LibGuides: Innovation &amp; Entrepreneurship: Healthcare & Biomedical

Overview

As the healthcare industry grows and evolves, breakthroughs in medical innovations and new technologies are essential in bringing new or enhanced options to the table so that the industry can remain nimble. To be competent in tackling new challenges and tasks, individuals and enterprises involved in this industry will need to acquire expertise in finding and assessing diverse information from a variety of sources.

Healthcare & Biomedical

Databases

Recommended databases on this topic are listed below:

Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical database that retrieves literature related to drug events, drug efficacy studies, medical device and disease-related biomedical research information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 34 million citations of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, newspaper articles, legal cases, clinical trial and others. Its citations and abstracts also include topics in biomedicine and health, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences and bioengineering. The results display might include links to related resources and/or to full-text content from PubMed Central and other publishers. Staff and students are encouraged to access via NUS Libraries portal for seamless access to full articles subscribed by the Libraries.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, engineering, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities fields. Scopus contains millions of peer-reviewed journals, selected articles from trade journals, book chapters, edited volumes, reference works, conference papers and patents. It is also an excellent database for cited reference searching. Its contents are updated daily
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature Experiments is a comprehensive database of over 70,000 protocols and methods. These protocols cover various biology fields such as antibodies, molecular techniques, microscopy techniques, cell and tissue culture techniques and spectroscopy techniques.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support practice and/or care. You can also search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform and one of the largest multidisciplinary index covering literature from sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, open access material etc. can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science also offers the option to find the Hot and Highly Cited papers, the most impactful papers within a subject field.

To find more databases, see NUS Libraries Subject Guides or use the search box in Databases page on the NUS Libraries Portal.

Standards

Refer to this page: https://libguides.nus.edu.sg/entrepreneurship/standards

Books & E-Books

Selected books are listed below:

The Business of healthcare innovation by Lawton Robert Burns (Editor)
ISBN: 9781108785549
Publication Date: 2020
Biodesign : the process of innovating medical technologies by Paul G. Yock; Stefanos Zenios; Joshua Makower; Todd J. Brinton; Uday N. Kumar; F. T. Jay Watkins; Lyn Denend; Thomas M. Krummel; Christine Q. Kurihara
Call Number: R856 Bid 2015
ISBN: 9781107087354
Publication Date: 2015
Digital health entrepreneurship by Sharon Wulfovich, Arlen Meyers (Editors)
ISBN: 9783030127190
Publication Date: 2020
Novel innovation design for the future of health : entrepreneurial concepts for patient empowerment and health democratization by Michael Friebe (Editor)
ISBN: 9783031081910
Publication Date: 2022
Promoting access to medical technologies and innovation by World Health Organization (WHO); World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO); World Trade Organization WTO
Call Number: R855.3 Pro 2020
ISBN: 9789287049964
Publication Date: 2020

For more books and e-books, use the search box in NUS Libraries Portal or search by subject in our library catalogue (LINC), e.g. Entrepreneurship or New Business Enterprises.

Other resources to look for innovation and entrepreneurship are listed below:

Blogs, News, etc.

Consultancy Firms - Health Related
Digital Health
Medgadget

Data, Databases, etc.

FDA's Recognised Consensus Standards
- Search for voluntary consensus standards recognised by US Food and Drug Administration which manufacturers of medical devices can declare conformity to
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
- The GHO data repository is World Health Organization's gateway to health-related statistics
Infosearch for health products and services (Singapore)
- Health Science Authority (HSA) online databases to search health products and services, including medical devices, etc.
National Registry of Diseases Office (NRDO)
- Data on selected major diseases and health conditions in Singapore
Singapore Health Statistics (Department of Statistics)
- Statistics on health and on the healthcare sector compiled by the Ministry of Health, Singapore
TRIP
- This free version provides quick and easy access to high-quality research evidence for the purpose of supporting practice and/or care. NUS staff and students can access to TRIP Pro which is subscribed by NUS Libraries.

Standards

Refer to this page: https://libguides.nus.edu.sg/entrepreneurship/standards

Websites

Asia Pacific Medical Technology Association (APACMed)
- A trade association representing manufacturers and suppliers of medical equipment, devices and in-vitro diagnostics, industry associations and other key stakeholders associated with the medical technology industry in Asia Pacific
Advanced Medical Technology Association (United States)
- A trade association for companies producing medical devices, diagnostic products and digital health technologies
Health Science Authority (HSA) | Regulatory overview of medical devices
- HSA regulates health products and medical devices to meet standards of safety, quality and efficacy in Singapore
Singapore BioDesign
- a National-level talent development platform and global affiliate of the renowned Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign
United States Food & Drug Administration (FDA) : Medical Devices
- Include information on medical device safety, regulatory information, etc.

These resources may be useful or help you understand better on this topic:

Articles, Reports & Publications

Academic Entrepreneurship for Medical and Health Scientists
- A free Open Education Resource consisting of over 50 chapters covering Academia, People, Ideation, IP/Reg, and Finance
Medicine & Health Sciences Commons^™
- Part of Digital Commons Network which provides free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide

Subject Guides

Engineering & Computer Science (NUS Libraries)
Medicine, Dentistry & Nursing (NUS Libraries)
Science (NUS Libraries)