LibGuides: Innovation &amp; Entrepreneurship: Country, Company & Industry Information

Overview

To gain knowledge of the business environment. country and industry level information is essential. Company information is important to identifying and understanding potential partners or competitors.

Country Reports

Subscribed Resources
Internet Sources

Recommended databases for this topic are listed below:

EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Contains country reports covering political, social and industrial areas,and highlights of latest news.
CEIC Data This link opens in a new window
Country-level statistics covering economics, demographics, industry and finance.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Country and market research reports are available.

Other resources on this topic are listed below:

Asian Development Bank Publications & Data
Data.gov.sg
"data.gov.sg is the first-stop portal to search and access publicly-available data published by the Singapore Government. Launched in June 2011, data.gov.sg brings together over 5000 datasets from 50 government ministries and agencies."
Data.gov.uk
UK Government DataSets
Data Portal
Open Data hub of the European Union
EuroStats
The statistical office of the European Union, contains a lot of free data.
National Bureau of Statistics of China
OECD Economic Surveys
Periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.
UK Data Archive
UNdata
Produced by the United Nations Statistical Office, it provides access to hundreds of statistical series for all countries and areas of the world. Data coverage: balance of payments, financial statistics, income, consumption and wealth, and national accounts.
Whole Earth Web Archive (WEWA)
Collates online data on the world's smallest 50 countries, such as Timor-Leste, Brunei and Papua New Guinea.
The World Factbook
Published by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), covers general information on 266 world entities, including demographics, economy, politics and basic industry information.

Industry Information

Recommended databases for this topic are listed below:

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business database offers nearly 3,000 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This business research database features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines (Accounting, Finance, Economics, Marketing, Management, Management information systems, Operations management). In addition, it includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
BMI This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as FitchConnect, BMI covers over 22 industries and categories including pharmacueticals, infrastructure, energy and banking. The database contains reports, briefings, SWOT analyses, forecasting and risk analyses Note: First time users are required to register and wait up to 24 hours for access.
Frost & Sullivan Online This link opens in a new window
Frost & Sullivan is a commercial full-text database covering research and analyze new emerging technologies and markets opportunities for corporate growth by integrating technology research, market research, economic research, corporate best practices, training, customer research, competitive intelligence, and corporate strategy. Though the Asian markets are not well covered, but it is still a good resource to get market information on emerging technologies from global view and industry leaders.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Gartner provides technology-related insights on virtually all areas of IT. Their reports give you a comprehensive view of established and emerging markets so you can understand today’s landscape and what it is likely to be in the future. Their research methodologies include Magic Quadrant, Hype Cycle, IT Market Clock, Market Guide, Market Share, and Market Forecast.
First time users must register to give Gartner permission to collect your name and NUS email whenever you login to Gartner in the future. After registering, it will take up to 24 hours for Gartner to update their whitelist. Subsequently using the same link should let you login to the database. Should you encounter any issues with accessing Gartner after registering, please email us for assistance at suyian@nus.edu.sg.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Market research for Fast Moving Consumer Goods (FMCGs) and some consumer services, including lifestyle reports, business intelligence, demographic and consumer analyses, and statistics on sales, brand and company shares of FMCGs.

The "Big Four" auditing and accounting companies provide reports and insights on various industries, based on their experience in assessing and auditing companies globally.

Other useful internet sources for company information are below.

Open Corporates
An open database for company information
OCCRP ID
A database by the Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project, court records, land and company registries from 181 countries.

These resources may be useful or help you understand better on this topic:

Websites

Innovation & Entrepreneurship: Country, Company & Industry Information

Overview

Country Reports

Company Information

Industry Information