Biological and Life Sciences: Career Resources

With the insights and practice the candidates need to be the most successful interviewee, this book shows readers how to present yourself as the best candidate, with plenty of tips and advice from the experts to tell you what they want to see and what impresses them the most.

This guide offers you a new and more effective way to handle the tough new interviews so that you will emphasize the knowledge, skills, and abilities that you have and that employers demand.

This practical guide is packed with targeted guidance on navigating each aspect of the interview process, from planning for an interview to creating a strong first impression, so that students can approach interviews with confidence. It shows students how to identify their skills and how best to communicate these to employers through hands-on activities which encourage students to practise crafting answers to common questions and create strategies for dealing with difficult ones. It also features a chapter dedicated to telephone, video and Skype interviews, complete with sample questions and preparation checklists. Insights from recruiters and real-life experiences of other candidates demonstrate the dos and don'ts at different stages of the process.

The author arms candidates with responses to even the toughest interview questions. Covering entry-level to executive positions and encompassing all industries, readers learn power phrases to: Clearly communicate the reasons why they would be a perfect fit; Make a great impression at the crucial opening and close; Score high on the likability factor; Give follow-up emails real impact; Negotiate a strong job offer.

Readers will find advice on every aspect of interviewing, from getting prepared to answer tough questions to negotiating a better salary offer. Topics covered include overcoming fear of interviews, asking the right questions, tailoring your qualifications for specific positions, interviewing across cultures, and much more. It also includes ten ways to win rave reviews and ten interview challenges to master.

Suitable for those who are pursuing their dream job, starting their own business or simply wanting to meet new people, this book helps to raise the readers’ profile in all aspects of life by containing tips and techniques from the successful networkers.

If you feel anxious about networking, this book shares practical steps to help you feel empowered. It focuses on being inclusive, providing examples of how to approach and engage people who are different from you. Recognized networking expert and speaker Robbie Samuels shares these and many other tips and strategies to help you level-up your networking prowess. Whether your goal is to get the most from participation in conferences or elevate your ability to network authentically, you will walk away with techniques enabling you to be more strategic, more effective, and more inclusive.

In this book, the author politely examines and then smashes the "dusty old rules" of standard networking advice. She shows how the very traits that ordinarily make people networking-averse can be harnessed to forge an approach that is just as effective as more traditional approaches, and can be applied to all other situations besides the formal networking events.

Based on leading Internet strategies, the book details the steps to get hired: developing a professional, Web-savvy profile, leveraging the power of websites, sending the right signals through social networking sites, tapping into the hidden job market, and more.

Unveiling eight indispensable competencies for the new Network-Oriented Workforce, this book provides practical advice for building better, more productive business relationships. Readers will discover how to: commit to a positive, proactive networking mindset; align networking activities with individual and organizational objectives; leverage their contacts by organizing them into strategic groups; earn trust--a prerequisite for collaboration; boost their social acumen and increase their likeability; master conversational skills and deepen interactions; employ storytelling to make communications memorable; use networking to deliver value to the company.

This book takes you through the essential rules and high impact strategies to ensure your cover letter makes you stand out from the crowd. It takes a detailed look at the fifteen most common cover letter mistakes to ensure you do not make the errors that the competition will be, and covers every situation from email and fax to speculative letters, career-development letters and advert-response letters.

Based on interviews with recruiters and HR managers and an analysis of CVs, the book is structured as a series of FAQs and contains a sample template. Topics include: how recruiters and HR people analyse a CV, the difference between a CV and a resume, how to present your personal details, how to write an Executive Summary, how to highlight your skills and language, how to get and write references, and more.

This guide provides: action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience; words, phrases and vague claims to avoid; advice for handling requests for salary requirements; sample resumes, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references; tips for acing the interview.

Written by an expert career advisor, this book shows job seekers how to summarize and advertise their skills effectively for resume presentation. The author enlightens her readers with a 12-step process for producing that perfect resume adaptable to all formats needed for a job search. She also offers detailed advice on creating an attention-catching cover letter.

The book contains a practical, easy-to-follow approach to writing killer resumes. Readers will learn to write a resume that stands out in a resume database, passes the recruiters' six-second scan test, and resonates with savvy hiring managers.

This book provides the list of verbs that allows readers to craft outstanding resumes and cover letters, as well as draw attention to your best achievements and accomplishments.

In a series of powerful rules, the author explores how to increase your adaptability to create winning positions. Fascinating real-world examples from business, government, the military and sport bring the rules of adaptability to life - from the world’s most innovative corporations to street-level creativity emerging from the slums. This is a powerful, practical and inspirational guide to success in uncertain times.

Drawing from the powerful lessons of emotional awareness and relationship dynamics, the book promotes a sophisticated yet simple method for developing superior partnerships guaranteed to create quality results on a consistent basis. It includes eight steps to fostering optimum communication and two tests you can take that will help you pinpoint your own level of connectability.

This book teaches scientists and engineers leadership skills and problem solving to facilitate management of team members, faculty, and staff, introducing readers to open-ended problems focused on interactions between technical and nontechnical colleagues, bosses, and subordinates. It does this through mini case studies that illustrate scenarios where simple, clear, or exact solutions are not evident. By offering examples of dilemmas in technical leadership along with selected analyses of possible ways to address or consider such issues, aspiring or current leaders are made aware of the types of problems they may encounter.

Divided into three sections, Part I of this book draws on the key personal skills that are essential to working with people. This includes time and stress management, being creative and building resilience. Part II begins by looking at the diversity of the people we interact with and then equips readers with core communication skills. It also addresses complex tasks, such as managing conflict appropriately and successful interviewing. Part III outlines the skills of intervention. From developing anti-discriminatory practice to decision making and reflective practice, it focuses on problem-solving skills in the workplace. Each chapter includes practice focus boxes that help connect theory with real-life practice and exercises that stimulate and challenge the reader.

With its emphasis on three pillars for professional success: life planning, workplace skills and career planning, this book prepares students for their first professional job, providing career planning tools, expected behaviours and soft skills essential for career success. Ample exercises help students apply concepts for transitioning from the classroom to a work environment. Students will also develop practical human relations skills with a primary emphasis on soft skills and expected workplace behaviours, and are provided with career planning tools that focus on job search strategies, resume package development and interview techniques.

Drawing on advanced research that studied problem-solving techniques in all areas of modern industry, this book presents a comprehensive, systematic problem-solving framework. Through hands-on techniques and exercises drawing on realistic examples, you will learn how to approach an ill-defined problem, identify the real problem, generate and implement the best solution, evaluate what you've learned, and build on that knowledge. It also includes examples (based on recent, real-world events and topics) that illustrate the various problem-solving techniques as well as an introduction to structured critical reasoning.

Written by a critical thinking trainer and coach, the book presents a pragmatic set of tools to apply critical thinking techniques. Filled with real world examples that demonstrate how the tools work in action, in addition to dozens of practice exercises applicable across industries and functions, the book provides clear, actionable steps toward improving your critical thinking skills.

In this book, the author’s research is combined with that of leading scientists to explain why we are so uneasy in new situations and how we can learn to become more confident and successful newcomers. With practice, anyone can get better at being new. This original book opens your eyes to the necessary skills and teaches you how to: Overcome fears; Make great first impression; Talk to strangers with ease; Get up to speed quickly; Connect with people wherever you go. Blending stories and insights with simple techniques and exercises, this one-of-a-kind guide will get you out of your comfort zone and trying new things in no time.