Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biomeasurement: a Student's Guide to Biological Statistics
With an emphasis on why statistical techniques are essential tools for bioscientists, the book removes the stigma attached to statistics by giving students the confidence to use and further explore the key techniques for themselves. It starts by placing the role of data analysis in the context of wider scientific method, and introduces the student to the key terms and concepts which are common to all statistical tools. It then guides the student through descriptive and inferential statistics, explaining how and why each type of technique is used, and what each can tell us in order to better understand our data. It goes on to present the key statistical tests, walking the student step-wise through the use of each, with carefully integrated examples, and plentiful opportunities for hands-on practice. It then closes with an overview of choosing the right test to suit your data, and tools for presenting data and their statistical analyses.
Biomedical Research: an Insider's Guide
Divided into five sections, the first focuses on decision points regarding whether to enter research and if so what type: basic, clinical, or translational. The second focuses on the practicalities of pursuing medical research, including institutional review boards and animal care committees as well as general suggestions about idea generation and collaboration. The third covers a core aspect of research: writing--detailing the evolution of both grants and papers. The fourth addresses a range of issues, including conferencing to patents. The final section deals with broader life issues from job choices to being a mentor.
Practical Skills in Biology
This book explains the laboratory and field skills that you will draw on time and again for the practical aspects of your studies, and also gives you a solid grounding in those wider transferable skills which are increasingly necessary to achieve a higher level of academic success.
Research in Medical and Biological Sciences
Suitable for aspiring as well as practicing professionals in the medical and biological sciences, this publication discusses a broad range of topics that are common yet not traditionally considered part of formal curricula, including philosophy of science, ethics, statistics, and grant applications.
Research Methods for the Biosciences
This guide demystifies the process of research to equip every biosciences student with the skills they need to get the most out of their investigations. It leads them through all the factors that, together, enable effective research. These include planning your experiment; data collection, analysis, interpretation, and reporting; and legal, ethical, and health and safety considerations.The book brings together the knowledge and skills required of every good researcher as a coherent whole, making it the essential resource for any biosciences student.
Responsible Conduct of Research
Take a close look at the responsible conduct of research as this book covers topics such as data management, intellectual property, social responsibility and misconduct in social sciences, climate-change research, authorship, and peer review. It also includes new information on research involving human subjects or "vulnerable" biological subjects, as well as genetic research. All chapters contain recent case studies and legal examples of various subjects.
Statistical and Data Handling Skills in Biology
The features are rich: decision charts that will help you to select the right statistical test and gain confidence in answering your research questions, explanations with step-by-step details of how to carry out a wide range of statistical analyses, real-world examples and self-assessment problems at the end of each chapter. Also included in this book is a chapter on how to write about and present statistics in papers, theses and reports.
Scientific Writing and Communication: Papers, Proposals, and Presentations
This unique "all-in-one" handbook begins with a discussion of the basic principles of scientific writing style and composition and then applies these principles to writing research papers, review articles, grant proposals, research statements, and resumes, as well as to preparing academic presentations and posters.
Short Guide to Writing about Biology
This writing guide teaches students to think as biologists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. It teaches students how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating useful sources, interpreting the results of statistical tests, maintaining effective laboratory and field notebooks, writing effective research proposals and poster presentations, writing effective applications, and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology
Providing practical advice to students on how to write for biology, this book shows how to write for a particular audience, self evaluate drafts, and paraphrase for improved comprehension.
Study and Communication Skills for the Biosciences
With examples that demonstrate the relevance of topics covered to bioscience degree programmes, the book will assist you with the transition from school to university, with your studies at university, and with your progression to employment after leaving university. It provides advice on honing those skills most sought after by prospective employers and applying these skills after your degree is completed; it discusses how to make contacts and gain experience, and how to sell yourself to potential employers in an increasingly competitive job market.
Successful Scientific Writing: a Step-by-step Guide for the Biological and Medical Sciences
The authors provide detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. The book includes detailed information relevant to today's digital world, covering all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts.
Writing in the Biological Sciences: a Comprehensive Resource for Scientific Communication
This book provides students with the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. It introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines of professional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences
Contents include: Introduction: how and why biologists write: an introduction to biological literature -- Locating and using biological literature -- Handling data and using statistics -- Using tables and figures -- Writing lab reports and research papers -- Writing a review paper -- Documenting the paper -- Drafting and revising -- Preparing the final draft -- Using writing to prepare for examinations -- Other forms of biological writing
Cite right : a Quick Guide to Citation Styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More
In this popular overview of all major systems of citation, Lipson first explains why it is so important to use citations -- and to present them accurately -- in research writing. He then outlines the main citation styles students and researchers are likely to encounter in their academic work. Each style is presented with examples drawn from a wide range of source types crossing all disciplines. It also includes a discussion of the merits and pitfalls of citation software, as well as new examples showing proper citation style for video blogs, instant messages, social networking sites, and other forms of digital media.
Cite Them Right: the Essential Referencing Guide
This is the guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone.
Referencing and Understanding Plagiarism
This guide explains why referencing is an essential part of good writing and shows students how to reference correctly. It also develops students' understanding of what plagiarism is and how they can avoid it in their work. Featuring clear explanations and examples throughout, this book will help students to draw on the work of others in their field in a responsible and ethical way.
Citation Styles Subject Guide
This subject guide provides an overview of the major citation styles, as well as links to guides that introduce the various reference management software.
Elsevier's Researcher Academy
An online platform that offers e-learning modules and resources for early researchers to introduce the different stages of research cycle, from research preparation, through the publishing process, to demonstrating research impact.
Researcher Unbound is a series of library workshops that aims to help researchers discover and grasp essential skills such as literature searching, referencing, publishing and measuring research impact. This website lists the schedule of upcoming workshops.
This one-stop website offers information on digital scholarship, scholarly publishing, research impact as well as Scholarbank@NUS, NUS' institutional repository.