User
- A Patsnap account allows you to set up alerts and access other features. NUS staff and students to register using their NUSNET email account.
Registration for 1st Time User (see above guide for step by step instructions)
FAQs
- Patsnap Data Coverage
- Patsnap Help Center
  - Detailed information on features, functions, FAQs and video guides about Patsnap
Searching Patsnap
- General Help
  - Search Helper (Patsnap)
    - Information on searchable fields, search syntax, kind codes used in Patsnap, etc.
- Classifications
  - Expand Your Searching Using Patent Classification Codes (NUS Libraries)
  - Patent Classification Searching (Video - NUS Libraries)
    - This video is about 6 minutes. It gives an overview about patent classification, searching patent classifications in Patsnap and tips on searching patent classifications. Please login to watch the video (for NUS staff and students only)
  - What are the Different Classification Codes? (Patsnap)
- Expand Search
  - Quick Guide on How to Use the Expand Function (NUS Libraries)
  - What is Expand Search? (Patsnap)
- Keywords or Topic Search
  - A Short Guide for Topics Search (NUS Libraries)
  - What Is The Best Way To Search For A Specific Technology? (Patsnap)
    - Tips from Patsnap on how to begin your search to look for a specific technology
- Patent Landscape Analysis and Landscape Maps
  - Patent Landscape Analysis (VIdeo - NUS Libraries)
    - This video is about 5 minutes. It gives an overview on patent landscape analysis, types of patent landscape analysis and Patsnap landscape maps. Please login to watch video (for NUS staff and students only).
  - Help/FAQs on Landscaping (Patsnap)
  - How can Landscape be Used for Different Tasks? (Patsnap)
- Semantic Search
  - Using Semantic Search (NUS Libraries) : Quick Guide
  - You can also watch a video on how to search using Semantic Search function (NUS Libraries)
    - This video is about 5 minutes. Please login to watch video (for NUS staff and students only).
- Other Tips
  - Single Document
    - Finding other patents using a single patent document (Video - NUS Libraries)
      - This video is about 7 minutes. It is on how to search for other patents using a single patent document. Please login to watch video (for NUS staff and students only).
    - I Have a Patent of Interest, How Do I Go About Finding Similar Technologies? (Patsnap)
      - Tips from Patsnap on how to search for similar technologies if you have a patent on hand
  - Search Tips (NUS Libraries) : Quick Guide on Alerts, Save Query, Search History and Workspace
  - Workspace 101 (Patsnap)
Access to Patsnap Insights
- Provides business intelligence information on companies and industries
- After login to Patsnap Analytics, you can access Patsnap Insights via the Products icon (top right hand corner of page)
- Quick Guides
  - Help/FAQs on Patsnap Insights (Patsnap)
  - Patsnap Insights : Finding Company Information (NUS Libraries)
  - Patsnap Insights : Finding Technology Information (NUS Libraries)

These subscribed databases also have selected coverage on patents.

NUS staff and students can access to subscribed online resources. Please always access these databases via NUS Libraries Portal.

Nexis Uni (Previously: Lexis Nexis Academic)
- Popular database containing an extensive range of news, business and legal sources.
- This database also covers patents (for better search experience, go to Menu, select Patents (drop down option)
- FAQs/Help
  - Patent Publications on Nexis Uni
Reaxys provides search, analysis and synthesis chemical reaction tools that support and enhance chemists' workflow. It contains a repository of experimentally validated data obtained from the combined content of the three major databases: CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. Validated measured data provided include chemical reactions, chemical substances, measured substance property data and physical, biochemical, application data
Patent coverage in Reaxys
SciFinder-n provides an integrated information access to references, substances, reactions and suppliers in chemistry and related fields. It is embedded with PatentPak, Synthetic Methods and Retrosynthesis planning. PatentPak provides access to ~18 million searchable, full-text patents from 46 major patent offices across the globe
- Registration Page for 1st Time Users of SciFinder-N, CAS Analytical Methods and Formulus
  - Registration Page for First-time Users of SciFinder-n, CAS Analytical Methods or Formulus. Only NUS email is acceptable for registration
- Researcher Unbound : Accelerate Discovery of Patent Insights using CAS SciFinderⁿ (20 October 2023) (for NUS staff and students only)
- Chemscape Analysis
  - Information on Chemscape Analysis, a tool to visualize the similarity and patent landscape for a set of substance results
- Markush Search
  - Markush Search in SciFinderⁿ (CAS)
    - Video from CAS on how to retrieve Markush hits based on structure queries.
- PatentPak
  - What is PatentPak? (CAS)
  - Using PatentPak in SciFinderⁿ (CAS)
    - Video from CAS on how to view patent documents using PatentPak in SciFinder-n
- Other Tips
  - How green is this pasture? - assessing the IP landscape with SciFinderⁿ (CAS)
    - This is a half an hour webinar recording from CAS. You can learn how to search patents effectively using different techniques in SciFinder-n
  - Prior Art Analysis
    - Details on how to request for prior art search when a patent document is retrieved in Sci-Finder-n
Scopus
- An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. As of January 2020, it contains over 77 million records from 25,000 active journal titles and more than 44 million patent records from five patent offices (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), European Patent Office (EPO), US Patent Office (USPTO), Japanese Patent Office (JPO) and UK Intellectual Property Office (IPO.GOV.UK))
- FAQs/Help
  - Scopus : Quick Guide on Searching Patents (NUS Libraries)
    - This NUS Libraries guide gives details on how to display patent documents after a search is done. In addition, it shows you how to find patent documents that were found in references.
  - Scopus Tutorials (Elsevier)
Web of Science
- A significant multi-disciplinary index to scientific journals. It is unique for its citation index and related record search capability. It has links to full-text journals subscribed by NUS Libraries. From 1900 - present
- FAQs/Help
  - Web of Science Platform : Training Resources (Clarivate)
  - Web of Science : Cited Reference Search for Patents (Clarivate)