Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Innovation & Enterprise: Home

This guide covers recommended resources available at the NUS Libraries on all matters pertaining to enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation and start-ups.

Work in Progress

This guide is still a work in progress. Please bear with us as we finalise the content. 

How to Use This Guide

NUS staff and students may access subscribed resources listed via the NUS Libraries Portal page. Please observe appropriate use of library e-resources.

NUS Alumni may access selected library resources listed. See the Alumni Access page for more information. Please observe appropriate use of library e-resources.

Public users may access internet and useful resources listed. Use the tabs above to start exploring.

Re-Using this Guide?

Unless otherwise stated, the contents in this guide Innovation & Entrepreneurship © by National University of Singapore Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0 . Attribute and link back to this LibGuide if you are going to re-use the content.

Disclaimer

All information provided in this guide is on an “as is” basis and you agree that you shall use these information entirely at your own risk. This guide may also contain URLs/links that would redirect you to an external site. NUS Libraries does not, in any way, endorse any third party products/processes/services or the accuracy/accessibility of these external sites and their contents therein.

You may wish to apply the CRAAP test when evaluating the information as not all sites are authoritative or appropriate for your research. 

Overview

This guide covers resources available at the NUS Libraries on Innovation & Enterprise (I & E) matters. This is not a comprehensive subject guide, but rather a selective list of resources that are most useful for locating information in all matters pertaining to enterprise, entrepreneurship, innovation, start-ups etc.

The resources are grouped according to the 3 lenses of design thinking - Technology, Business and People (see below).

Resources on I&E in general are also listed below.

Who should look at this guide:

  • Start-ups
  • Entrepreneurs
  • Intrapreneurs
  • Consultants

What is Design Thinking?

Design Thinking is an approach to creative problem solving; a human-centered path to innovation, which look at 3 lenses:

  • Feasibility is about Technology, the possibilities of technology
  • Viability is about Business, the requirements for business success
  • Desirability is about People, integrate the needs of people

[Tim Brown, CEO, IDEO]


Design Thinking is an idea, a strategy, a method and a way of seeing the world. This human-centered design approach enables problem-solving through creativity, thus transforming the way companies develop products, services, processes, and strategies. At the intersection of Technology, Business and People, lies Innovation.

Selected Resources on Innovation and Enterprise

Databases

Recommended databases on this topic are listed below. To find more databases, see NUS Libraries Subject Guides or use the search box in Databases page on the NUS Libraries Portal.


Books & E-books

Selected books are listed below. For more books and e-books, use the search box in NUS Libraries Portal or search by subject in our library catalogue (LINC), e.g. Entrepreneurship or New Business Enterprises.

Statistics & Datasets

  • Data.gov
    • Access to U.S. Government open data
  • Google Public Data Explorer
    • Access to large, public-interest datasets for analysis, visualization, etc.
  • Our World In Data
    • Aims to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems”
  • UNdata
    •  Statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies containing over 60 million data points covering a wide range of statistical themes
  • World Bank DataBank
    • DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics.

For more resources, see the following guides/resources:

These resources may be useful or help you understand better on this topic.

Other Subject Guides


Websites

  • Action Community for Entrepreneurship (ACE)
    • A key voice and trade association (with over 1,300 startups as members) representing the interests of startups in Singapore
  • Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM)
    • A consortium that collects data, provides research and news on entrepreneurship from around the world
  • NUSIndustry Liaison Office (ILO) | NUS Enterprise
    • ILO is the translation and commercialization arm and NUS Enterprise is the entrepreneurial arm of the National University of Singapore
  • Open Innovation Network
    • Set up by Enterprise Singapore and the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA) to provide a single gateway to the open innovation ecosystem in Singapore
  • SGInnovate
    • Focus on helping entrepreneurial scientists build Deep Tech startups

  • SME Centres
    • Provides business and productivity advisory services for SMEs in Singapore
  • StartUp SG Network
    • Provides listing of all the tech startup ecosystem players in Singapore, including startups, incubators, accelerators, and investors and more!

Blogs, News, etc.