This page contains PowerPoint presentations from our library workshops, guides and other tips that may be helpful to you.
For information on case studies, business guides, technology or landscape reports, please go to the FAQs & Materials to Read tab.
Librarians at NUSL conduct workshops on various topics throughout the year, mostly under our flagship Researcher Unbound (RU) platform. Most workshops have PowerPoint presentations/videos which are archived (available to NUS staff and students only). Below are some IP & patent related workshops suitable for those working on innovation & entrepreneurship.
| Date | Workshop Title | Description |
| 24 Oct 2018 | The Importance of Intellectual Property to Your Research | This was a presentation by Mr Daniel Poh (Marks & Clerks) at a Researcher Unbound event. He gave an overview of different IP rights as well as some details on patent system. |
| 17 Oct 2023 | Intellectual Property (IP) Basics: What, Why and How? | Presentation by Mr Chia Mun Loong (Technology Transfer & Innovation). Jointly organized by NUS Libraries & Technology Transfer & Innovation, NUS Enterprise |
| 20 Oct 2023 | Accelerate Discovery of Patent Insights using CAS SciFinderⁿ | Presentation by Ms Pamela Oon (Chemical Abstracts Service, CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society) on searching and analyzing patents using the CAS SciFinderⁿ database |
| 23 Jan 2024 | Foundational Tools to Get You Started in Your Tech Innovation | This RU workshop covers searching in both business and patent resources. |
| 16 Sep 2024 | Enhancing Patent Search and Analysis Skills With PatSnap | This RU workshop aims to improve your skills in searching and analyzing patents using PatSnap database. |
| Innovation Intelligence Series | This series started in Sem 2 (AY2023/AY2024). Full list of workshops available at Innovation & Entrepreneurship Subject Guide. Go to Researcher Unbound platform to sign up workshops (for NUS staff and students only). | |
| 28 Aug 2024 | Unlocking Trends, Technologies & Opportunities for Your Research | The RU workshop gives an overview of the Innovation Intelligence series. |
| 5 Mar 2024 | Intellectual Property & Patents | This RU workshop gives an overview on intellectual property and identify details on a patent document. |
| 14 Mar 2024 | Identifying Research Gaps & Trends Using Lens.org | This RU workshop covers the use of Lens.Org to search and analyze patents. |
| 21 Mar 2024 | Identifying Research Gaps & Trends Using Patsnap | This RU workshop covers Patsnap database to search and analyze patents and how to manage patent records using workspace. |