LibGuides: Innovation &amp; Entrepreneurship: Politics

Overview

Understanding the politics of a country helps with business planning, such as knowing if there are any trade restrictions or agreements with other countries, and whether there are any government policies in favour of or detrimental to your industry.

Politics

Databases

Recommended databases on this topic are listed below:

EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
The Economist Intelligence Unit (The EIU) is the research and analysis division of The Economist Group, the sister company to The Economist newspaper. EIU.com provides country reports, profile and forecasts for selected Asian countries.
Investment Arbitration Reporter This link opens in a new window
IA Reporter is a news & analysis service tracking international arbitrations between foreign investors and sovereign governments. It helps a broad range of readers such as lawyers, academics and government officials to stay abreast of the latest legal developments and policy trends in investment treaty arbitration
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers political science and international relations, including comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, with full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles and political news.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Content types include journal articles book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Books & E-Books

Selected books are listed below:

The Political Economy of Digital Ecosystems by Meelis Kitsing
ISBN: 9781003129264
Publication Date: 2021
Political Entrepreneurship: How to Build Successful Centrist Political Start-ups by Josef Lentsch
ISBN: 9783030028619
Publication Date: 2019

For more books and e-books, use the search box in NUS Libraries Portal or search in our library catalogue (LINC).

Other resources on this topic are listed below:

Pew Research Center | Politics & Policy
Free-to-read research articles conducted by Pew Research Center
UNDP Global Centre for Technology, Innovation and Sustainable Development (GC-TISD)
Hub for knowledge and policy focusing on the themes of technology, innovation, and partnerships for sustainable development. This is joint initiative between the Government of Singapore and United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
World Factbook
Basic information on 266 "world entities", covering government, people, military and other factors. Compiled by the US Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI)
The World Bank Data Catalog contains several datasets and policy studies on global politics, including the WGI, which covers aspects of politics such as corruption, rule of law and regulatory effectiveness.

These resources may be useful or help you understand better on this topic:

Other NUS Libraries Subject Guides